We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would travel around the world to go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44/5 Moo 8,Sakdidesh Road | Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“I would travel around the world to go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The best thing I could say about this hotel is that I would travel from Chicago to return there. This hotel is modest from first appearances from the road but trust me,you will not be disappointed.

What may cloud my review is that we are Club Carlson Concierge level and we upgraded to a pool villa for our stay. I was completely impressed with the CC online booking and upgrade possibility. We belong to many hotel chain loyalty clubs and never have i been able to secure an upgraded room so easily.

The villa was exquisite - enormous and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was stunning. The bed was comfortable as were all seating options in the room. We had a standard pool villa (not sea front) which I actually preferred for its privacy level. The villa's pool was large and warm. Housekeeping was invisible and the room was always clean. Having arrived before standard check in time, we waited about 20 minutes for our room.

The main pool and beach had ample seating - chairs, beds, etc. The pools were interesting and multi leveled. The beach was small - much smaller than in Mai Kao or Khao Lak. The tidal effect was pretty small and the tide never went fully out but was fun to watch and walk out at low tide. The boats that others have mentioned were not an issue - who doesn't like to see boats?

We never ate lunch or dinner there but breakfast was great and was served from 6-10:30am.

There are plenty of nearby restaurants to walk to. I recommend Curry Night across the street. The taxi stand across the street was pleasant to work with and we hired a driver twice from there.

Room Tip: being in a pool villa was incredible. i highly recommend it. the non-sea view villas are slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    355
    116
    34
    10
See reviews for
220
594
44
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

we had two rooms booked and the hotel couldnt get two rooms close together so they made the decision to upgrade us. good move. we extended our stay as a result. my wife commented that she had not recalled a more friendly hotel staff in all our hotel visits in recent years.

Room Tip: the drive from the airport to this hotel is the only knock out factor. traffic in centrav phuket is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The attention is very good and the staff is always willing to help. Unfortunately it is located very close to the port, so the fantastic idea of the Thailand beach view is ruined by the boats crossing in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I have had 2 nights at the Radisson in a pool villa and the room is stunning! Admittedly the hotel seems to be a bit relaxed on general maintenance but all in all very clean and well appointed and who can't be happy with a private pool! The restaurant is very good but is about as expensive as I have ever had in Thailand so we tended to go to local restaurants. If you are after a quite getaway away from the crowds I would defiantly give it a go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had booked a sea view room and the view from the room was amazing!! The balcony was great with nice sitting arrangement.
Room interiors are very well designed for a luxurious stay.
Fortunately we were there on a full moon night so they had a beach party with barbeque , bon fire and sky lamps.
The swimming pool is nice with bar in it. Enjoyed sunset with some drinks in the pool.

Radisson is 30 min ride from Karon beach.
Phuket aquarium is at 10 mins walking distance from the hotel ( open till 4pm) and khao khad view point is a must visit which is 10 mins on a bike which can be hired outside the hotel. It is open till 6pm .
7-11 shop is just outside the hotel.

Overall a great place for peaceful and luxurious stay.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room in front of the bar area of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The positives - the facilities are great. The the room itself was large and well appointed. The bed was very large. The balcony overlooked the landside pool and the ocean in the distance. Both pools and beach access were conveniently located and lovely. The food was pretty good - albeit expensive. Breakfast was ample and quite delicious. The staff was attentive.

The negatives - a warming sign should be put on the water slide that it should not be used by adults!!! I tried the slide without knowing that the pool was extremely shallow, and hurt myself in the process. During our 3 days there, there was no hot water for half a day and no electricity for another half day. Our check-in took 2 hours - we were told the room had to be cleaned. Snorkles could not be rented - but had to be bought.

Overall - it was a relaxing experience - the staff tried its best to be helpful, but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Radisson Blu for a week over Easter with our two kids (3 and 4). We had inter-connecting basic rooms on the ground floor in block 1. We holiday regularly with our kids throughout Asia so we were very specific in our requirements for the hotel. We wanted a good kids club and pool, a beach and good food as well as clean and well-cared for facilities. We didn't want crowds or to have to fight for space around the pool. Radisson has scored top marks for each.

It's a very nice hotel with beautiful grounds and facilities. It is well cared for and has a lazy sort of charm. There is nothing uptight or 'in your face' about the resort or the staff. It's chilled and relaxed. The laid back feeling seems to affect the guests too as there is no unseemly pre-dawn fight for sunbeds and its always easy to get a place by the pool or on the beach. The staff are very nice and were lovely with our kids. As other reviewers have noted, their English isn't always great but there is always someone to hand who speaks it well. There's a great pool bar with happy hour from 5pm and a nice atmosphere with good music playing.

The food quality is excellent. We ate in the hotel most of the time and the food was brilliant. It is a bit expensive but portions were big. The buffet breakfast was great with lots of Asian and Western dishes. The staff in the restaurant are nice but a little slow - no different from other Phuket resorts.

The kids club and facilities are very nice. They are near the upper pool at Block 3 (ground floor rooms there have direct access to a beautiful large pool - if we return we would request those rooms). The club is big and has an attached kids pool with sail cover, slide and sandpit. The lovely lady in there does all sorts of great arts and crafts. We left with a suitcase full of shell picture frames, mobiles and paintings. There are computers for older kids as well as indoor slide and climbing frame and toys for little ones. It's like a nice kindergarten. Our kids spent each morning there and loved it.

Right across the road are some Thai restaurants, a good Indian curry place, good massage places, a convenience store, cashpoints and a lovely coffee/ice cream shop.

The location on the beach is lovely. Cape Panwa is calm and pretty. The sun shines directly on the resort all day. When the tide goes out, you can walk for miles looking for crabs and shells. I have read some negative comments about the appearance when the tide goes out but don't understand them. It isn't ugly - just a different look and very interesting.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone although think it would be too quiet for people who are looking to go out every night.

Room Tip: Block 3 rooms are handy for direct access to pool, gym and kids club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach

Address: 44/5 Moo 8,Sakdidesh Road | Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort features 211 guest accommodations in contemporary Thai décor including spacious Pool Villas, three free form swimming pools, a children’s pool with waterside, a well-being spa, fitness center, complimentary non-motorized water sports, and free wireless access throughout the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach Hotel Cape Panwa
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.