We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway! Fabulous Location. Improvement Required.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Grenada Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Grenada Beach Resort to your Saves list
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 441, Grand Anse N/A, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grand Anse
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Getaway! Fabulous Location. Improvement Required.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort in early February and are repeat guests. The location and property is the best on Grand Anse Beach. It's simply a Paradise location if you just want to enjoy the beach. The grounds are always impeccably maintained with good security along the perimeter. There have been some improvements like furniture, decor and some renovated rooms which has been a plus to the overall ambience and comfort of the resort. We stayed in a renovated beach front room which was perfect. Air conditioning worked well. However the only downside was the seamless entry bathroom which needed to be designed better and it's really for a bigger space. You have to crouch up to the shower and put many towels on the floor so as not to flood the bathroom. The pools are always welcoming however the floor/paint needs to be overhauled. And of major importance is that continuous staff training is required. While there were many trainees at the front desk the service and knowledge was lacking. Food service and housekeeping staff though friendly need to improve on their speed and willingness to go beyond for guests. You can see a few staff members who really stand out and make a difference and for the rest it's as if they just do what they have to. There was not enough bar staff during such a high peak season as well as the fact that the pool bar closes too early in this same peak season. Overall however with some more improvements this is a gem location. The value for money is superior compared to other pricier hotels on Grand Anse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    275
    88
    59
    43
See reviews for
124
218
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Grand Beach Resort Grenada Feb 2nd to Feb 9th 2013
Ocean View Room 107 King bed
Pros :
Beautiful grounds , common areas and beach
Close to airport and St. George
Food Better than most all-inclusive
Friendly employees past the front desk
Security every 200 feet
Cons
Check in was an hour and a half
Front desk staff was slow & seemed confused
Very tired rooms, some rooms under renovation
Long waits for food and drinks, with tipping.
Messages don’t get to your room
Weak drinks
Over priced
Vendors on beach
Mosquito and Ants
Conclusion : We will not be returning to Grand Beach Hotel
Thanks to our excellent guide (Tiger) we saw the whole beautiful island, and will be contacting him to find us better accommodations on our next trip to Grenada .

Room Tip: First room 137 garden view was not acceptable, second room 107 ocean view, tired but not to bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to this resort Feb 9 - 16, 2013. This was our 6th trip to Grenada but 1st to this resort. Having read lots of bad reviews since we booked, would have had to pay a fee to change to something else so thought we would try anyway. Not a complete mistake however....... When we arrived the resort was about 80% full as many guests were there for there kids at SGU. Most of them left within a few days. Here is a summary of our encounters....

Positives
1. NO wrist bands - a real nice plus for any resort
2. Location - perfect spot on Grand Anse. Ocean not as rough in front of the resort as the southern tip and located about 5 min from craft market / cruise ship people on 1 side and about 5 min to a popular bar the other way.
3. Seemed like lots of lounge chairs ( no chair games ) and beach had sufficient shade.
4. There are 2 pools, 1 almost has 2 sections each with a waterfall and connected with a sort of lazy river. No floaty's though - bring your own.
5. Very nice landscaping as others have said
6. Rooms functional, nothing special. Stayed upper floor balcony just outside laundry facility. Didn't bother us. Actually got a thank you note from housekeeping 2x for leaving a tip !! No biggie but we did not get towel art as some others did. Not a deal breaker

Negatives - From OUR personal experience ( we stayed breakfast plan only )
1. Before arrival, e-mailed resort and requested a fridge. Reply was no problem, will have 1 in your room. When we checked in, no fridge. Checked at reception and said they didn't have 1 at this time. No problem, will check tomorrow. Still no fridge over the next 3 days even though check out rate was over 50%.
2. We were there on the breakfast plan but had to explain to reception the 1st 3 days it was already paid for. They couldn't get there paper work correct. Good thing I take copies of everything when we travel. Had to show them the Hotel Voucher to PROVE it was included.
3. Talked to a few other guests that said there room was double booked and while they were in there rooms, someone else entered thinking it was theres. Thought that couldn't be however Tuesday night about 1 am had someone try to enter our room as that is what reception told them there room # was.
4. Luckily we had an in room safe, some rooms did not
5. Ice machines are in a few locations on the property, some needing a room key to access. Most times didn't have ice and found out later this is also where some staff get ice for resort use. Think they would have there own at the bars.
6. Took 2 days before they had any beach towels available. Take your own just in case. We also kept ours during the stay to make sure we had 1.
7. Found that around the pool area, lots of ants and boy can they bite. No food was on the ground so not sure if it was the location or something else ?
8. When checking out, they gave us a bill for $3100 EC ( about $1200 US ) for our stay. Once again had to explain the trip was paid for in advance and there should be NO additional charges. Was corrected but yet again, very unorganized.

Although the breakfast included was good, we did not have any other meals at the resort. We rented a car and ventured out. Could not give them any more of our money.Fancy drinks at the bar for non all inclusive would run about $10 US. Also as others have mentioned, they do little to encourage guests to stay and eat there instead of spending there money else where.
The staff really wanted to serve and do a good job but the management didn't have a clue. They should have stayed a non all inclusive resort as the reviews prior to this were good.
Grenada is generally a very polite and giving country as we experienced again on this trip. It is expensive to stay at a resort in Grenada compared to Mexico / DR. All inclusive is about $4000 but you won't have 5* accomodations or marble floors. Keep that in mind. Venture out and see the island. Hope they can change things as it has potential. While checking out, another couple had had enough and was being transferred to another resort. I'm sure that happened more often during our stay.
Would not return and con not recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Beware of shoulder shrugging when promises are not kept or met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like some others who have posted a review recently my wife and I were a little worried about recent comments that had been posted after we booked our holiday in November about this hotel, but having stayed there for 18 nights, room only, we would go back tomorrow!

What you have to remember is that you are on holiday on a Caribbean island where the people are friendly and laid back. If you want the speed of service as if you were in a big city bar or restaurant then this is probably not the place for you but surely people must do a little research before booking a holiday to see what it will be like??!! We experienced some customers getting annoyed as their order had not arrived in the 5 minutes they seemed to have expected it to be completed in and being rude to the staff, not as some have suggested, the staff being rude to them.

The hotel is situated on a stunning beach and is probably the best I have stayed on out of the other Islands I have visited. There are plenty of sun beds and adequate shade for the very hot times of the day. The pools are lovely and well maintained again with lots of beds and shade. There is also a bar where you can get food and drinks from or the staff will bring your order to you around the pool. Pool towels were always available.

The gardens are well maintained and are tendered to daily by the army of gardeners.

We stayed in an executive beach front room complete with fridge, coffee maker etc. The beds were very comfortable and we always slept well. They were serviced daily to a very acceptable standard.

We only ate at the hotel a couple of times, as we prefer to eat at local restaurants, and the food was good. In relation to local restaurants there are several in the vicinity that you can easily walk to or take a short taxi ride. If you are going to eat in St Georges then the little buses stop outside the hotel and it costs 5 EC dollars for two to travel against a 40 EC taxi ride.

My only criticism, if I can call it that, is the hotel needs to tweak a couple of things. They do not seem to try and keep those who are not all inclusive at the hotel by having any real entertainment or providing an incentive to stay. While we were there it was the Islands Independence Day and I never saw a single flag never mind any kind of celebration yet there were things happening all over the Island. It was also the Super Bowl where 100 yards along the beach a bar had all its TV screens on and a special food and drink menu to entice you to go there, whereas the hotel did nothing. The price of a bottle of beer is also double to that in most bars and restaurants.

Even with all this I would still go back tomorrow!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My family an stayed at the granada grand during feb 2-7. On arrival we were given a delicious fruit cocktail which was very refreshing while we checked in. We had an excutive room on 4th floor with magnificent view of the ocean, the resort itself is located on the best spot on the grand anse beach as in low wind the water is very calm. Beautiful well maintained grounds, room was clean and well appointed with amenities an the housekeepers did an excellent job. Service was a bit slow at the restaurant but the food was delicious, the staff were all very friendly an helpful particularly Jeremy at reception who checked us in an became a wealth of information during our stay he quickly resolved few minor issues, and checked on us during our holiday.
Overal it was a very relaxing holiday and will recommend this resort !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenGrand, Resort Director at Radisson Grenada Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. I will personally congratulate Jeremy for his caring service. Over the summer the Resort is being upgraded to provide a truly magnificent experience. Please check our website for updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in Grand Beach resort around Christmas. This was the most disappointing vacation in 10 years. The place has nice grounds and is located on a beautiful beach. That's were niceties end.

The service is HORRIBLE. It was nearly impossible to get food in less than 45 minutes, and by the time they bring it it's already cold. Bartenders were rude, servers inattentive. I don't think they did it in purpose, I think it's the local culture and lack of exposure to the tourism industry. The buffet is a joke. You can "mistery" fish item, chicken or lamb item, cabbage, rice and a choice of 2 cakes. Entertainment is non-existing. There is nothing to do there all day, no activities. Nothing to see nearby either.

I can't help but think that the positive reviews on this site are fake. Anyone who has been to Mexico or Dominican Republic and experienced what a real 5-star hotel should be like would not give this one more than 1 star. I think it is roughly equivalent to a 3-star hotel in Mexico that is poorly operated.

Unfortunately same can be said about the island. Since the food at Grand Beach Resort was horrible (hot dogs, pizza, cold sandwiches etc) we tried escaping to nearby restaurants. Experience was roughly the same. 45-90 minute wait to get the food, some of us in the group were only told that what they ordered was not available as other people were getting their orders, food is extremely basic (rice and piece, chicken etc) and service is generally non-existent. I ended up going to a local grocery store and just buying granola, milk and yogurt there.

Adding insult to the injury is the fact that this hotel is much more expensive than other Caribbean destinations. Go to Mexico, Dominican or Jamaica and you'll get twice as much for the money. Most importantly you would actually have a good time.

Room Tip: Save yourself - pick a different destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenGrand, Resort Director at Radisson Grenada Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry that your stay was not enjoyable. Since your Christmas stay changes at the Management and Line-Staff level were enacted to provide a responsive and strong focus on customer service satisfaction. Included with the changes are a variety of Nightly Entertainment, a better variety and quality of Food & Beverage, more focused training and increased staffing. Continuing this commitment throughout the summer, major staff retraining and a major uplifting of all areas under the direction of a prestigious Interior Design firm will see the Resort transformed into the Island's leading Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grenada Grand Beach Resort from Feb 4 until Feb 11 in what was supposed to be an Executive Beachfront room. We were beachfront, the view was gorgeous, the room was clean but that's about it. Advertised on the hotel website and Transat's website are flat screen T.V.'s and bathrobes. We had neither. In fact, our T.V. went out while we were watching the storm coverage and they replaced it with another big old T.V. The room is dated and reminded me of an older room you would see in Cuba. We usually stay in nice hotels in the Mayan Riviera with marble bathrooms and big jacuzzis so this was definitely a big step down. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. Housekeeping is a little odd. Once they took all the dirty towels and didn't leave me any clean ones. I had to find a cleaning cart and ask for them. (?)

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, the pool is amazing, the beach is really nice and there is efinitely no over crowding which we really liked. You did NOT have to get up at 6:30 am and put a towel on a chair. Most times at the pool there would be only us and two other people. It was so nice!

We went All Inclusive so we ate most of our meals at our hotel and the food was delicious. The service was intermittent. Sometimes it was fine and sometimes it was slow. It was almost always slow with the a la carte items, usually taking between 30 and 45 minutes. (even if you ordered a bowl of ice cream! LOL) We were on vacation and relaxing so this didn't bother us much but sometimes it got annoying. (especially when you wanted a cup of coffee in the morning) The staff is very friendly but it seemed that direction was lacking so that's why it would take longer to get anything.

Grenada itself is gorgeous and the weather is amazing. Even at night I didn't need a sweater. Our complaints were minor and did not overshadow our vacation, however, I can't say I would return to this hotel. I don't think we had value for the money for sure. It is the most we have spent on a vacation and the least we have received in return. There are lots of other places to stay in Grenada where I heard the service was great. The people of Grenada definitely make the trip worth it. They are friendly and eager to talk to you about their country and help you to enjoy your vacation. We met many people both on and off the resort who made our vacation special.

Room Tip: Make sure you face the beach. The view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Grenada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Grenada Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 441, Grand Anse N/A, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Grenada Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the white sands of Grand Anse Beach, the beautiful Resort offers its guests uncompromising Radisson service and facilities. Wether strolling through the beautiful lush tropical gardens, relaxing in the Swimming Pools and Beachfront Bars, or keeping fit on the Tennis Courts and enjoying the Water Sports; our Team of trained staff will ensure your stay is relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Grenada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenada Grand Beach Hotel Grand Anse
Grenada Grand Beach Resort
Hotel Grenada Grand Beach
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort Grand Anse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Grenada Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.