We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomplished and playful cooking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

The Grill at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road | Tambon Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
+66 7620 0800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Accomplished and playful cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Eating western cooking in a beautiful Thai resort is like wearing a waistcoat to the beach. Phuket is relaxed, unstuffy, and baking hot. Thai food is sensational, and perfect for the climate.
Even so, the Grill at the Regent entertained us, and fed us fabulously well.
The restaurant is run by chef Justin Baziuk. It occupies a tasteful, if unexciting, beige room. If not for the charming Thai waiting staff, we felt we could have been in any dining room in the western world.
The menu was not very adventurous, but was well executed. There was exceptionally light, crunchy bread and smooth butter, both made by the resort staff.
There were three plump scallops (from New Zealand, because apparently, local scallops are too puny).
There was a delicious sharing plate, meant as a starter for two. This had a few local touches like crunchy salted prawn crackers, and diced ripe mango (served beside a caramelised slab of foie gras), as well as the Thai sweet/sour/spicy flavour combo, but in two shot glasses of gazpacho. It also featured a delicate sashimi tuna raviolo with caviar, and a couple of silken slices of salmon, cured in whisky and smoked on the premises.
We had been served an amuse bouche of gazpacho before our starters. Before our main course, we were also given a passionfruit sorbet with a surprise of a dusting of popping candy.
The mains were a generous chunk of (marginally overcooked) salmon with intensely sweet roasted tomatoes. The sides outshone the fish: fresh, nutty asparagus with hollandaise sauce, and fluffy potatoes with rosemary and garlic and perfectly salted.
Seafood risotto, the other main course, was as creamy and toothsome as anyone might wish for, but the rice, prawns, scallops and mussels were a bit under-seasoned. The risotto came with (slightly incongruous) shavings of parmesan, or possibly manchego.
Dessert came early with a couple of glasses of complimentary mojito granita, festooned with pink cotton candy.
We then demolished a Valrhona chocolate platter with milk ice cream. An accompanying espresso was one of the best we've had in Thailand.
There was a well-chosen wine list (with the usual high wine prices for Thailand). We had a dry, tingly prosecco.
Service was perfect - thoughtful and efficient.
The Grill has a set menu that offers good value for three courses, as well as a la carte dishes, including grilled Wagyu and Australian steaks, rack of lamb, duck breast and chicken.
The restaurant gives no sense of locally sourced or seasonal Thai cuisine, but it certainly provided us with very accomplished, playful and refined cooking, a warm welcome, and some very happy, near-the-beach memories.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Grill is serious 5 star dining. The freshly baked breads made on site, the exceptional selection of meals with high calibre produce....and the desserts! The pastries and sweets are to die for.

An absolute must restaurant. And while it is a bit quiet, this just makes for a relaxing and romantic evening with stunning views and exceptional staff.

Going back there for my birthday in two days and I can't wait!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good food and service, shame about the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food was lovely, and a bit different. The 1500 3 course seemed like a good deal. The dessert was worth it - especially the chocolate textures. Just a pity there is no atmosphere and it feels like you're in a hotel function room. I'm sure the views are great in the daytime, but most people eat dinner later....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We ll be back , just replace the speakers in the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I dinned last night at the Grill and over all it was pleasurable experance. It's our second time as we live in the area. If you're looking for a western food experance this is the place to dine! We prefer it over Sri Panwa for value and food , but lacks atmosphere and this could easily be improved by replacing the speakers. The speakers in the bar above the Grill were dreadful and made the whole thing rather irritating. However the views are great in the bar , but the restaurant badly designed and lacks atmosphere for what it is. The food great and both times we've paid the 1500 for a selection of 3 courses and they may be small in dish size but filling over 3 courses. The service is a bit upper lip for my likes , but certainly can't complain. We ll be back again , as its reasonably good value for what you get and the only other option , locally is Sri Panwa and we've found that to be lacking in certain areas of late.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Review of the Grill Restaurant at the Regent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

There weren't any specific reviews about the Grill on Trip Advisor but took a chance and went there for dinner. I am so glad that we did because it was one of the nicest and memorable nights in Phuket. When we got to the picturesque reception area, a gentleman walked us to the restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was great as I expected from the Regent hotel.

The extra surprise was that the chef came out and greeted each table individually and took the time to chat and welcome us. He even gave us a goody bag of cookies when we left and even offered to email us some recipes. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, gorgeous views and classic architecture.

I didn't stay at this hotel but would definitely consider for my next visit!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa also viewed

 
Cape Panwa, Phuket
Cape Panwa, Phuket
 

Been to The Grill at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.