We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing , private , paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket to your Saves list
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   32 Moo 5 | Paklok, Thalang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
4.5 of 5 stars 375 Reviews
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing , private , paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am lucky , in that I have been to many great places and hotels, and I've been an avid fan of tripAdvisor (just reading reviews and not participating, till now ) but decided to share the last holiday because of two outstanding hotels I stayed in , the first being the Naka Island.
When thinking about Phuket, the hustle and bustle of it comes to mind, I had stayed 2 nights first right in the middle of the action at patong beach (which has its own charm and is great to experience) and then transferred for the rest of my stay at the Naka Island.
Just five minutes away by private speedboat , takes you to the extreme opposite , serene and beautiful , 5 star comfort (with an outdoorsy feeling in the villas).
Staff are waiting at the jetty to take you to your villa for an in-room check in which was seamless and quick.
The villas are really comfortable, and well equipped, each one ,with a private pool , relaxation area and steam room .
The main pool area is stunning, deck chairs in water, overlooking the infinity pool and the deep blue. Relaxing on one was bliss. A beautiful hammock and swing sway quietly on the other end of the stretch of beach. My inner child did squeal with joy when using that swing looking out unto the peaceful ocean :) Sunset from the Z bar was amazing as well.

Two things were really outstanding for me , Su who gave me one of the best massages I've ever had, at Spa Naka, and the staff, Thai hospitality at its best, always smiling, greeting, checking up that your needs are being met.

Duty manager Lena was amazing , sent a message to my next starwood stop in Malaysia, about my preferences, the staff at the restaurant were really attentive as well.
I never had breakfast (really did relax and slept in ) but had lunch and dinner.
The island is occupied by a muslim fishing village, which is a fifteen minute walk away, so there is no pork served at the restaurant (alcohol is available) , found out too late that the meat was halal certified, so I ate vegetarian throughout my stay, and it was good.

The resort is quiet, my son (4) was slightly bored even though he took part in the kids activity, the kids room could be better equipped with one member of staff being there all the time like other kids clubs we've been to. There is also not much activity for adults on the island but the resort was just the perfect place to just relax and unwind and rejuvenate myself.

Beautiful !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Wanderlust_hals,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket for the relaxation and serenity leg of your Thailand vacation.

The Naka Island Resort is certainly the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life at home and a much quieter and peaceful option than the crowded and busy mainland holiday resort destinations.

We appreciate your compliments regarding your comfortable villa, the wonderful resort infinity swimming pool, sunsets at Z-Bar and your treatments at Spa Naka and your kind words will be passed on to our Naka Ambassadors with special mentions to Khun Su, therapist in our Spa and Khun Lena, our Duty manager.

I thank you once again for staying with us and hope you will visit us again in the future to experience more of the Luxury Collection hospitality that we are famous for.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    95
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
225
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Naka Island Resort, yes this is it, the perfect place to unwind to get away from all the stresses of the busy world outside. A personal guest meeting at the airport, seamless limo' transfer and speedy boat journey to the private jetty proves an excellent start to your visit. The ever smiling friendly staff and staff guest ratio ensure the continuation of your personal welcome and attention throughout your stay. Service at all levels is excellent from housekeeping to bar, to restaurant, to pool services, to spa and to senior management, whose one aim is to make your visit totally enjoyable. Our sea view villa with its own plunge pool, garden, salsa, day beds, inside and outside shower and steam room couldn't have been better for a relaxing stay. Should your desires be more energetic then kayaks, a sailing catamaran and sail boards are all freely available together with the splendid two level infinity pool. Dining is a delight whether it be breakfast at the Tonsai, dinner at My Grill or tapas at the Z bar. In our 10 night stay there was ample variety of Western, Thai and other dishes to satisfy the most demanding palates with sufficient menu changes to avoid repetition. The only down side to our stay was when sadly my wife fell and broke her wrist. The quality of staff and their training was well illustrated by their reaction to this event in their immediate response, effectiveness, efficiency and handling of our problem. The satisfactory outcome being we continued to enjoy our holiday as planned, a huge thank you to all. Should you be seeking the perfect relaxing holiday Naka Island Resort is for you. Would we recommend it ? - yes. Will we go again ? - yes.

Room Tip: A sea view villa with pool is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear EandR2014,

It was wonderful to have you stay with us at The Naka Island Resort recently for 10 nights and so pleasing to know that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We are really pleased to hear that your wife is recovering so quickly and it was really nice to see how she enjoyed her holiday at our resort even after her mishap. Thank you for praising our resort nurse and Ambassadors for the manner in which they took such great care of her and I ask that you please pass on our best wishes to Mrs ‘R’ from all of our Ambassadors.

I appreciate you taking the time to write your glowing 5 Star review of our property on Trip Advisor and for giving other travelers an insight on what they can expect when they stay at our resort. Ten days certainly gives plenty of time to experience all aspects of our property and the level of service that we offer and your kind compliments in relation to all of our departments plus our ever smiling, personal and attentive Ambassadors have been shared with our team and accepted gracefully.

It is a delight to read that you will return to stay with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you at the ‘gong’ for another unforgettable Naka Island experience.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We leave here tomorrow and I will be sad to go! I have loved almost every thing about our stay here. We were greeted warmly by the staff on arrival and every moment thereafter. Our villa is amazing, we choose to leave it only for meals and swimming in the ocean, otherwise it has everything we need. There are lots of seating choices inside and out and our own pool! I love the outdoor shower and bath tub. And then there is the wonderful bedroom surrounded by windows and lots of sun light! The canopied bed is cozy and comfortable. The food in both restaurant was very good and the breakfast buffet was great. My only suggestions for improvement is the sand path from the walkway to the room entrance is not a good idea and if it does have to be there, then there should be foot shower before you enter your villa and the same with all the sand around the restaurant. It is very hard to not have sand stuck in your shoes and on your feet. The other small thing is there needs to be a table between the lounge chairs on the pool deck in our villa. Other than those minor things everything was exceptional!

Room Tip: I loved room #24. This is a garden view villa and was totally private, no one could see on to your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear gingerspicePortland,

I am so pleased to read in your review how much you enjoyed our resort and your amazing Villa.

It is always encouraging to receive high rating reviews and to know where we are reaching and exceeding guest expectations and also the areas that we need to pay extra attention to. I have noted your suggestions in relation to walking on the sand and an additional small table outside the Villa and we will certainly review these comments with our management team.

Thank you again for staying at The Naka Island and we hope you have the chance to visit us again for another memorable Luxury Collection experience again soon.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 5D4N over the CNY holidays--couldn't have made a better choice!
Previously I had some concern on the fact that the resort is an island and hence might get a bit bored after a couple of days, but this was certainly not the case!
Smooth transfer from the airport to the marina, and a quick and enjoyable speedboat transfer to the island in just under 45mins, we were greeted by Erich , the hotel GM, and were transferred to our villa for checkin.

Room
We booked a beachfront pool villa, and this is definitely a must! There are 3 such villas and we were given villa 68--this is the "least" private of the 3 in the sense that the vegetation does not cover the villa from the beach, but we loved it as we can see the sea from our villa, villa pool and enjoy a bit more sunshine in the villa as well. There were some problems with the booking from the resort side but the staff were very apologetic and offered a couple of alternatives that we were very happy with-ended up having villa 69 (a beachfront villa with no pool) next to us in addition to villa 68 for the first 3 nights and having to move to villa 69 for the final night.
The villa is not particularly spacious in the main bedroom, but the changing room, with the outdoor shower, outdoor bath and the pool and sala make the whole villa massive (the pool villa also has a separate air condition dining room next to the pool)
Each of these beach front villas have a "de facto" private beach as these are towards one end of the resort and with very few people passing by, definitely very private.

Food and Dining
Breakfast is at Tonsai, one of the two restaurant, and it was fine (could do with a few more Asian and Western offerings though), and the live noodle cooking station is a highlight for breakfast! We tried lunch and dinner there as well and would say the Thai dishes are generally more well done than the western dishes (the fish and chips was pretty amazing though). The only improvement I would say is the restaurant can be a bit slow at times--seems like they serve on a table by table basis. Otherwise pretty happy with Tonsai
We tried My Grill for the one night, as for SPG members you get 15% off food which is a nice touch, and the seafood was very fresh and we had one of the "sunken table" which was very nice
One highlight of the trip was the CNY dinner--buffet in the open area next to the restaurants. The food was fine, but the shows especially the lion dance was spectacular, and I must say the management team has put in a lot of effort and time ensure the performances were of the highest quality, well done!

Activities
One of the must dos on this island is the kayak trip round the island--you get a certificate upon the completion as well. I recommend doing this with two person, should be able to do it in c. 1.5hrs--the scenery is absolutely beautiful but be mindful of other parts of the island where waves maybe a big stronger and bigger.
The pool is very nice, and service very good from the staff--you can also opt for the sun loungers by the beach (but we preferred the ones by our villa which were more private)
We tried the spa and the massages were excellent--I highly recommend the Indigenous Naka Massage.

Overall
We were extremely happy with our choice--the highlight is of course the staff-- most of the staff knew our name by heart throughout our stay in the resort, and the staff remembered the little touches/special requests that we put in, absolutely amazing! Amazing time at this place and definitely looking to return soon!

Room Tip: Choose Beachfront Pool Villa; Choose 68 for good view of the sea, choose 66/65 for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear zwgc2,

Thanks for staying with us recently at The Naka Island and for taking the time to contribute your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed The Naka Island annual Chinese New Year Celebration and I appreciate that you have shared your experience with other readers in your review. The event is certainly a hi-lite of our year with it’s multitude of food choices served by chefs at live cooking stations plus the spectacular traditional Chinese and indigenous entertainment.

I would like to express my thanks for all your positive comments in relation to our wonderful Ambassadors, Spa Naka treatments, water sports and kayaking, dining at My Grill and Tonsai and of course your beautiful Beachfront Pool Villa.

The Naka Island Team and I look forward to taking care of you once again when you next have the opportunity to visit the Luxury Collection Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a perfect place to relax and get closer to nature. We spent 2 nights at The Naka Island but we thought it wasnt enough bcos it was very nice to be spoiled sometimes :). We used the resort's limousine service to transfer us from airport to hotel which made this journey hassle free and no tired at all. (60$ one way tho.). Ms.Sailom (Korean staff) was waiting for us at the hotel's pier when we arrived and was taking care of us in every possible way throughout our stay. inside Villa check in was at ease. Room was spacious with outdoor bathtub plus private steam and sauna. The pool in the room was very clean unlike some other resorts where the outdoor pool maybe full of sand and leaves. The 2 restaurants of the resorts were excellent. Seafood at My Grills restaurant were very delicious. I just loved every thing we ordered. One thing, The staffs always greeted us in English eventho we're Thai I dont know why but anyway they didnt make any flaw at all. I just think that greeting in Thai will be more indigenous. The main pool was very relaxing. Water sport activities allow you to Kayak around the island (2hours in bare sunlight) which was tired but fun. The evening at Z bar you will see the perfect gorgeous sunset. Everything just perfect about this resort. I would recommend everyone to go for a special celebration and you will definitely love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Samify P,

I would like to thank you for being so generous by paying our resort so many compliments in your 5 Star Trip Advisor review.

It is most pleasing to read that your Naka arrival experience was so smooth starting from your limousine transfer from the airport, through to being checked directly into your villa by our Concierge Ambassador Khun Sairom.

Your kind comments are appreciated in regard to your dining experiences, the resort infinity swimming pool, the gorgeous evening sunsets at Z-Bar and it is also great to hear that you took advantage of our free water sport activities and kayaking around the whole island.

Thanks again for recommending The Naka Island to other travelers and we hope that you are able to return in the future to relax and get close to nature again at the Luxury Collection Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I travelled here for 2 nights in January and we wish we had another night here! It was the perfect place to relax after the nightlife in Koh Phi Phi.
Every staff member smiled and welcomed us whenever we walked by. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are so unique and private - you don't even really need to leave your villa.
We used the complimentary stand up paddles boards and kayaked around the whole island which was quite lovely.
The food here is simply AMAZING! We loved having the fresh coconuts on the breakfast buffet. The sunsets from the Z bar are incredible and a great way to unwind at the end of the day. We felt like royalty staying at this resort. I would highly recommend for a special getaway.
It was great to see how to staff genuinely cared for each guest!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Crystal2209,
Thank you for staying with us recently at The Naka Island and for describing our resort as the perfect place to relax.

Your feedback will definitely be shared with the entire Naka team and our Ambassadors will be so pleased to read that you felt like royalty during your stay with us and for your kind words describing them as genuine, caring and friendly.

Thanks also for mentioning so many of the resort features that you enjoyed in your review including the restaurant food and daily buffet breakfasts, sunsets at Z-Bar, your private villa and also that you made the most of our free water sport activities, including your kayaking adventure around the island and that you tried our stand up paddle boards.

I hope you can stay with us once again at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, when you next have the chance to visit Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Was looking for a short getaway to celebrate my partner's birthday. Not exactly a good time to visit Phuket in the month of October (rained every day that I was there!) but the resort itself and the room was comfortable to just laze around in. Sunset view from the Z bar was as good as described. The tropical villa came with a private plunge pool and you have total privacy (read: skinny dipping!). They helped organise a BBQ in the villa and the food plus the ambience they set up was great. Service is generally good within the resort.

The only complaint that I had was with the tour desk. I had contacted the hotel prior to arrival to enquire about organising a scuba diving trip but the tour desk did not revert. When I arrived a week or more later after I made the enquiry, I had to look for the tour desk who then explained that it would be tedious process because the island is far away from the mainland dive shops. Basically, I had to get sea transport out of island followed by land transport to dive operator before the usual dive boat departure around 7am or 8am (so divers, take note). I am ok with the explanation but felt that he should have replied my email so that I didn't have to cart along my diving gear.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear superdoggy,

Its great to hear that you had such a great getaway at The Naka Island in October and that you were happy with the resort and its many features.

Your compliments of our resort service and Z-Bar sunsets are certainly welcome and it is with delight that I read that you took up the option of arranging a Barbeque for just the two of you in the privacy of your own Tropical Pool Villa to celebrate your partners birthday.

Please accept my apologies for the communication problem with our tour desk regarding your diving trip and I am sorry for any inconvenience it caused you during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity once again in the future to welcome you back to the Naka Island for another memorable Luxury Collection experience.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket

Address: 32 Moo 5 | Paklok, Thalang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Nakha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among stunning beaches, lush coconut groves, with never-ending views of the emerald-green Andaman Sea and idyllic landscapes of the Phuket coastline, The Naka Island is an exclusive boutique resort on Naka Yai Island, located just off the Phuket coast. While just 25 minutes from Phuket International Airport, The Naka Island is accessible only by private speedboat, making it a uniquely private and intimate retreat. The resort offers 67 villas that are magnificently appointed with private plunge pools and tropical gardens, along with an incomparable spa facility, access to countless outdoor recreation opportunities, and uncompromising service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Ko Nakha Yai
The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa Phuket
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.