We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing - a real gem..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket to your Saves list
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/3 Moo 8, Ao-Yon Bay, Khao Khad Road | Wichit, Mueang, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
hong kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing - a real gem..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our most recent stay was our fifth at the Panwa Beach Resort in the last seven years, the aim of the holiday was to relax and do some sailing and diving. On arrival, the staff were very friendly having remembered us from before and we were made exceptionally welcome. We immediately settled into relax mode.

The resort has most things to offer with several dining options and if you don't want to go out and and explore, you don't have to. The main buffet restaurant is very good; for a real treat you should visit the Panwa house, a beautiful Sino-Portuguese mansion on the beach reached by the hotel's own funicular railway. The Lighthouse pub is also great fun.

The resort is quite remote and if the nightlife is what you want, then it may not be for you. However, it's seclusion is it's charm and you will definately feel you are away from the hustle and bustle of places like Kata and Patong. If you do want to see some of Phuket, the hotel runs a free regular shuttle over the hill to the Kantaray Bay hotel, (part of the same group) where on Ao Yon, you have restaurants and an evening street market to visit, and it's very easy to get to other places in Phuket.

We like the resort for it peaceful nature and friendly staff. One notable aspect is that it is very cosmopolitan and doesn't attract one particular customer group. You will find yourself mixing with people from all over the world who are all willing to say hello - as they are just as relaxed as you.

We have to admit we have an affinity to the resort as it generously sponsors the Phuket Race Week sailing event each July, which we have sailed in. But the fact we are like to come back when not competing in the regatta speaks volumes.

The only drawbacks are that the beach, although beautiful has rocks and mudflats exposed at low tide and that the hotel charges quite a lot for WiFi. The former is not too much of a problem as the hotel leaves tide timetables in each room - and most people swim in the two pools anyway. And the latter can be overcome by using a 3g sim card with data enabled.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family, the pool villas sleep 4 comfortably and are not much more expensive than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    115
    50
    23
    19
See reviews for
54
170
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel staff are fantastic nothing is too much trouble, great beach and pool area.
The manager is always available to talk to and is the first person to help.
If you want a quiet rest full holiday this is the hotel for you.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritchawat K, General Manager at Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for your second stayed and taking the time to review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Panwa Beach Resort Phuket.

As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff, beach and pool are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kritchawat Kittipiroon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This resort has the potential to be absolutely incredible. The grounds, location, pool, and beach are amazing. Execution and attention to details are it's downfall.
Our room was clean.... Mostly. The sheets were clean and the floors had been swept. Bathroom grout needs significant cleaning, shower ledges had not been cleaned and remnants and soap rings remained from the past guest. Furniture was very tired and marked up, TV was an older 'tube' TV, and chairs had spills that could have been easily cleaned off.
With the following said, it was still a very enjoyable resort. Breakfast was delicious and the pool was lovely. The beach and bay have perfect sunsets. A short walk to beachside restaurants.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritchawat K, General Manager at Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Panwa Beach Resort Phuket.

As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding bathroom grouting, shower ledges and furnitures in from will palned for soft renovate also TV will be changed to be new modern LED flate screen which be complete change soonest as been changed half of all rooms.

Your kind remarks our breakfast services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kritchawat Kittipiroon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This is our second visit in the past few months. If you are just after a few days chill time without disturbances this could be the place for you. Rooms are a little tired, bed is reasonable comfortable, nice size bathroom with a bath as well as a shower. Tea & Coffee are supplied as is a mini bar ( warning prices in mini bar are very high ) Breakfast is good with a good variety of dishes to suit most tastes. Swimming pool is clean, but could forward with more sun loungers. I would imagine at busy times you might not get one. Beach is OK when the tide is in, however once out the beach looses much of its appeal. The main thing missing from this hotel is character - it has none, neither do the staff. The hotel is really well positioned but just seems to be under utilised, bar area is void of anyone, in an evening the hotel is like a ghost town. There is so much more they could do to attract custom and encourage guest to use the hotel dining and other facilities. On both of our stays we have never eaten in the Hotel Restaurant, like all the other guests everyone eats at one of the two beach side restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Simply putting it- If you want a few days relaxing without the droves of tourists, in a reasonable hotel with reason rooms you can't go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritchawat K, General Manager at Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Panwa Beach Resort Phuket.
As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding of minibar pricing that we will consider to be adjust accordingly, sunbed will be set up more as your comment. Your kind remarks our breakfast services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.
It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kritchawat Kittipiroon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Very nice hotel, and very happy and helpful staff. Location is right on the beach with a brilliant infinity pool. Very nice and plentiful breakfast although a bit more choice would not harm it. Rooms are air conditioned, very spacious and with a balcony The hotel has a spa attached (although a bit pricey compared to the other neighboring Spa's). The Restaurant has themed nights (Seafood, Intentional and THAI FOOD) very romantic as they are setup around the pool or on the beach, but a bit pricey compared to the neighboring restaurants

Room Tip: Best views are the Beachfront rooms although garden rooms have a bit of the beach view as well, so u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritchawat K, General Manager at Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Panwa Beach Resort Phuket.

As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our resort location, room balcony, staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kritchawat Kittipiroon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This was our second trip to Phuket and after staying in Patong the first time although in a beautiful hotel we wanted somewhere more quiet and directly on a beach. When it came to booking the Panwa Beach Resort seemed to meet all our requirements and also at a great price compared to others in the area. When we arrived at the hotel after a long journey from Manchester I immediately had a great feeling as we sat down in the open lobby with a welcome drink. We were then shown to our beach front room through beautiful tropical grounds and that didn't disappoint either as it was spacious and comfortable with its own beautiful garden and terrace. Beyond that was a lovely lawned area dotted with palm trees then soft pale gold sands and then lovely warm turquoise sea. It is now our last night and our opinion is still the same, this is a beautiful place, another big plus is the lovely free form infinity pool with views over the sea and palm trees, perfect. All in all this is a beautiful resort in a lovely quiet location however if you are looking for 5* pristine luxury then choose somewhere else. Finally one or two other points, because of its quiet location expect to have to travel sometimes for restaurants etc although there are a few within walking distance. When the tide is out a rocky reef is revealed making it difficult to reach the sea but the soft golden sands still remain and the pool is there for swimming at these times. The Residence by the Sea hotel which is next door has a higher rating on here but it looks nowhere near as attractive and has a minute pool area. Would definitely come back again to this bargain priced tropical resort.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritchawat K, General Manager at Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Steven Rob,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Panwa Beach Resort Phuket.

As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kritchawat Kittipiroon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The trip started of a bit shaky because the hotel was having issues with their internet and by the time they responded, it was too late to for them to provide the airport pickup. Luckily it was not too much of a challenge to find a taxi from the airport.

The property is nice with a decent sandy beach but that disappears and becomes quite rocky at low tide.

We had a beautiful room just in front of the beach but it was unfortunate that you can hear almost everything that happens in the adjoining room's bathroom, even with the bathroom sliding doors closed.

The food at the restaurant was decent but you can walk down the beach to find several other options.

All in all, it was a nice stay with a few minor quirks.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritchawat K, General Manager at Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Panwa Beach Resort Phuket.
As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our internet and hering from the agjoining room with we ready solved those problem and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.
It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kritchawat Kittipiroon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Address: 5/3 Moo 8, Ao-Yon Bay, Khao Khad Road | Wichit, Mueang, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panwa Beach Resort Phuket is the perfect seaside hideaway nestled amongst the pristine tropical forests of Cape Panwa. On a private sandy beach, this intimate 4 star resort hotel combines excellent facilities with the charm of Thai hospitality. A favourite destination for honeymooners and families wanting to enjoy a relaxing break, only 10 min drive from Phuket town and the best shopping centre on the island, Central Festival Phuket. 40 min from Phuket Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Beach Resort Panwa Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Novotel Cape Panwa
Accor Cape Panwa
Novotel Phuket
Phuket Novotel
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.