We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Cape Panwa
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Environment is beautiful. We stayed for 5 nights. Rooms were spacious, comfy beds. Enjoyed the sunrise every morning from our balcony. My kids (2yo and 5 yo) loved the beach ... both when it is high tide and low tide. Calm waters when its high tide. You can loan kayaks and lifejackets from the station to paddle around the bay (FOC). Low tide - their playground (looking for assortment of crabs and creatures) relatively safe for kids to walk around without shoes (no sharp rocks or corals). Overall place is clean. My kids were walking around without their shoes. Breakfast buffet has good selection of international dishes (I personally love the juice bar and the egg station, my husband - the coffee). Staff can be better trained to provide plastic cutlery to young kids without having to ask. ordered room service once, food came promptly. Houskeeping was generous with toiletries and towels. Better if hotel provided printed hotel guide instead of listing stuff on the TV (if you dont turn it on.. you dont know what's going on). Managed to find rooms service menu and nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    60
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
87
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Intimate pool, large rooms for reasonable price.

Impressive bathrooms, equipped with large bath and top end shower.

Our view overlooked the pool from our grand balcony with more than enough room for 4 people.

Parking pace, helpful staff.

Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

New hotel open since May 2012, away from the busier parts of Phuket but in a beautiful bay and with great views over the sea.
However the rooms are not cleaned to a high standard, we found a used condom in our waste bin! and the staff in all both restaurants have no idea of service and seem totally in managed and portly trained. Maybe in time it will be better but as there is so much other choice available they need to fix it quickly

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We (Family of 4) spent the last week of Jul in & around Krabi and Phuket and stayed in 4 different hotels. The only bad experience was with Crowne Plaza. We had planned to stay there for 2 nights but when we arrived the tide was out and it was mushy sandy beach side with absolutely no waves and it was more like a placid lake than an ocean bay.
We stayed in the Panwa rooms which are almost to the end of the wing (its a long corridor with more than 60 rooms). We had booked two rooms and they couldn't put us next to each other, even though the hotel was 95% empty.
The breakfast was the best we tasted during our stay.

We checked out after a day as they insisted on charging for a night whether we stayed there or not.

The location is also terrible and one needs to drive through lot of traffic to hit other spots on the island (We had rented a car. Its an absolute must if you plan to move around).

Cant think of a one good reason as to why one would stay there when there are so many better choices.

Room Tip: Avoid Panwa rooms. The beach front seems to be okay but remember that there is no beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear themonk,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding the breakfast.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology about the adjoining room not being accommodated. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel needs some work in the restaurant service and food quality/portions. Dinner at the Mossaic Restaurant - Overpriced yet miniscule portions AND 35 minute wait plus had to hunt down the waiter just to get a menu. A next-table lady guest likewise had the same complaint. We're willing to give the hotel another chance else we're moving. Today is our second day (8/6/12) and we're hoping for better results.

Plusses - 1. great scenic room
2. friendly staff

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as we wanted to try to something different being further away from the heavy tourist traffic and trying out a new beach. This hotel is a mixed bag with lots of positives but also lots of area for improvements.

The positives:
Hotel is very new, nicely designed and great layout of the resort. 2 nice main pools with lots of green space in between them.
The rooms are spacious, well furnished and bathrooms are well laid out.
We booked two connecting rooms with sea view and the view is fantastic.
Breakfast offering is good, a few things could be added to the menu but generally okay.

The areas for improvements:
The service levels are not up to par to the number of guests in the hotel.
Staff is overwhelmed with the number of guests during breakfast. It needs also better management to handle the flow of guests and preparation of tables.
Better get to Breakfast before 0800 to get clean and set tables when sitting down.
Housekeeping needs to be trained better and perhaps controlled by management to ensure that rooms are cleaned properly. (we had bird poop for the entire 5 days on our balcony and it was not cleaned).
The corridors that lead to the rooms were not cleaned at all so over the 5 days you could see all dirt and spill collecting. Not something to be expected of Crowne Plaza Group.
No minibar. There is a fridge but its empty and there are 2 small complimentary water bottles provided daily with room service.

General comments:
The location is far out from any other attraction, town or activities. Best to rent a car and be mobile to get around. That's what we do anyway when we come to Phuket.
The Resort seems to go into a strong marketing offensive with China Tour Groups. There were about 90% Tour Group guests during our stay, so lots of traffic in the morning during breakfast, in the pool early morning and pool after sunset.

Bottom line.
The resort has potential to be great when the service level is improved. Understand that this resort is new and new staff to be trained but its now up to management to take the guests feedback and improve.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our 1st review, Jul 27-30 2012 Room 2314 Sea View King

About us: First time in Thailand and first beach resort holiday. Last vacation before our first child arrives later this year. World travelers, around 30 years old, two dogs and married for 366 days. Without further ado....

Greeted fabulously. The lemon grass drink on arrival was a big hit and we went back for another glass every night. Shown to our room quickly and met with a surprise bed and bath full of rose petals (travel agent had informed of our 1 year anniversary it seems). View was splendid and completely of beach as oppose to beach and lobby.

Room: had just two bottled waters on arrival; corrected on the spot but then each day we only received two more. I was expecting 6 biased on reviews and for the benefit of my beautiful (pregnant wife) I took to taking 4 more off the cart as I walked by; problem solved. Bedding was great; slept wonderfully! Best thing about a new resort, goes without saying really but everything was crisp and new. Some green touches for the environment (and energy bill I'm sure). I saw reviews saying the rooms were small; they seemed fine to me and we enjoyed our time hanging out in the room. REALLY wanted to try out one of the loft rooms but ultimately there was no need to splurge and we spent that money instead on a John Gray tour (great!)

Shower had great pressure but cycled from hot to cold for no apparent reason. The biggest downside of our stay because we also managed to get sunburns and a constant temp would have been nice!

Breakfast. Pro: Served a range of food to meet international taste. Fresh juice, fresh fruit, good pastries, friendly staff, hot breakfast and Frozen Yogurt. Con: They never could get my eggs right. I might be an egg snob but I expect to be able to say "eggs over medium" and get hard white/runny yoked fried eggs.

Lunchs/Dinners: Enjoyed it and had the Chefs Recommendation on the last night. No complaints at all. We don't drink mixed drinks these days so no reviews there.

Pools were nice and never crowded. Gym was very nice. Upstairs lobby was wonderful. Beach was a bit rocky and often far from the water due to tide but private, large and if you wake early.... had a magnificent view of the sunset. Also fun to explore the crab life when the sea was out, just bring water shoes or strapped sandals.

Staff was all very helpful and gave my wife a magnificent bouquet of roses made from banana leaves on our last night there during our anniversary dinner. I didn't catch her name but she did a great job making these and we brought them home to India to enjoy them longer. We got many great reactions at the airport holding them. They were always quick to get us answers to our questions; even if a bit was lost in translation.

Spa: Never visited so no review.

Area: The hotel is far from the crowds. When I asked about an ATM I was told 5km away. Rent a car if you plan to go out and about often. Or even just for a day.

Would I visit again? Yes, but we will likely try a different resort next year to gain perspective.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil setting of the stunning Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort. Located just 10 minutes from charming Phuket Town, our brand new 5 star resort is set in the secluded Makham Bay, with its own private beach and spectacular views of the Andaman sea.Explore our unique heritage where Sino-Portuguese design meets modern comforts. Revel in our array of stunning guest rooms complemented by thoughtful touches and premier bedding. Our suites are spacious and opulent, all with bay views and most with direct access to a semi private pool. With 2 swimming pools, a fitness centre, kids club, Thann spa, tour desk and a Recreation Manager, filling up a day with activities is little issue. The hotel is catered with a pool bar, an all day dining restaurant, Mosaic, a cafe, lobby lounge and an Italian beachfront restaurant, Patio. Naturally room service is available for 24 hours. Wi-fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.