We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday but language issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44/5 Moo 8,Sakdidesh Road | Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday but language issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

There are many pluses to this resort and a couple of negatives. We stayed for two weeks and overall had a great time, after a few problems were sorted.
We arrived at about 9pm on a Sunday night to find our room wasn't ready. The girl on the desk had almost no English so it was a struggle to get our point across. We waited an hour before our room was ready which for a 5 star resort is unacceptable. When we got to our room, it was quite dirty with hand prints on the door, marks on the wall, a warm mini bar and the blinds in the bathroom not working. We contacted reception and said that as we were tired, we would sleep ion the room but wanted it changed the next day. We honestly thought they would just ignore our request but the next day we were not only moved from our ocean view room but we were put in a top floor ocean view apartment. We decided to write off the first night and start again, feeling they had more than redeemed themselves.

The resort itself looked a little tired, for quite a new resort, and in desperate need of maintenance. The bad thing was they decided to do some maintenance while we were there, such as replacing decks, painting etc. You can't have it both ways, expect it to look great but don't want the work to be done while you are there, so we didn't find it too much of a problem. I guess the only real solution would be close for a couple of weeks a year and do all the maintenance then.

The biggest complaint about the resort was the language barrier. We met a lovely American girl called Casey who was terrific but the majority of the staff had poor or no English at all. Being in a non English speaking country it wouldn't normally bother me but this resort is aimed at Westerners so I would have thought more effort would be made to speak English. Apart from that small issue though the staff were superb. Thai people are very friendly and smiling but the staff here always greeted you and smiled and were very helpful.

I have to say the buffet breakfast was fantastic, the best we have had in a hotel for many years. The hot items were hot, such as bacon and sausages, but the variety was awesome and ever changing. We really looked forward to our breakfast every morning.

If you are going to book tours, I would suggest using the Tree Top cafe across the road. The family were lovely and gave us really good prices for tours and taxis, plus he was an Arsenal fan :-) The food there was very good too but also quite cheap.

I would definitely recommend this resort but be aware that it is away from the madness of Patong Beach, a cab there was cheap though and well worth it, wouldn't want to be there all the time though. The service was excellent and I am sure they got sick of us ordering ice to our room everyday. We bought a few drinks by the pool and had lunch in the restaurant at the resort and found them quite reasonable. Things are much cheaper outside the resort but compared to prices in Australia, the resort prices were quite good.

A lot of people on here recommended Live Indian Restaurant which is walking distance from the resort. We found it to be disgusting, not sure who wrote it was good. The food was average and small serves and the place was filthy. Avoid it.

We would use this resort again and for the price, it is great value.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean but try and get nearer the ocean as the traffic noise can be annoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    355
    116
    34
    10
See reviews for
220
594
44
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing week in this hotel. Our room was very nice with a spacious bathroom and a nice balcony. I had been concerned when I read that there were renovations going on in the days just before we went there. Yes, there were people working near to the pool area, but the noise was minimal and did not affect us at all.
We had a couple of lunches in the hotel and the food was fine, but the lovely smiles of the staff almost made it taste better. We were delighted that the hotel had taken on board an email I sent regarding my husbands gluten free diet and he was presented with G/F bread and muffins every day for breakfast....Thanks Diego
The pool is lovely and the beach, while not very exciting is private and relaxing and safe for children. The location is a bit off the beaten track and the walk down to the tip of Cape Panwa can be a bit off putting. However, it is worth the walk for a change of view and of course the Aquarium.
The hotel offers a shuttle into Phuket town(which is not really all that exciting) and Carnival Festival shopping centre (don't usually shop on holiday but this is quite good). This is free, but do ring down to reception to reserve your seat on the bus to be sure you are not left behind. They also offer a night shuttle to Patong beach at a cost. It is a pity they don't offer some kind of day shuttle to some of the west coast beaches as they are well worth a visit and the hotel taxi charged 900 bhat to go to Kata beach one way.
If you want a rest and peace and especially if traveling with children, this hotel is a very good choice on Phuket

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room to have a view of something other than the bungalows if you are stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Rooms are quite comfortable and serviced daily. Our balcony overlooked the pool and had a marvelous view of the beach front. We found all staff to be courteous, friendly and helpful. The Hotel provides a time tabled shuttle bus service into town centre. We sourced a local guide/driver (Joei) through the hotel and spent a very affordable and wonderful 2 days with him. Computers are provided for guests use in foyer. Meals are absolutely wonderful with many choices of Thai cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent resort in quiet Panwa, ideal for couples who want to get away from everything for some quiet and relaxation. Breakfast really good, pools amazing. Only flaws were service from time to time, nothing major. Resort could do with a bit of work and paint done in some places eg railing in pool falling down, loose nails on pool deck beds but again nothing major. Would definitely stay again

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel , the island , the nature , the food , the pepole , the beach .....

All was just great, don't miss this experience and be aware of the taxi drivers. go to fanta sea and drop by patong beach. you will never regret that

Room Tip: upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a gorgeous resort, it is tastefully decorated, stylish and welcoming. It is perfect for families, couples to enjoy the pools, great food and lovely accommodation. The Thai staff are gracious, extremely helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from an eight day stay at this wonderful resort. We knew we would be a nice distance from the hustle and bustle of Phuket and that suited us down to the ground. Can't thank Marko, Wasan and their efficient and welcoming staff enough for making our stay a truly memorable holiday. Everyone showed us that typical friendly Thai hospitality; from the front desk to the pool boys, restaurant staff to upper management and everyone in-between. We are already planning the next visit to Radisson Resort at Panwa. And contrary to the previous comment our party of four found our rooms comfortable, with fabulous views and to see the cruise ship arrive was a real buzz. Treat yourself to a cooking class it was hilarious and we had a real insight in to the delicious Thai food. We also had a fantastic taxi driver and guide Joei, we would highly recommend him; he was just so helpful and accommodating ask for him thru the concierge. Once again many thanks to the Radisson Panwa Resort Team

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach

Address: 44/5 Moo 8,Sakdidesh Road | Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort features 211 guest accommodations in contemporary Thai décor including spacious Pool Villas, three free form swimming pools, a children’s pool with waterside, a well-being spa, fitness center, complimentary non-motorized water sports, and free wireless access throughout the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach Hotel Cape Panwa
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.