We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Kayaking Fishing & Eco Tours - CLOSED

Spice Kayaking Fishing & Eco Tours
Allamanda Beach Resort, Grand Anse, Grenada
473 537 5713
Website
Improve this listing
Boston, MA USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Out of Business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Tried to book and excursion with this outfit for my end of Jan./beginning of Feb. 2012 via email. The owner kindly wrote back and said that they were no longer in operation. I hope things turn around for them and they are back up and running. The reviews were so good and it sounded like fun.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We went on a morning tour with Kim and the team. We were welcomed by friendly faces, and set of to explore the bay. We were taken to Hogg Island, an idyllic spot to sip on rum punch. The kayaking wasn't too hard going, especially when i got towed on the way home ;)
Kim was really chatty and friendly and gave us loads of idea for other trips. It was good to see some small attractions - the groves and some ship wrecks.
All in all i would highly recommend this trip.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had a fantastic morning with Spice Kayaking! The paddle out to Hog Island was just the right length and hanging out on the beach with some rum punch and excellent company was a brilliant way to start our holiday. The hosts were fantastic and the equipment was very well maintained/clean (I always hate wearing mildewy life jackets and these were nice).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great trip & great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were 5 of us off of the first cruise ship of the season. We booked our trip based on the Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Kim met us at the ship and we loaded into our transport for the 15 minute drive to the marina. Along the way she told us some of the history of Grenada. We had varying degrees of kayaking experience in our group but nobody was hard pressed to keep up on our paddle to Hog Island. We stopped for a brief history lesson at the sunken Cuban vessels and were surprised at the number of Canadian yachts anchored in the bay.

We tried snorkeling from the dinghy but the water was too murky. Alternatively we were able to spend a good deal of time lazily swimming off of the beach in between sandwiches and glasses of Kim's special rum punch (I need that recipe!).

There is a makeshift bandstand on the island and we were told it is a very popular place with the locals and "yachties" for parties. Not sure what they use for bathroom facilities as there are none on the island.

Our paddle back to the marina from our virtually private island was a little more challenging as the wind had picked up a bit but Kim chose a route to minimize our exertions.

On our way back to town, Keith our driver took the scenic route and gave us a mini tour of the area which included fantastic vistas of the coast.

Thanks Joe for the tip on what to do if I should meet a Great White. Of course there aren't any in the local waters but it was just one of the many interesting conversations we had.

Kim, Joe and Odie we excellent hosts, providing us with lots of local info, a great tour and fantastic hospitality. One of the highlights of our trip for sure.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing kayaking trip with great guides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We went for the half day kayaking Tour that includes a trip to one of the few uninhabited islands right next to the main island. The sights were very nice and our guides very friendly. We made a stop in the island for some rum punch, sandwiches and some swimming. It was clearly one of the best experiences we had in Grenada. Our only regret is that we didn't go for the full day tour that also includes snorkeling in the reefs and a barbeque!

Do yourself a favor and go do some kayaking when in Grenada!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Kayaking Fishing & Eco Tours also viewed

Lower Woburn, Saint George Parish
Grand Anse, South Coast
 
Grand Anse, South Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Kayaking Fishing & Eco Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.