We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but the sea was not clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
milano
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but the sea was not clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is very nice, common areas have a beautiful view of the bay.
Wooden furniture and all decorations were luxury and high level.
Wonderful bar and restaurants, especially the italian one in front of the sea. We had excellent lobsters as well as meat and fish and spaghetti. Excellent breakfast too!
Rooms are confortable and spacious. Confortable beds, nice bath equipment. Free wifi.
Our room was quite far away from the pool and restaurant area, I would recommend to ask them a room in a near position.
Pool area is ok, but the beach and the sea were not so clean (we found also garbage..).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    100
    37
    10
    9
See reviews for
87
157
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay for 3 days at this nice property with a good private beach and view from the beach side rooms. What surprised me that during the power failure they did not have back up power for the rooms only the other areas very supported. The location is not advised if you wanna enjoy the night life of Phuket as this property is an hour drive from there and as Phuket does not have a good transport system you have to be at the mercy of the tuk tuk and private taxis.

Room Tip: If you wanna go and relax in Phuket on the sea front opt for this place and if you wanna enjoy the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you wanna relax in Phuket, this is the perfect spot!

The beach itself is not the highlight (most of the time little water and often rather dark) but along the beach there is only this wonderful hotels and 2 tiny restaurants/massage places.

The Pool is wonderful and the setting of the gardens along the beachfront is nice.

Rooms: Very modern and spacious! Best beds so far in Thailand!

Breakfast: GREAT GREAT GREAT!

Service: Friendly all over!

Attention: Food Options are limited and the restaurant charges too much for dine dining!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were attracted by this newly opened hotel with nice sea view from the hotel web-site. But after we arrived, we found quite disappointed with the beach is not suitable for swimming though there were some people did go down the water during our stay. The water was not clear & the sands were very rough! Then we realized that the water on this side could only suitable for other kind of water activities like kayaking. So we learnt from this experience.

We stayed in the room on 3/F facing the (outdoor) Lobby Lounge which was no privacy at all, got to closed the curtain all the time. So we paid extra to spend another 2 nights in the Facing Ocean room with peaceful sea view & huge balcony! We like this room very much & also the free Wifi is convenience for us.

The Thai buffet dinner we had on Dec 8 was delicious & the Chef was nice too! We met the waiter (Nuts) in Mosaic Restaurant who was so kind to introduce the places for sight seeing nearby. Ms Pui from Front Office was very nice & helpful with sweet smile whenever we saw her. But housekeeping staff need more training & they seemed not understanding with no wording or expressionless when we asked for something.

The complimentary mugs were a bit stained & we did ask for new one but there we no action taken at all!

Anyway the facilities in this hotel are still new, if not care about swimming in the sea, it is OK for staying in the hotel for few days to unwind. Gotta get taxi to go out each time cause the shuttle bus time table really confusing & not convenience.

Room Tip: Room 2418 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you're looking for a very simple resort with a good pool, a beach, and good value, then this is an excellent resort. Very worth the money for what it is, but don't expect any bells and whistles as if you would stay at a Ritz Carlton resort (such as fountains everywhere, people to greet you with lei's at the door, excellent service). You will get what you pay for with the Crowne Plaza Panwa, which is spacious rooms, perfectly fine service which was in fact very friendly and helpful, and a nice, modern, open lobby/room/resort set up as a whole. It's a great place to stay if you are looking to save a bit of money on the hotel room to instead spend elsewhere such as on day excursions (as we did).

Beware though- the tide in this bay is very strange and recedes completely everyday. So from about 12 noon until 7pm the entire sea is gone! The tide recedes all the way back to outside the bay so there is no afternoon swimming or kayaking in the ocean. Wish we had known that before hand!

Short trip to Phuket City which is always good for meals, but a bit farther away from Patong- about 45min to 1 hr.

Room Tip: Grand Sea Room is very spacious- even for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this new hotel for a beach part of our holiday in Thailand. The hotel has a good location in a quiet area with superb sea views from most rooms. The rooms are very well appointed but lack some basic refinements. The shower cubicals should have had the option of a fixed head shower combined with the moveable head for the ladies. The cleaning staff were the best in the hotel. The service in the restaurants and on the beach was appauling. There are inadequate numbers of sunbeds. When taking breakfast we had invariably to wait for a table. The breakfast however was superb, well done Chefs.

In my view this hotel needs more front of house and waiting staff.

We were at the hotel over New Year, the cost of the 'New Year' evening celebration was exhorbitant, needless to say we headed into the beach resort.

Overall this hotel should be superb but in my view its Senior manager is not up to running this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Dave T,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving feedback of our hotel. It is pleasing to know that you found our location to be at par with your expectations and our room accommodations convenient for your needs. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the amenities lacking in the room and inconsistency in the service in the restaurant. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Crowne Plaza last Nov 2012 with friends, we got the room under employee rate care of my bf, if you want a private resort stay here. . The staffs are friendly and very accommodating. The stay experience is 5/5!

More power IHG Hotels!

God bless!. . =)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil setting of the stunning Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort. Located just 10 minutes from charming Phuket Town, our brand new 5 star resort is set in the secluded Makham Bay, with its own private beach and spectacular views of the Andaman sea.Explore our unique heritage where Sino-Portuguese design meets modern comforts. Revel in our array of stunning guest rooms complemented by thoughtful touches and premier bedding. Our suites are spacious and opulent, all with bay views and most with direct access to a semi private pool. With 2 swimming pools, a fitness centre, kids club, Thann spa, tour desk and a Recreation Manager, filling up a day with activities is little issue. The hotel is catered with a pool bar, an all day dining restaurant, Mosaic, a cafe, lobby lounge and an Italian beachfront restaurant, Patio. Naturally room service is available for 24 hours. Wi-fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.