We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee

Sawasdee
31/4 Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: http://phuketwan.com/entertainment/sawasdee-cape-panwa-foreshore/
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent value and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We ate here on 2-3 lunch times and 2 evenings. Nan served us on most occasions and recognised us when out around the area too. Very friendly staff and very good food especially the Prawn hot pan special for 150baht! Thank you all

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    156
    39
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Back on Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A couple of years ago the chef moved from Sawasdee, and the food went downhill.
Glad to say its back up to supurb quality and is great value for money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Nondescript & touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Cape Panwa has a die-hard faithful of tourists, fiercely loyal to the area (and its drab eating options.) Sawasdee enjoys a captive audience, benefitting from a lack of decent competition.

Urged by Panwa fans to "give it a try, you'll love it" we cast our scepticism to the wind and took the plunge.
'Sawasdee' is that most ubiquitous of humdrum Thai restaurant names (a Siamese 'Dunroamin' ) So, you do expect that the menu will be conceived in the same thought-free way.
And, a 'painting by numbers' menu is exactly what you get; all the usual suspects, with no surprises.

The place was claustrophobically full; inhabited, mostly, by sunburnt farangs.
It seemed we arrived at the right time, because suddenly there was an orbit of people, queueing to eat.
You then have to sit there with the spectre of bystanders peering in, like visitors to a zoo (Diners, nursing coffees for too long, are viewed with hungry suspicion.)

Turnover was fast and the service was rapid. The meal was typical and generic, but certainly better than we'd envisaged.
Papaya salad is a good indicator of a Thai restaurant's credentials; theirs was tasty and packed a sufficient punch.
Unfortunately, my visit to the washroom (also a good indicator of a restaurant's credentials) revealed NO plumbed water to the w.c or hand basin ! (yes, you did read that right)
This discovery was about as welcome as flatulence in an elevator.
One of the Waiters then provided me with a KFC-style wet wipe, as if that made everything ok !

So, if you like decent, but formulaic Thai food, it could be right up your soi.
Me ? I would urge you to dine at the exquisite Sri Panwa instead (see my review)

Despite my depeciation of Sawasdee, it was sardine-packed full of eager, happy diners, so what do I know ?

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best thai food ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Amazing........ clean.......... friendly.......and excellent.......................best ever......…………

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibbertoft
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great mango & sticky rice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely green curries,my love of mango and sticky rice is fully catered for.Pad Thai is delicious as are prawn tempura. Staff are lovely too

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawasdee also viewed

 

Been to Sawasdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.