We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort but lacking in some areas.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 stars 305 Reviews
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely resort but lacking in some areas.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely resort hotel but lacks in areas.

My wife and I have just returned from 6 days in Phuket, 6 days of which we spent in a beachfront hotel at the Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort.

Having been regular travellers to South East Asia, we had done a fair amount of research as to where to stay, somewhere peaceful and quiet, away from the crowds.

Arrival:

We had arranged for a private transfer from the Airport and was greeted by a friendly driver (holding up one of those signs at the airport after the baggage claim). Everything was pretty easy and coordinated, so had an easy 40 minute drive to the resort. On arrival, check in was a tad slow but fairly easy, the usual cold drink was offered and quite refreshing.

The lobby is impressive - with huge ceilings, and a view that expands out to the main swimming pool and the ocean beyond. The atmosphere was very relaxed, summery, and modern. (New resort)

The Rooms

Great - very spacious, and the view looks out towards the main pool and the ocean. The big double sliding doors can open up so you can sit on the enclosed balcony. The two queen beds were enormous and oh so comfortable, the bathroom was equally as impressive with a huge shower. All the amenities were there as you would expect.

The Pools

Everything about this resort is water! There is an enormous main pool and a just as big secondary pool with various sections. Surrounding the pool are the obligatory palm trees and the deck chairs. Further down near the beach side restaurant is the infinity pool and the resorts own private beach and sunbaking area / deck chairs etc. Best of both worlds really with the ocean beyond and the all important cocktail service!

Food & Drink

The dining options are great at the Crowne Plaza because you have a choice of Italian, Thai or other traditional western style food . The main restaurant serves the buffet breakfasts in the morning, this however is where the hotel lacks in service, make sure you are seated either early in the morning or attend after 9.30am as the place is struggling to cope, not enough staff were on hand to cater for the rush. The Egg Station where they make you anything you want was particularly lacking, one morning they had only one young lady cooking who clearly lacked any real experience, not totally her fault but she could do with some extra tuition in the art of cooking eggs. Also, if you like bacon with your eggs, you have to ask for it as it always seemed to be hidden away under the cook top for some reason.

The menu items for lunch / dinner etc contained a mix of Western and Thai food.


Being a little far from all the normal goings on in Phuket, there is nothing in the way of bars or restaurants around the Resort, we did however find a gem of a restaurant approx 10 minutes away at the tip of Cape Panwa, the Laem Panwa Restaurant, choose your own fresh fish and prawns as you walk in, so cheap to dine here, $60 - $70 for 4 with drinks. Get a cab from the stand outside.

Fitness & Activities

The gym is great and managed to get some exercise in, also has Kayaks for a paddle around the bay. Definitely recommend.

Conclusion

Great new resort that is perfect for lazing about by the pool or beach, I'd go back here again but please fix up the breakfast shemozle.Less crowds, better value, and the rooms are great.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor near the secondary pool was great, step from your room to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagudju, Director of Sales at Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Copperiw,

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your trip to Phuket overall. I'm glad to hear you loved the aspect, design and outlay of our resort.

I've shared your comments in relation to your breakfast experience with our staff and fellow management. I understand this has been mentioned a few times by our valued guests either direct to us or via other forums.

In response, we're undergoing a deep round of "sequence of service" training for all our front line staff in the next few weeks. We're giving it our top priority. It is very important we give our staff the tools and knowledge to convert their obvious enthusiasm into amazing service. I have every confidence they can.

On your return I'd recommend a few more bars in the area. Ao Yon beach, just 3 km's south from us, has a few good bars on the beach and Phuket Town arguably has the best restaurants in Phuket. I personally recommend Suay, Raya and Dibuk restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback, and I hope to see you on your next sojourn to South East Asia,

Best wishes
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    75
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
122
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Checked-in, at the beginning of August, with the family for a two week holiday to chill-out and relax. Booked the Crowne Plaza Panwa Beach Resort, as a 'Platinum' Priority Club member, expecting the usual high standard of service. Unfortunately the hotel have some work to do to achieve the same level of service found, and experienced, in the Crowne Plaza hotels worldwide. However, the hotel is new and still undertaking early start-up issues which I believe will be resolved in due course.

The resort location is quite beautiful with a private beach and two pool areas perfect for the kids, two lovely restaurants with good quality food which the kids are eating, so thankful of that. Kids club is excellent and offers a good program of activities for the kids to enjoy some time out of the sun. The beach area is clean and offers the worried parent some rest bite as the water is shallow for at least 500 yards with little waves, great for paddling. Low tide offers a chance to hunt for crabs in the sandy flats and rock pools, kids loved it. Tour excursions on offer at the resort centre or at a small tour operator along the beach, www.phuketmbtour.com (Mrs Sunny), which we found to be very helpful and met all our needs. Whilst the resort is slightly out of the way, a short taxi ride gets you anywhere you need to go. A couple of restaurants nearby offers a change of scenery with the food being of very good quality. The resounding positive for the resort is that the staff have been just excellent and will do everything to help, very friendly and accommodating. Any immediate shortcomings were addressed directly with the staff and corrected poste haste.

Overall the resort and holiday has been wonderful and ticked all the boxes for what we, as a family, we're looking for. Some chill-out time for a busy dad, sun worshiping for mum and lots of pool splashing and play for the kids, quality time as a family, just perfect.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I have just arrived at the crowne plaza Phuket and already I want to leave. On the website I booked a room with two queen size beds the room I was given was a twin room. I complained and they told me that it was a bedroom with 2 queen beds. They offered to move me to a king with an extra bed and they would not charge me extra. Wow so kind. The room was full of mosquitos perfect for a young family. We are 2 adults and 2 children. We thought it would be perfect. It isn't and to me the website completely misrepresents the real picture. Of course I have paid in advance so I have to stay in this hell hole. I thought we would eat at the restaurant we ordered our food and we were waiting for our main course very patiently when after 20 minutes the same waitress asked if we wanted our dessert yet. Can we have our main course first. When it came it was wrong. With 2 kids we then asked for some ice cream for the kids. 20 minutes later we had to ask again. I could not describe how awful the hotel is. I feel they have conned us with the promise of one thing when if I had known the reality of the rooms i would have booked elsewhere. Only a week to go.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Environment is beautiful. We stayed for 5 nights. Rooms were spacious, comfy beds. Enjoyed the sunrise every morning from our balcony. My kids (2yo and 5 yo) loved the beach ... both when it is high tide and low tide. Calm waters when its high tide. You can loan kayaks and lifejackets from the station to paddle around the bay (FOC). Low tide - their playground (looking for assortment of crabs and creatures) relatively safe for kids to walk around without shoes (no sharp rocks or corals). Overall place is clean. My kids were walking around without their shoes. Breakfast buffet has good selection of international dishes (I personally love the juice bar and the egg station, my husband - the coffee). Staff can be better trained to provide plastic cutlery to young kids without having to ask. ordered room service once, food came promptly. Houskeeping was generous with toiletries and towels. Better if hotel provided printed hotel guide instead of listing stuff on the TV (if you dont turn it on.. you dont know what's going on). Managed to find rooms service menu and nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Intimate pool, large rooms for reasonable price.

Impressive bathrooms, equipped with large bath and top end shower.

Our view overlooked the pool from our grand balcony with more than enough room for 4 people.

Parking pace, helpful staff.

Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

New hotel open since May 2012, away from the busier parts of Phuket but in a beautiful bay and with great views over the sea.
However the rooms are not cleaned to a high standard, we found a used condom in our waste bin! and the staff in all both restaurants have no idea of service and seem totally in managed and portly trained. Maybe in time it will be better but as there is so much other choice available they need to fix it quickly

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We (Family of 4) spent the last week of Jul in & around Krabi and Phuket and stayed in 4 different hotels. The only bad experience was with Crowne Plaza. We had planned to stay there for 2 nights but when we arrived the tide was out and it was mushy sandy beach side with absolutely no waves and it was more like a placid lake than an ocean bay.
We stayed in the Panwa rooms which are almost to the end of the wing (its a long corridor with more than 60 rooms). We had booked two rooms and they couldn't put us next to each other, even though the hotel was 95% empty.
The breakfast was the best we tasted during our stay.

We checked out after a day as they insisted on charging for a night whether we stayed there or not.

The location is also terrible and one needs to drive through lot of traffic to hit other spots on the island (We had rented a car. Its an absolute must if you plan to move around).

Cant think of a one good reason as to why one would stay there when there are so many better choices.

Room Tip: Avoid Panwa rooms. The beach front seems to be okay but remember that there is no beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear themonk,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding the breakfast.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology about the adjoining room not being accommodated. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil setting of the stunning Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort. Located just 10 minutes from charming Phuket Town, our brand new 5 star resort is set in the secluded Makham Bay, with its own private beach and spectacular views of the Andaman sea.Explore our unique heritage where Sino-Portuguese design meets modern comforts. Revel in our array of stunning guest rooms complemented by thoughtful touches and premier bedding. Our suites are spacious and opulent, all with bay views and most with direct access to a semi private pool. With 2 swimming pools, a fitness centre, kids club, Thann spa, tour desk and a Recreation Manager, filling up a day with activities is little issue. The hotel is catered with a pool bar, an all day dining restaurant, Mosaic, a cafe, lobby lounge and an Italian beachfront restaurant, Patio. Naturally room service is available for 24 hours. Wi-fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.