We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Panwa Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Panwa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early & save more
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise found!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We didn't have any great expectations of the Cape Panwa Hotel as we have purchased the stay through Scoopon. Having never purchased a Scoopon before we expected that we wouldn't get the same level of service as full fee paying customers. We couldn't have been more wrong. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by the wonderful staff shown to our amazing Cape Suite which had an incredible view and were looked after very well for our 7 night stay. This is an incredible value for money resort with a wide variety of activities and restaurants. From the amazing Bloody Mary's around the pool, always delivered with a smile, to the happy hour in the elegant Otters Bar and unbelievable dinner and service in the Top of the Reef restaurant we couldn't fault this place it was amazing and we will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to have your positive endorsement after 7 nights with us and is happy to have exceeded your expectations in providing an enjoyable and pleasant stay. We most certainly look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    431
    158
    59
    31
See reviews for
315
944
38
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit to Cape Panwa and sadly it will be my last.
I can not agree more with previous reviews that guests at this hotel are getting a raw deal with having to share the hotel with the Kantary Guests. No more apparent of this is the beach, they come by the bus load in the morning and leave like locusts before night fall. It is very hard to find a sun lounger in the morning because of his influx of extra guests.
They even have beach bags provided by the hotel to make their day more enjoyable!
My third visit and I was given "Silver status" The fun of eating a free meal at Uncle Nan's Italian was enough to stop me ever going back again, the service was a joke and the room was decorated by someone who had clearly never been to Italy, only a fish and chip shop in Skegness.
Tim in guest relations is still a asset to this hotel but I feel he is fighting a losing battle with upper management.
On a plus side the junior suites are fine and the area is still relaxed even with all the new hotels that have been built around the cape.

Cape Panwa you have given us many happy memories but you need to remember to look after your own guests first!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
As an earnest regular at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, we appreciate the concerns you have brought to our attention. These concerns have been noted and shared with our team and have been forwarded for a policy review. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations and hope to welcome you back. Thank you for your review and support and please contact me directly at gm@capepanwa.com if you would like to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First time to Phuket. Stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel via an online deal acquired many months earlier. The deal, accommodation only, included 7 nights in a Cape Suite, breakfasts, a day trip to Coral Island, and a couple of discount vouchers.
CPH is a good 50 mins from Phuket airport, and about 40 mins from Patong area. Shuttle transfers can be arranged through the hotel. They also do shuttles to Central Festival (multi storey shopping mall) and Phuket Town.
The hotel is relatively isolated, along with a couple of other large international resorts, at the south eastern tip of the island. There are not a lot of places to walk to, or around, in the area. You can get around using the shuttle service, or local taxi, or if you are really adventurous, a scooter. Traffic in the local area is ok, but when you get near the main areas of Phuket Town or Patong, it is quite chaotic. You would need to be quite confident on 2 wheels.
A free shuttle runs between CPH and it's 'sister' hotel of Kantary Bay every 20 mins. There are a few more things to see along the main road leading into the Phuket Aquarium, and from late afternoon, scooter stalls start to set up, selling clothing and local foods.
My favourite local place, and where I'm writing this from, is the Bakery Cafe attached to The Trading Post mini-mart. They do a great espresso frappacino!!!
OK, now onto the actual hotel.
From accounts, CPH has been around for a little while, and there are some newer resorts starting to spring up in the area, but it is still a relatively modern resort sitting at the tip of the cape, with it's own private 200m long beach, accessible via stairs or a cute little rail car. The sea water is quite clean, warm and relatively calm.
The grounds are generally well kept, with many levels, paths, flower beds and the like. There are quite a few steps to negotiate so some areas may prove challenging for some people.
There are 2 pools, the main one off reception,which is a large free-form type with wooden decking and sun lounges, and a smaller one down at beach level. The water temp is generally cooler in the beach pool. The beach is kept fairly clean, and there are many sun lounges scattered amongst the palms. There is also a bar cafe there, and the magnificent Panwa House, a very colonnial 2 storey building that does special theme dinners during the week.
Other resort facilities include a games room (table tennis, board games), a small gym, retail shops, a Spa, and free wifi in the public areas (get an access code from Reception). We also did a Thai cooking class, which was a lot of fun, and has inspired us to recreate the dishes when we get back home.
The resort has a few different levels of accommodation, and we were lucky enough to stay in a Cape Suite. It's huge. It looks like 2 normal rooms without the wall in-between. It has a lounge area, desk, walk-in wardrobe area, huge king size bed (with pillow menu), a double sink bathroom with 'rain forest' shower head, a deep bath, fridge, kettle, and a full length balcony with day bed and small spa. The room was well maintained, clean and spacious, and the A/C did a good job. Simply lovely.
The property also has some 2 bedroom villas with private plunge pools. These looked beautiful, cut into the grassed hill, with pool jutting out and overlooking the beach area below.
Breakfast was the usual affair, with a good range of foods on offer. I made a lot of use of the egg station, choosing the omelette most mornings. There are also a few 'local style' cafes in the area, offering Thai cuisine and cold drinks at reasonable prices.
If you are looking for a relaxing getaway in Phuket, without the chaos of the main Patong area, then CPH is a good choice. The staff are friendly and helpful (as you would expect) and the resort lends itself to lazy days of reading by the pool, or cold drinks under a palm on the beach.

Room Tip: A Cape Suite if you can afford it :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your positive endorsement, and informative review, which should be very helpful to those planning a trip to Phuket. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from Cape Panwa where we to also witnessed Terry and his Kantarians - where it seem's the expats from Spain have moved on mass to the Cape Panwa with their cooler boxes. While the setting is lovely the hotel mascardes as a 4 star and above. The service is relatively efficient but no where near the standards of it's current rating. In the Andaman restaurant you had to ask for napkins or to have a table resetting. The Otter Bar is lovely with a good pianist and vocalist be aware men will be turned away or banished outside if not wearing long trousers but it is good to see they are trying to uphold some standards. Due to the service this ensured we ate outside the Hotel each night where we found one of the best Indians we have ever eaten at - Live India. A must do is to visit the Baba Nest Bar in the Sri Panwa at Sunset it is a sight to behold but so is the drinks bill - expensive but worth it. This is an average hotel in a great location with average service but not a 5 or 4 star and they seriously need to look at their policy of allowing the Kantarians in as others have mentioned cannot see how this policy works for guests paying a premium to stay at the Cape Panwa Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Your feedback, after your recent stay with us, at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, concerning policy regarding guests from our sister hotel has been shared with our team. With double turn-over at breakfast, tables have to be cleared, cleaned, and reset as soon as possible, particularly when guests wish to sit at specific tables but there is normally no waiting period. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

just returned from the cape panwa and it is such a pity that the hotel do not appear to understand that people who pay a higher rate than the alternative hotel the Kantary bay its sister hotel, deserve better. I can only agree with earlier comments regarding the kantarians paying less and using and often abusing the concessions offered by the cape panwa to them they take all the prime positions on the beach and as previous guests have noted they either save beds for fellow kantarians or pay the woman from the beach bar. one bloke arrives around 7.00am and has his own area of lawn with no beds anywhere near him (terry?) this causes problems for genuine people paying the hotel rates but playing second fiddle to the kantarians
This is the reason quite unfairly may I add that the kantary bay is higher in the ratings than the cape panwa but the management do not appear to understand or care about this practice
The hotel itself is very good with no problems with the staff or the food although the hotel does itself no favours charging 17% on top of the bill which only drives people to dine outside, and does not make good sense as food and surroundings are excellent. the junior suites especially top floor t301 onwards are spectacular with great views.
only other problem was checking out where I was firstly accused of removing a laundry bag and would be charged 200 baht which when I said I had never seen or used a laundry bag they asked me to make a signed declaration of innocence which I found disconcerting then as she gave me the bill she said oh your in room t303 it is not you who have (robbed )the laundry bag .
she then alarmingly said it is the pair of slippers that are missing from your room well I then had to sign another declaration saying I had never had a brown pair of flip flops and was getting quite angry by then, I have also heard of this happening to a number of guests and is so unprofessional. my show of alarm is probably the reason why I was also not given the complimentary voucher to use of the room for changing when leaving the hotel although when I did eventually get in the room there were a number of brits in there using the internet and munching the free biscuits although they were not leaving that day ,
this only confirms that if you are kantarian or a favoured return visitor then you do get preferential treatment at this hotel.
we will return to Thailand but not to the cape panwa unless it changes its attitude and treats its guests more fairly, and makes the kantarians climb the hill or at least have their own penned area of the beach (only joking) finally I agree with comments re Tim who only speaks if he wants to and will ignore you most of the time if you do go to the cape panwa go for a drink to uncle johns bar just on the hill he makes the best pina coladas and looks after his clients

Room Tip: junior suites starting with t 3 or any top floor as the rest have obstructed views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your commentary, and has shared your concerns regarding policy for guests from our sister hotel, with our team. Our team was following procedure in accounting for items, which might be considered souvenirs by some guests, while the surcharge is standard for hotels across the island as it includes 7% government surcharge and 10% service charge. Your other concerns have also been noted for team consideration in our continuing effort to provide enjoyable stays for all of our guests all the time. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location of the hotel and grounds is fantastic, quiet, peacful and secluded.
99% of the staff are polite and curtious, but some speak very little or no English (which on reception can be a bit frustrating).
The room we where given (J205) was spacious, clean and well equiped. The bathroom was excellent also very modern and to a high standard.
The balcony area was large with table chairs and a big couch, but to be honest it could have done with a good clean and a lick of paint.
All in all, this is a good hotel, but not quite a 5 star.

Now I come to the real let down of the hotel, not the food itself, which was perfectly fine, but the stupid outdated voucher system in place. We where booked as `Full board`. On arrival we where given `lunch` and `dinner vouchers, thinking that all we had to do was hand the vouchers to the staff at meal times and then just eat from the buffet....wrong !
The voucher was for the `set menu` only, If there was nothing on the set menu that you liked, you then had to negotiate with the waiter to find out what other meals the voucher covered. After speaking with reception we where told the vouchers where worth 800 Bht each, if the meal came to more than that, we would have to pay the extra.

Meal times should be a time to relax and enjoy the food, NOT turn into a UN style negotiation about whether our `food vouchers` would cover the meal or not.

As I say, apart from the moan above, this is a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Your review of your recent stay with us at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, has been useful and shared with our team. This includes the feedback on the current voucher system. Please note the balcony area will be revived with a lick of paint in the coming months and English classes will continue as part of the ongoing staff training programme. We look forward to your return and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've been to Thailand many times and unfortunately this hotel did not live up to our previous experiences of Thai hospitality, service or standards.
Check-in set the tone for the stay which felt very clinical and rushed completely different to other Thai hotels where check in normally consists of being offered a seat, given a refreshing drink, welcome garland and cold towel while all the formalities are completed - NONE of those lovely touches here I'm afraid!
The beach setting is lovely BUT all hotel facilities including the private beach are available to guests staying at its sister Hotel the 3* Kantary Bay which is located at the bottom of the hill this also means the sunbeds were usually all taken by 10.30 and it did feel crowded not exclusive as you would normally expect for a supposed 4* Hotel. Can see why guests at the Kantary feel this is excellent value as they are paying considerably less for their stay but I'm unsure of what benefit this is to those staying at the Cape Panwa.
Kantary guests seemed to be made up of retired Brits staying between 1-3 months to escape the British winter, the majority also had an "arrangement" with the ladies who worked at the Bamboo Beach Bar who reserved their chosen sunbeds early each morning and those guests would show up with cool boxes and flasks with their days supplies later on knowing their beds were already reserved. I have never stayed at a hotel where staff reserve sunbeds for guests.
Also if there was an event on the lawn in front of the Panwa House restaurant the previous evening (and there were 4 during our 7 night stay) then the sunbeds were left piled up which meant guests were left to put the heavy sunbeds back into position, a mallet was also provided so guests could hammer in the sun umbrellas - again this level of self service was another first for me in Thailand!!
Breakfast was a chaotic affair - sometimes tea and coffee were served at your table other times it was help yourself, sometimes the tables were laid correctly other times it was hunt down your own missing items of crockery and cutlery sometimes tables were cleared other times not. There was a variety of food but unfortunately the fruit juices were the cheap and nasty variety. The staff also seemed to be confused as to what was expected of them and there didn't appear to be anyone overseeing proceedings.
We had lunch most days at the Bamboo Bar and the food and service were fine we also ate one night in the Panwa House restaurant the setting was lovely, food was OK service was good - waiting staff within the breakfast restaurant could learn from the waiters here.
Room was cleaned daily but for some reason for the first four days of our stay they didn't leave any towels or complementary water and we had to chase house keeping each time to obtain again not something you expect of a supposed 4* and this did become annoying by the fourth day especially when after an hour of chasing house keeping for the missing towels we were still waiting, I went to reception to chase and was told they would be with us straight away 30 mins later and we were still waiting another phone call to the front desk and they eventually arrived along with the missing water.
The hotel seems to offer two levels of service returning guests appear to be treated exceptionally well while other guests are treated with indifference and this seems to be the message from management downwards. Tim the Guest Relations Manager would often be seen at breakfast pulling up a chair to chat with returning guests but then completely blank new guests without so much as a Good Morning- They seem to completely miss the point that by treating all guests well and ensuring consistent levels of high service across the board they could increase repeat business and customer satisfaction.

Would recommend that if you are planning a trip to Phuket that you pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback which has been shared with the food and beverage manager, the Café Andaman restaurant manager, the beach manager, housekeeping, and our team in order to make the necessary corrections even in times of very high occupancy. The staff members were pleased to hear of your positive Panwa House and Bamboo Bar experience. We apologize we did not exceed all of your expectations during your stay and we thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world’s most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the hotel is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive beach. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated, sea facing suites and pool villas. A part of the Cape Collection, Thailand's premier luxury chain of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, the Cape Panwa Hotel is a little part of Paradise. Cape Panwa Beach-Perfect for year around Phuket’s south western winds blow from May until October making the seas on the west coast quite rough. However, the seas on the east coast, especially at Cape Panwa, are sheltered and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Panwa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.