We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March in Grenada” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grenadian by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grand Anse
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“March in Grenada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We really enjoyed this resort. The decor is dated in the rooms, but they are spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, shower had lots of pressure. We booked a beach front room which was worth it. We walked out our patio door and in 15 steps were on the sand. Food was always good - not a huge variety, but plentiful and tastey. No seafood, just fish. Only 1 buffet so not a variety of places to eat. One A la carte restaurant, which we didn't try. Small resort with one pool area which was quite lovely. It was nice to be in a small resort as you met the same people on a regular basis and were able to get to know them and have great visits. Drinks were plentiful. We booked a full-day tour of the island and saw some beautiful and interesting sites. The market was fun to visit, although I'm not a shopper so an hour or so was enough for me. Crazy driving on narrow roads - held my breath sometimes. We didn't take in much of the night entertainment - it was pretty low key Beach is not deep and you have to watch where you enter so you don't walk over the shoal - apparently sea urchins hide in there and are not very nice to step on.

All in all not a fancy resort or a loud party resort, but relaxing, clean, friendly. It's not on the main Grand Anse beach so that's probaby part of the cost savings of going here. I would recommend it if you are fine giving up the opulance, discos and A la cartes of some of the more modern resorts and are just looking for a low key vacation.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our ground level beach front. Very convenient when you're spending the day on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    609
    190
    77
    36
See reviews for
333
717
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed all inclusive -not our scene but if suits the whole family and this a a family event with granny granddad mum dad and two children.
Wonderful room overlooking beach its a good spot if you decide to ask for one there.
Food good with local menus ( we hate the same old same old and like local food)
Evening entertainment mostly music and dancing some limbo dancing! and singing ....
Beach and sea accessible for all.
Took a day trip out to underwater park it was well worth the funds, but do it from the beach its easy right beside the pool the guys were really helpful and kept an eye on the children.
Although there is a guest service to arrange other events its quicker to do it yourself! We had actually been to places by the time we got info on what we wanted to do!!
Drove up to fish fry much fun, friendly atmosphere, kids enjoyed the music and food there too. Go early leave early then the locals can do their own ting without upsetting anyone. Its their island.
The younger members went on the river tubing - not up to my expectations but they enjoyed it, it must vary depending on how much water there is. See the volcanic lake, look for monkeys the lot.Visited the cricket museum as we have a budding cricketer in our midst -the young man who showed us round was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Explored other beaches - really Grenada couldnt be better for friendliness the locals are so affable the best in the Caribbean we think.
However we stayed at an all inclusive in St Lucia last year ( near the airport) with family and it was much better set up for entertainment for the family the Grenadian Rex is rather less active in that department but we can make our own fun.
The staff were all delightful.
There is an excellent pool and bar overlooking the sea in a superb spot with shade if needed, but they could do with a list of drinks available. Even the children complained about this! Last year the childrens cocktail list was online and they had decided what they would have before they left home- and often looking forward to doing things is as much fun as actually doing it. We had been there a few days before we found there WAS a cocktail list! We did give feedback at the time so assume this has changed lets face it its an easy thing to do.
We had a good holiday. Its 20yrs since we went to Grenada nice to go back and glad its not spoiled we visited the nutmeg sorting and rum factory on that occasion but dont go home without your nutmegs!!!
Would I go back? no, it was a family holiday and suited the purpose its 5 mins from airport so with kids after a long flight they are in the pool as soon as they touch down, no noise from the airport at all. Would we go back to Grenada - you bet -dont change Grenada you are great at being friendly thank you for accepting us on your beautiful island yet again.

Room Tip: We cant see the point of travelling for 10hrs to an island and not being able to see the sea- its up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our family had a wonderful time at this resort and on the island of Grenada. The smaller size and feel to this resort made it very friendly and comfortable. Even though we were only one of a few families on the resort for our week, our kids made lots of friends with other guests and staff. The staff we encountered were always friendly and helpful. Tips are never mentioned, nor seemingly expected, but are accepted graciously.

Yes, the rooms are dated, but everything was very clean and there was hot water at all times, even during the "pre-dinner rush".

We spent most of our on resort time at the pool area. The lounge chairs and beds were very comfortable and never in short supply. Drinks from the pool bar were great. Be sure to try a Banana Cow. The beach was also great for strolling, lounging, snorkeling and "wave dodging", as my kids call it. Again, it was never difficult to find lounge chairs.

All four of us enjoyed the food. We never had trouble finding something great to eat. We especially enjoyed the seafood, pastas and soups. We wish we could have had the nutmeg ice cream after every meal! I would say, though, that if you were to bring children (or adults!) who are picky eaters that they may have a hard time finding something to eat for dinner because the "usual" buffet standards like burgers, chicken fingers and fries are not offered.
It would also be nice if there was an a la carte restaurant that offered fresh, local dishes. We didn't try the "Oriental" a la carte restaurant and it didn't seem like many other people did either.

As other reviewers did, we used Tom Sanderson as our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and went the extra mile to share his island with us and he also took special care to ensure our kids were enjoying themselves and safe as well. He can usually be found, wearing a red shirt, on the Rex beach by the pool stairs, if he isn't on a tour.

The nightly entertainment is definitely something that could be improved upon and, based on their comments, it seems that management is working on it. The best night was when a local steel pan band played. We could have stayed and listened all night, if the kids weren't so tired from swimming in the pool all day.

The proximity to the airport is a huge positive for this resort as well, especially when you have young children. The few planes we heard each day were not bothersome in the least.

If you love nature and experiencing local culture and food, Grenada is a wonderful island to visit, with so many amazing places to visit within only an hour's drive of anywhere.

Like others have said, this isn't a five star resort and there are some nit-picky negative things I could add, but to us there is nothing I would say that happened that could change our opinion that the Rex is a great resort, of great value and that we definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

What a great resort .. Would come back DONT LISTEN TO ANY BAD REVIEWS ...staff are super friendly and helpful at all times . Food is wonderful. Breakfast is amaZing. The pancakes just jump onto your plate. The secret ingredient nutmeg makes them hard to resist. Bacon sausage fruit omelettes What more could you want. Lunch is pasta burgers chicken fish
You will not go hungry and it is all delicious !! Their ice cream is great And soups are amazing
Five star service even though resort is older it's great. Beach is amazing. Snorkelling good. Went with TOM For Island tour . Was great. Saw nutmeg factory rum distillery concord falls rainforest area. Tom is a great guide and very trustworthy loved his tours
Truly hope this resort isn't bought by sandals
Do not pass up this resort
It is great value and really relaxing and wonderful place to stay
Only complaint would be a little more entertainment at night
Grenada people are very friendly from my experience and that means a lot in my books
Can't wait to come back


D

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights at the Grenadian and found the food and service the first two days mediocre but the following 5 days it got much better. The staff were always friendly the only complaint was that our dirty dishes sat on the table for almost the entire meal those first couple days.
The property is gorgeous...if you love wildlife especially birds you will be in heaven. We did not take advantage of the morning walks but heard they were wonderful.
Our room was on the third floor 3312 but I would recommend first floor as you can walk right out onto the beach from your room.
The snorkeling was great off the resort...do it!!!
If you see a tall man with a red shirt on the beach...his name Tom...take a tour with him! He was awesome, great sense of humor, and excellent knowledge of the island.
Would not recommend driving yourself until you have taken at least one tour of the island and get a "lay of the land" as the roads are very narrow and there are many switchbacks making it a bit tricky.
FYI, in late March early April the turtles are coming on shore to lay there eggs at Levera Beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Travelled with my mom and daughter, their ages being 80 years apart so simple and easy is what I was looking for. Beachfront rooms are wonderful - so close to the beach, that proximity is very hard to come by at this price. And close to the bar for ice cold bottles beer and white wine(mixed drinks too)the beach is very long consisting of 3 different bays. Pool is awesome, relaxed, with a great bar and nice location to have lunch. Everything is buffet, not my fave but perfect if you are with a 2 yr old and an 82 yr old :)
Food was very good , the best I've had at an all inclusive- lots of fresh healthy choices, local fare, always a fish choice too.
We would definitely recommend this place and plan to come back with the whole family.
Rooms are old but clean, loved the nice towels and coffee maker. Brought my own fresh ground coffee and watched the sunrise each morning. Another plus of the location is the you get morning sun and beautiful sunsets! All three of us loved it, a peaceful, relaxing vacation to remember

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmarsh, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

The Team at the Grenadian by rex resorts thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent vacation and for posting a review.

We are very happy you found our beach front rooms wonderful, the pool area awesome and the food very good.

We are also delighted to know you plan on returning with your whole family and do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you all to our resort.

Again, thank you for choosing the Grenadian by rex resorts.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Grenadian by Rex. It is literally a 2 minute drive from the airport (or an 8 minute walk as my husband discovered during his daily walks). Check in was very quick and we went directly to our rooms. The resort itself has many hills so it would not be good for anyone with mobility issues. The staff were extremely nice and very accommodating. The food was excellent with lots of variety. Kimball kept everything running very smoothly in the dining room and always pitched in to help. Evening entertainment was very limited but we were not looking for a party! The pool was kept very clean and waterfit was offered weekdays - Petra was fantastic - best waterfit at a resort. The weather was fantastic - high 80's - 90's daily with a great breeze. A little bit a rain early morning or evening but never lasted very long. Scuba diving was offered by Devotion to Ocean and the staff there were great. Very professional and accommodating. The guys did 10 dives and enjoyed all of them especially the Hema wreck dive on the Atlantic side. We all went on the snorkelling trip to the underwater sculpture park and Flamingo bay. It was great - with a little sightseeing along the coast on the way back. Overall a great trip.

Room Tip: We were in G building (hillside view) which is the furthest away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmarsh, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

The Grenadian by rex resorts Team thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation in March and for posting your review.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be very friendly and accommodating and our food excellent.

Again thank you for choosing us, we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at some time in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grenadian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Address: Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grenadian by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grenadian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenadian By Rex Hotel St. George`s
Grenadian By Rex Resorts Grenada/Grand Anse
Rex Grenadian
Rex Grenada
Grenadian Rex Resorts
Rex Hotel Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenadian by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.