We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee

Sawasdee
31/4 Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://phuketwan.com/entertainment/sawasdee-cape-panwa-foreshore/
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great Thai food. Make sure you try. However very popular between 7.30 and 9.00pm. Thai red city superb as are the sizzling dishes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    184
    47
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the time and space in your stomach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very mediocre food. Open till late, so an okay choice if no other option. But I wouldn't return. Pineapple fried rice was tasteless and soggy. Pad thai was below avg. stir fry dishes tasted more like Chinese food than thai. Very greasy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, great service and pretty good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had fresh coconuts to drink, a bit of pad thai and fish cakes and they were all great. It's right next to a convenience store and atm and there's a great view to boot.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Convienent if staying in cape panda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were staying at the regent in cape panwa and we too tired to head to phuket town for dinner so walked around the corner sawasdee . The clientele were mainly foreigners so my bar was set low for the authenticity of the food but the restaurant had great ambiance , the restaurant looks over the cape so had a nice cooling breeze blow through it. We ordered the red curry which was good , the morning glory veggie - really good , the Thai omelette - greasy but good and the pad Thai - average (but my girlfriend enjoyed it) .

Overall I would reccomand this place to people staying in the neighborhood but don't go out of your way to eat here as the food is nothing special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As the title suggests, an unassuming local restaurant with great food and cold beer..... couldn't ask for more!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawasdee also viewed

 
Cape Panwa, Phuket
Cape Panwa, Phuket
 

Been to Sawasdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.