We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 stars 308 Reviews
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. Fancy but didn't feel intimidating. The best thing is that it's right on the beach. Just beware of low tide. Because lagoon is so shallow, water recedes about 100 meters. Most people use pool during low tide and swim in the ocean when tide is high and water comes all the way to the hotel.

I gave it average on breakfast because when I ordered it though room service, it took little longer and one item was not what I ordered. It tasted good though.

After location, service is the second best thing at this hotel. Thai people are generally very customer oriented and it was like this here as well. Receptionist walked us all the way to our room which I've never experienced at the big chain hotel before. Even bellmen were very helpful and on standby to help with anything. Unlike in China, you din't have to ask for help. Once you made eye-contact, they immediately approached you offering help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    76
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
123
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the resort for five nights in total. From the time we arrived till the very last minute on the resort we fealt very welcome. The staff where the friendliest I have experience in a hotel. Service was very personable and same standard maintained from reception staff to room service.

Location was amazing just on the beach!

We ate at both restaurants, the food was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was delicious with a huge choice. In the buffet.

The resort had great facilities and activities available and the room was quiet and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed a pool side room not more than 20 meters to the pool. Was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from an eight night stay at this resort, we'd arranged for a hotel car to pick us up, it cost us 950 baht, they we're waiting just outside the arrivals hall for us. The journey took around 50 mins, it was peak traffic.

Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted & taken to the reception area where we were given a cold cloth & a lovely refreshing drink of lemon grass.

We had booked a King Crowne sea view room through their website & this also included breakfast.

Our room was a bit of a walk but we didn't mind, our room was on ground level, on entering the room there was a funny smell, I think it was coming from the shower drain. The room had lovely decor & the bed was really comfy. During the night we were woken up by people in the room above us, they were very heavy footed & this went on for a while. The rooms are supposed to be sound proof!

The next morning we were woken up very early by the sound of a lot of people in the pool, when we looked outside the window the pool was full of people & this was at 6am.

Breakfast was the usual buffet, as we were at the resort in low season there didn't seem to be many people around & at breakfast on the first few days there just seemed to be us & maybe a couple of other people, so most mornings a lot of the food was cold as the turnaround wouldn't of been as fast as in high season, pancakes & waffles were always cold, fried eggs & bacon had been sitting there a while so they were also cold. There was an egg station where you ordered your eggs. There was no smoothie bar & after asking members of staff if I could have a smoothie, they just looked blank at me, there was quite a language barrier with a lot of staff & this was quite difficult at times. A few days later we had a lovely waitress called Linh & she would make me a smoothie. We had asked for cappuccino with our breakfast & this was also luke warm/cold, so we gave up & just asked for coffee & I have to say that this is the best coffee I'd ever had & on top of that it was very hot. Towards the end of our holiday it got busier at breakfast time, there were a lot of Asian tour groups.

We went to reception (which we couldn't find, as it was tucked away & there was no sings to say where it was) to ask if we could change room as our room was noisy, we changed to an Andaman Terrace view room, which was on the fifth floor with no one above us, it was a lovely room with fantastic views over the pool & the beach.

The room had a comfy king bed, had tea/coffee amenities, a fridge (which only had bottled water in it) & a lovely balcony to sit out on. The bathroom had lovely decor but the shower did have a tendency to go VERY HOT then freezing cold, we did report this but nothing got done, we also noticed that the shaving mirror was 90 degrees out, so it went from side to side, not up & down, so it was ok if you were 4ft high, you just couldn't use it without bending down! Our housekeeper was lovely & nothing was too much trouble for her, our room was serviced every day & 6 bottles of water were replace every day.

As we had visited Thailand before we just wanted a relaxing holiday, we would sit around the pool everyday & most days we had the whole place to ourselves, the swimming pool was lovely & the hotel provided large pool towels. The beach is tidal & looks beautiful when the tide is but the water is very shallow & very warm, the hotel has kayaks which you can use free of charge.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi, this was very annoying as it would always cut out & you have to continuously log back in to it.

The only downside to this hotel is that there is nothing around it & you have to get a taxi to take you everywhere, there are a couple of taxi stands outside the hotel plus a little mini mart. We didn't eat at the hotel as the prices seemed very high, we would get a taxi to Cape Panwa each night & eat at the Thai restaurants there, one tip is to ask the taxi to wait for you as its 200 baht one way & 300 return & they don't mind waiting for you, it takes about 5 mins to get there.

We organised a taxi to take us round for half a day, we went to old Phuket town, premium shopping outlet & we also went to Tesco lotus, I recommend you catching a taxi here if you want to stock up of beers & crisps etc. as it's much cheaper than the mini mart.

We went to the Than spa for a massage, it was a lovely experience, the staff were so warm & friendly & it was a beautiful relaxing environment.

We got a taxi from outside the hotel to take us back to the airport, they charge 900 baht, and we just arranged it the day before.

All in all we had a great holiday despite the rain on the last couple of day, would we go here again, most probably not but I do think that it will be a great place to visit in the next couple of years as it gets more established.

Room Tip: 5th floor Andaman Terrace view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULLADULLA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July, Although the Setting and design of Resort were very nice, it sadly was very lacking in consistency of service , Very hard to get room cleaned without ringing up two or three times. Room was not cleaned properly at all likewise the corridor areas outside of rooms look like they had never been cleaned since the place was built, we were staying in a Loft Pool Suite where the motorised curtains had a mind of their own and would open and close all through the night. When you rang up to report about it and about cleaning of room the staff were pleasant but did not have any idea of what to do.
The food and service was good in the Italian Patio Resturant but in the Mosiac Resturant thiings were not cooked properly and staff were not properly trained in service skills. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair with eggs not being cooked properly, stale cerals on display, dreadful unripe fruit, and lack of things being topped up when they ran out . No information at all in the room about any of the Resort facities and what activities or entainment if any were happening. Would not reccomend this Hotel to anybody

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear KencUlladulla,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the breakfast and housekeeping caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these with the proper departments to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

It's a brand new resort just opened this may. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Excellent lobby with welcome drink of ice lemon grass juice which chilled you out from the hot weather. We had the ocean view room for first two nights. Room is spacious with super view of pool and beach. Then we paid extra to upgrade to semi private pool villa for last 2 nights that we could just swim out from our terrace. The long corridor pool along 14 villas is excellent for real swimming. Plus no one swam here but only two of us !!
Location is pretty isolated. Good point is its tranquility plus not too touristic but if you want night life, this may not be a good choice. Car rental would fulfill all our needs.
Thann massage in hotel was perfect. Both restaurants mosaic and patio serve excellent Italian and Thai food. Good service. Even it's abit pricy plus small portioning, but still think it justifies for the food quality, service and view of these two restaurants. All the bread and rolls served were excellent and free too!!
Minor defects were shower tap handle fell apart, water temperature not too stable, sudden cold and hot, plus shower head did not stand properly and you had to hold it to shower. But technician came and fixed problems quickly.
Will we go back to this hotel?? Yes with a prebooked car too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza and for a treat we booked the Royal suite.Upon arrival at the hotel the entrance is amazing with views of the bay over the infinity pool.Check in was quick and we were taken to our room. Well I say room when the staff member opened the door I could not believe my eyes. The lounge was massive and with a kitchen, study area 2 massive bedrooms, my sons had a large en-suite but the master en suite was absolutely massive with jacuzzi hot tub,his and her sinks plus large shower and WC (glass cubical?) and dressing room. The first balcony off the master suite was large with table and chairs over looking the pool, the balcony off the lounge and second bedroom also had tables and chairs plus your own private jacuzzi pool with disco lights. The pool was approx 30 foot long and deep enough to swim. Like previous reviews the area is quiet and relaxing but the hotel and its staff do everything to make your stay memorable.We had an evening in Patong and were glad to get back to the peace and quiet. We will never forget our stay and are already talking about going back.

Room Tip: Indulge yourself and book the Royal Suite certainly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have just arrived back to Dubai after a wonderful holiday at Crowne Plaza Panwa. If it is dancing on tables, flashing lights and loud music you want then this isnt the place for you but should you want to unwind share quality time with your family and sit sipping a stunning cocktail on a stunning beach with your own thoughts with no-one trying to sell you anything or suggest a game of Pool volleyball then this is the place for you.

This hotel is stunning. The decor is stunning, the views are stunning, the friendliness is stunning. We had a double story loft suite which was extremely impressive as you can site in bed, at the the desk or your jacuzzi and watch out to see or the neighbouring islands. Downstairs you have a second loo, a kitchenette and dining table and a large lounge area leading to a patio which drops directly into a semi-private pool. The proportions where huge and very spacious

The hotel has three pools, one is attached to the loft suites as mentioned but it offers a long length for those that might want to do more serious swimming. There is a kids pool with fountains , bubbles and huge water spouts which provide endless fun for our daughter. The third was the infinity pool which had sunbeds actually stood in the water so to cool off all you had to do was hang your leg or hand over the side ot the lounger.

Having just read some of the more critical comments left on advisor, though I don't agree with most, I would agree that the newness of the hotel is clear and in some areas, mainly breakfast, there is a bedding in process going on with staff training. It is important to say that the staff are helpful, friendly and very keen and I think you could ask for anything and they would sort it for you.

Some examples

My husband and I, exhausted and worn out from work, arrived at Phuket airport at 9pm and forgot to collect one of three pieces of luggage. We only realised once we got to the hotel at 10.30pm that it was missing. I feared that one of us where going to have to make the journey back to the airport but no. The hotel came to our room took the little baggage slip told us to sleep and they would call us in the morning once they had spoken to the airline. At 9am, I woke up and called the front desk to find out what had happened. They had not only located the bag, they had gone to the airport and collected through the night, it was delivered to our room 5mins later and all that at no cost. Amazing!

The management are extremely proactive and always made themselves available around the hotel and looked for your opinions. Over the ten days, I made five suggestions to my preferences and all of them were action immedately. I found this very impressive.

The newness of the hotel is evident with the small business's that have not yet opened to service the hotel. Having said that there are wonderful little gems in the area which we only found at the later part of the holiday. As the managers and they will be happy to share there insider knowledge.

If you do needed a break from little paradise, it is only a 20 mins drive to Phuket town but I would head to kata beach or Karon beach unless you want to really party party then Patong beach is like the San Antonio to phukets Ibiza and these are only 30mins away.

Finally, I want to answer the comments about the beach which is tidal so it does dry out for small parts of the day. I don't think it effects the veiw at all but it created great fun for my daughter when she went catching crabs.

The kids club was great fun too and though we prefer to have our daughter with us most the time, it became clear she was having loads more fun at kids club with or without us. They do some lovely activities and she now have a wonderful creative collection of things she made on holiday

I would like to thank Ian, Kate, Richard, King, Sherry and all the staff at Crown Plaza Panwa a huge thank you as we return to work and school wonderfully refreshed and rested .







Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil setting of the stunning Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort. Located just 10 minutes from charming Phuket Town, our brand new 5 star resort is set in the secluded Makham Bay, with its own private beach and spectacular views of the Andaman sea.Explore our unique heritage where Sino-Portuguese design meets modern comforts. Revel in our array of stunning guest rooms complemented by thoughtful touches and premier bedding. Our suites are spacious and opulent, all with bay views and most with direct access to a semi private pool. With 2 swimming pools, a fitness centre, kids club, Thann spa, tour desk and a Recreation Manager, filling up a day with activities is little issue. The hotel is catered with a pool bar, an all day dining restaurant, Mosaic, a cafe, lobby lounge and an Italian beachfront restaurant, Patio. Naturally room service is available for 24 hours. Wi-fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.