We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some staff cannot speak english. clean and big room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Panwa Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Panwa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early & save more
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“some staff cannot speak english. clean and big room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Isolated location. big and clean room. some staff cannot speak english but they are polite and nice. big hotel so some houses are not closeby and you need to walk for a distance. its not a luxury hotel but comfortable and cozy. value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, as a peaceful, relaxing, and secluded site, thanks you for your review of our luxury hotel. For your information, further English instruction will be held for staff during the low season, after the Thai New Year, Songkran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    433
    158
    59
    31
See reviews for
316
946
38
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Loved the hotel, grounds & private beach. The breakfast was excellent & we had room service the first night as we arrived late and the food was superb. The cattle bus runs up and down the hill between the two hotels and enables you to use the supermarket and eat in local restaurants that serve wonderful Thai food.
A great place to come to chill out, very quiet although the hotel runs a bus service to Patong & Phuket a couple of times a week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that you found your stay with us a great place to chill out and we look forward to your return soon. Thank you for your favorable endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Panwa for 3 nights whilst on our Honeymoon in January and it wasn't long enough! We were greeted by friendly reception staff who immediatley congratulated us on our honeymoon and we were upgraded to a Suite with hot tub, which was very much appreciated! Our room was incredibly spacious, clean and fresh, with a huge balcony with hot tub and day bed and lovely views overlooking the palm trees out to the ocean.

The hotel itself is spread out, but nothing seems too far away!

We ate in The Thai restaurant which is situated overlooking the beach, the food was beautiful and it was probably the best Thai food we ate whilst in Thailand and the location is perfect. We also ate at the Grill restaurant, this is slightly more expensive but well worth it! The food was delicious, the staff were incredibly attentive and the sound of the Piano was the icing on the cake!

Breakfast was included in our room cost and the Buffet on offer was amazing, there was everything you can imagine and more and everything was beautifully fresh.

There are two pools at the hotel, the main pool which is next to reception and the smaller pool down by the beach. The pools were probably the most disappointing as there simply wasn't enough space for everyone, the pool by the beach is very small with only a handful of sun loungers and the main pool again doesn't have may loungers at all.

However, being a beachfront hotel, the lack of sunbed space around the Pool's isn't a problem as long as you don't mind taking a dip in the sea to cool off. The water was very warm and the beach was very clean, with just a few small crabs running about!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your 3 night honeymoon stay with us was both enjoyable and pleasant and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late January 2013. We found the room, the service, and the hilltop setting to be very good. The included breakfast had the most items we had ever seen and everything was delicious. You can use the outdoor pool or walk down a series of steps and enjoy the quiet private beach. They also have a complimentary shuttle which operates every 20 minutes. This will take you down the hill (and back up again) to a small area of restaurants and a minimart. We ate at the Italian restaurant twice. It is also only a short walk from the shuttle drop-off point to the Aquarium, which we found very enjoyable. Street vendors there offered a delicious chicken satay, among other foods. The view of the sunset on the beach is spectacular. You can also use the facilities of their sister hotel, Kantary Bay. They have a great coffee machine that is available all day for no cost. We would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement and looks forward eagerly to your next stay with us. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Overall:
As its name conveys, the hotel is situated on a hill at Panwa Cape at the southernmost of Phuket Island. At the foot of the hill is the Kantary Bay, its sister 3-star hotel, offering rooms at a much lower rate. Guests of both hotels can enjoy each other’s facilities. Cape Panwa Hotel is long established for decades (since 1988) and was recently refurbished in 2010 while preserving its ecology and environment. Thus the resort provides guests with both lush greenery gardens as well as longest private sandy beach on Panwa Cape to enjoy. Room wise, even its starting type is more than enough for a comfortable stay with all the needed amenities, fully equipped facilities and modern bathroom. With its vast area hotel rooms are scattered among the many wings. One obvious downside is the lack of elevators in those buildings. Whilst rooms are uphill, allowing occupants the glimpses of sea view, one needs to climb down about 300 m to actually enjoy the sea. To help facilitate guests there’s a mechanical tram to the beach even though it goes only half way. You’ve to walk downhill (not too much slope though) for another half to reach the beach. BTW, there’re flights of stairs before you get to the tram on both directions. At the far right of the beach is Panwa House, a well preserved Sino-Portuguese mansion turned into a Thai restaurant serving at dinner time only. At the far left is the hotel’s private jetty to nearby islands. Access to public places like restaurants, activity rooms, bars, spa, fitness room and cape lounge is by few or more steps. Therefore I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to guests with serious mobility issue. For those who can, I’d suggest you pay a bit more to stay in a BIG, comfy Cape Suite. My husband and I spent 5 nights in a suite on the 3rd floor of C wing and loved it very much.
We went during summer and the place was mainly occupied by Westerners who spent most of their times sun-bathing by the beach. After breakfast guests flocked to their usual loungers with sunscreen and suntan products, pocket books, ipods, ipads, or tablets and enjoyed their favorite moments quietly. Being Asians, our usual place was of course under the shade of the coconut trees and fell asleep almost right away by the cool breeze. Though packed with hotel guests but you hardly heard loud noises and voices and that made your vacation a perfect retreat! No wonder why many guests are in their senior years and from our brief conversations, many of them are returning customers who fly from their European countries to spend at least a fortnight to a month here at Cape Panwa Hotel regularly. From observations their routines are: jogging along the beach, breakfast, sun-bathing, swimming in the sea, sun-bathing, reading, napping, swimming and sun-bathing till late in the afternoon, then retire to their preferred activities in the evening. All are done in a quiet manner, out of respect to one another’s privacy. What more could you possibly want? It’s the best place to recharge oneself after long, tiring and stressing months of hard work. Yet, if you need to connect to the outside world, the hotel provides free wifi in the public area. However, I do agree with other reviewers that at this price, free in-room wifi should be made available too!

Dining:
Breakfast buffet at Café Andaman kept your stomach satisfied through lunch time. The staff we met were nice and efficient. Of course, during fully packed days service might be a bit delay but that’s understandable. Every morning I saw Khun Jean-Marie, the FB Manager, greeted guests from table to table and took note of complaints, if any. Later in the day I also saw him walking around loungers’ area and at the Beach bar, not intruding but rather observing from afar whether guests were well taken care of. Another person worth mentioning is Khun Somsak of Café Andaman who took great care of us during breakfast and dinner time. He was well liked by other guests too. One thing I noticed during breakfast is the presence of many birds (pigeons and mynas) on the balcony. There’s a sign saying, “Do not feed the birds” but these birds feed themselves! So don’t leave your food unattended or uncovered.
There’re more than 10 restaurants and bars combined for the two properties. We only tried out at Café Andaman of Cape Panwa and Laem Panwa Seafood at Kantary Bay down the hill. We like the former better. But along Panwa Bay area, there’re many small restaurants of international cuisine to choose from at reasonable prices. One of the favorites is Swaddee next to Kantary Bay. The place is packed day and night, serving delicious menus from chicken to fishes, except pork. There’s a free shuttle bus running between the two hotels every 20 minutes until midnight.

Service:
Reception/check-in seemed to be understaffed. Upon arrival no porter stood by; luckily the taxi driver helped take our luggage up the stairs. After checking in our room, we waited for nearly 2 hours and our luggage hadn’t arrived. On our way out for late lunch at Panwa Bay, we notified Front Desk of the problem to which she apologized and promised to hurry the delivery. Aside from this, the rest of the staff are ok. Special mention to Khun Pavinee (Fah) who greeted guests with smiles and more than willing to help out. Cape Lounge is an asset, especially to those with late flights. After checking out, you can just leave your luggage at Reception and ask for a free coupon to use the Cape Lounge which is at the far end of the C building. In there you can relax and enjoy coffee/tea, pastries, cookies, TV, and internet until your departure time.

Pros:
Serenity, private beach, plenty of loungers in vast tropical garden, big, renovated suites, free wifi in public areas, free shuttle bus to Panwa Bay area (Kantary Hotel), free use of Cape Lounge for departure guests

Cons:
No elevators, access to places requires steps, no free wifi in rooms, about an hour ride from airport, about 20 min away from Phuket town which shuttle bus is available at a cost, room rates are a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates the effort and time you took to provide a useful descriptive review of the ambiance, facilities, and service of our property and the surrounding environment, after your 5 nights with us, as it will be very helpful to other readers planning a visit to Phuket. Thank you for mentioning, by name, some of our dedicated and helpful staff, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having read previous reviews about this hotel we were a bit apprehensive
the beach being clean, sea being safe from rocks and room location overlooking the cable lift to the beach. You may well ask why we actually booked it then! (We read so many reviews and became confused! We just decided to go for it based on the excellent reviews.

The sea was safe and clean although there were 3/4 few cargo ships passing & moored up near by and the odd bit of debris at the one end of the beach (although staff from the hotel did walk it to clear any rubbish ) There were rocks in the sea but only at low tide they didn't really prevent swimming but did make walking out difficult although when the sea was in swimming was excellent and safe and clean to swim In, as we and many other guests did.
We had an excellent view from our room which most rooms would appear to have, the odd one or two would be next to the cable lift.

Room 0103 was very comfy over looking the smaller beach we had good sea views from this room even when lying in bed and we were in a good quite central location.
There are 52 steps to main restaurant and pool area from this room of which two are down and fifty are up with 92 steps to the beach if you don't use the lift (which starts @9pm) A/c and mini bar temp very good with a freezer box in the mini bar.

Restaurant food in The Reef Top was excellent If a slight minimalistic! fillet steak 770bhts approx £17.50 Happy hour Bogof was at the adjoining Otters bar 6.30 - 7.30 & you can take your drinks through to The Reef Top Restaurant the wine 275ml Chardonnay 140bht approx £2.80


There is a courtesy bus or truck yes truck! to the sister hotel and alternative sea front 5mins away up a very steep hill and I mean steep probably to steep to walk where there are a few restaurants.

We booked a table at Panwa house Thai restaurant @ 7.45 it was a fortunate i had booked it as it became fully booked this evening shortly afterwards.
What a disaster it turned out to be! we waited 50mins for our starter after the order had been taken by the waiter, when i chased it up it arrived almost immediately.
I had Thai fish cakes which looked like a steam roller had gone over them they were that compressed maybe that is how they should be but they were not to my liking, the different curries my wife and I had both had cold rice with them, no one asked if our meals were ok during service!
We then waited 25 mins for the bill which I had to chase and the waiter laughed and said he had forgot about us! So I signed the bill and wrote on it that i refuse to pay it explaining why! We then went to reception and explained to the duty manager our actions and our experience he said he would investigate.

We heard nothing the following day so at 4.30pm so we went to reception to ask for a copy of our account to date to and found we had not been charged for the meal or wine.

Thank you duty manager! Although It would have been nice to have been contacted by hotel management to apologise! but thank you.

Listed below are some of the little details that make the difference from being a top quality hotel to being really nice one!

Little things like a shaving makeup mirror or a good light in the bathroom one of the little things missing.

Lock on patio door not working we put a temp fix in with part of a pencil and reported it to reception our first day nothing was repaired when we left six days later so we left the pencil in!

Bar staff approaching people on loungers to see if they required a drinks.

The gym( for those of you sad enough to use it on hols like me) had no antiseptic wipes to clean machines after use , the two running machines have no fans on them which made it more important to have good a/c which I switched to full but did not make any difference to temperature.
(Although there are two TVs above machines and a good selection of cardio vascular and weight equip)


The bathroom only had bath towels and face cloths no hand towels!

Sun beds around beach area are pretty basic and are very heavy wooden ones some with limited settings which you could find uncomfortable and watch out when adjusting them as the can be quite lethal they can act like a guillotine with the brackets dropping down sharp I caught my foot and my wife caught her arm! Beware!

With a nice private beach in a fantastic setting it would be nice if the beach staff encouraged guests to use the catamaran and canoes ect more!

The paint does seem to be quite a lot of paint work that needs attention around the hotel and the rear section of the cable car looks a bit tired to sat the least.

Having had time to reflect and for all these points we had a we felt it was a super hotel with excellent staff!

Room Tip: The room we had was very nice 0103 see review details,but you have to be able bodied because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your feedback which has been shared with the team, and is pleased you decided to spend 6 days with us in order to confirm for yourselves what the excellent reviews had said about our property. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at the Cape Panwa for five days and it did not fail to disappoint me, the hotel itself is on the white sandy beach away from the busy towns but so easy to reach by a shuttle bus. The room was amazing(Cape suite) with a Jacuzzi and big loungers on the balcony and stunning beach views, nothing was ever to much for the staff they even organised a cake for my birthday which was absolutely delicious! The buffet breakfast has a different variety of food everyday and is delicious, few fruit flies spotted in the mixed fruit bowl but i'm sure that can be easily resolved.
Their is a nice little town around the hotel with amazing places to go for massages & dinner.
Five star hotel - will be back again!

Room Tip: Get the cape suite or a cape family suite - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive review after your recent stay of five days and looks forward to your soonest return. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world’s most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the hotel is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive beach. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated, sea facing suites and pool villas. A part of the Cape Collection, Thailand's premier luxury chain of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, the Cape Panwa Hotel is a little part of Paradise. Cape Panwa Beach-Perfect for year around Phuket’s south western winds blow from May until October making the seas on the west coast quite rough. However, the seas on the east coast, especially at Cape Panwa, are sheltered and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Panwa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.