We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant

Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant
Panwa Hotel, Cape Panwa, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 16 restaurants in Cape Panwa
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After eating Thai food for 7 days straight we fancied a change. We gave Uncle Nans a go and was pleasantly surprised. We weren't expecting the food to be as good as Italy itself but was of a good standard. When we arrived it was empty which was worrying, the staff were excellent and the food was excellent, we ordered the pizzas and they were beautiful.

The choice of wine was also excellent, we visited here only twice whilst in Thailand but wish we visited more. I would highly recommend the pizzas, if you fancy a change from Thai food this is a good alternative and don't be put off by how quiet it is.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    13
    29
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not so Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A very disappointing meal at Uncle Nan's. We have eaten there a few times before and the food had been good, but this time not so good.

A friend ordered Calzone which was grossly under cooked and tasteless. All our meals were sub standard. We did complain to the waitress who must have told the Manager. At breakfast the following morning he approached me and asked about the meal and I told him it was awful and not up to the Hotel standard he said sorry and walked away. I think a gesture of a complimentary drink or replacement dinner could have been offer.
So in view of what happened to us I would not recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, little on the higher side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Vey tasty Italian food, Menu little on the higher side, me and my wife had dinner there once which was very delicious, there were limited options in Pizza's.

Though a must visit to everyone visiting cape panwa

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food until...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

service was excellent, value seemed excellent food was excellent until my partner found a hair in her food which the staff found belonged to the chef (blonde)... put off food and had too leave... very upset as mrs vomited several times after this experience. food and drinks bill was waived.....

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool spot, mildly friendly staff, good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We had been in Thailand a week and needed a break from thai food. Good pizza, staff were pretty indifferent but ok. Great location on the cape.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.