We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Redhill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Redhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Redhill Hotel
Save
You added Travelodge Redhill Hotel to your Saves list
2 Redstone Hill, Redhill RH1 4BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Redhill
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent price at only £19 a night for 4 of us! We had family room: 110, which was huge. Train station was a minute away and perfect for going into London. We got return ticket and unlimited tube travel for £14 so kept car at the travelodge car park. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Only criticisms are some idiot put the lock on the outside of the bathroom door, so we could lock someone in the bathroom but they couldn't lock it themselves? Not very safety conscious as a child could perhaps do the same to a parent! Also bathroom was absolutely freezing, no heating, tiled floor and unbelievably cold in there. but still highly recommend this hotel as its perfect for London or Gatwick.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    35
    31
    37
See reviews for
29
55
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a no frills hotel & we booked it to allow us to sleep for 8 hours overnight before a very early flight from Gatwick. The other option was to sleep at the airport & I didn't fancy that.

It is about 5 minutes walk from Redhill station, receptionists were friendly & even asked if we wanted help carrying luggage up (as we had kids & luggage). The property is dated & needs fresh coat of paint in stairways etc. The family room however had a double bed, a single bed & a mattress on the floor. It was reasonable & the bathroom was ok.

We didn't hear any trains overnight & the room was warm enough.

The trip next morning to Gatwick took 8 minutes by train, so we were pleased with this option over sleeping at the hotel for the sake of about 30 pounds.

We would use this hotel again for a short overnight stay if travelling to Gatwick on an early flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Being a traveling service engineer cheap hotels are a regular occurrence.
This place was much the same as the rest of the group.
Basic, general cleanliness and facilities. Car park fills quick so get in early if you can. Weatherspoons, is local, a five/ten minute walk away, as is the rest of town

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you have business in Redhill better stay in London and commute every day rather than stay in Travelodge. Old and ill-decoreated and cold (windy?) room, terrible bathroom. And not many in vicinity. Poor experience for Travelodge fan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

if you are looking for a good cheap place to stay before flying from gatwick then this is the place..book in advance and you get it for £19....plus there is a toby carvery which was very good ..also next to the train station so easy acess to the city...even a few pubs near by if you want to go out....will use this place again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had decided to spend one night at what used to be a comfortable Innkeepers Lodge. As a last minute decision we decided we'd extend the stay to two nights - the additional night being a Sunday and very reasonable. We were about an hour early when we arrived and were told very politely that the system wouldn't accept us until three o'clock.. It wasn't a problem as we went for a drink in the bar and returned by the allocated time. The room itself was of an acceptable standard - clean and tidy, if you ignored the chunk of carpet missing near the radiator and the view of the station sidings. These were not a problem - but looking down on the extensive bin area (some of which had the lids open) was certainly not in our top ten . The bed seemed OK to sit on. However when we tried it for a night's sleep (I jest - seriously, sleep was due to fatigue not comfort). It seemed to consist of lumps of rock or pebbles which ensured that by morning we were back in reception to complain. We were politely allowed a move and that room was far more acceptable.At least we got a better night's sleep. In light of one of your competitors' 'good night's sleep' statement, you could really do with investing some money on this establishment. We were also informed that breakfast was available at Toby - not so unless you wanted to wait til Friday. Doubt if we'll return, Travelodge. p.s we can't fault the politeness of your staff.

Room Tip: In short, really - stay away from the bin-view rooms. If you get one - go and object. The railway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is located adjacent to the station with it's own large car park (free at the time although pay and display is threatened!) and it was big enough for my car and trailer and there were other large commercial vehicles on site too.

A friendly welcome - and lots of stairs to my 2nd floor room but the room was very modern, clean and had a large TV (with wake-up alarm) and the remote and a power point next to the bed for a change!

The carvery was excellent value and a wide choice of beers though the pub staff were not so friendly but I would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: I was at the back near the railway but never heard a train at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Redhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Redhill Hotel

Address: 2 Redstone Hill, Redhill RH1 4BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Redhill
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Redhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Travelodge Redhill Hotel Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Redhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.