We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient by the airport...Walk!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Grenadian by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So convenient by the airport...Walk!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay here all the time. I love that you can walk and avoid the taxi fare...nice place. ..service getting better every year...still very Grenadian. ..must keep it so regardless of the tourists...its OUR ISLAND!!
The rum punches and food are well worth it...do I get a discount for this great review? :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    481
    149
    62
    34
See reviews for
290
565
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Love the Rex!! One of the best beaches on the island. Great for snorkeling!!! Food was excellent, many different choices. Pool is smallish but with the Caribbean at your doorstep it didn't matter. Staff is friendly and warm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just came back from the Grenadian by Rex, where j was ho, idaying with my three children. The hotel were so accommodating when I arrived in after midnight, a supper was left in the room for us and drinks in the fridge. Quite amusing bombing around the resort after midnight, by moonlight, in a golf cart.

The rooms are typical caribbean hotel rooms, I could have been in bay gardens...comfortable, spacious and clean. Decore is a little tired in the seaview rooms, but its out of season and maintenance time is usually at the end of hurricane season.

The main communal adeas are lovely. Being close to the airport and set beautifully alongside a lake, they do conferences and events regularly. It never interfered with our enjoyment, in fact we met some great people that way.

The food was lovely and fresh, well prepared and presented. Just lacked a little variety for my kids, but the restaurant were happy to make burgers, chicken nuggets etc on request. Loved the bbq food on saturday night.

But for me the best memories are of the staff, so friendly, helpful and accommodating. The restaurant staff especially...but the watersports staff were great with my kids, who can now kayak, handle a hobie cat, snorkel and use fins.

Thanks guys...you made our trip great.

Room Tip: Let reception know iv you are there for business or leisure. Liked the seafront rooms with the child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLNSHIRE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sorry review rather late. Visited the Rex in January 2013 and had a lovely time, no complaints and was our 3rd visit. This is a 3.5 star hotel so please remember this when booking. Can truly say love the island and the people so friendly.
Hotel very good and standard of food local which we like. Rooms as a 3.5 star, entertainment in evening very good, not always needed in my option as do like quiet nights also.
Beaches good as usual, pool bar excellent and views wonderful.
Only problem was the sunbeds, people up at 6:30am or earlier saving beds and in the end we had to join them to get a bed which I really would rather have not done!!!!!

Overall great holiday and returning again in January 2014

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Even though we arrived at the Grenadian around nine in the evening, we were still greeted with cold towels and glasses of rum punch, which were wonderful! Check in was simple and they had a golf cart waiting to take us to our room. The check in clerk even called the room to see if everything was ok with our 1st floor beach front room. We ended up changing to the 2nd floor (personal preference) and the clerk called that room to see if everything was ok with it as well. One downside to arriving late in the evening is that dinner was already finished and the only solution the staff had was that we could pick through what hadn't been taken off the buffet already, which was slightly disappointing as we arrived on our actual wedding anniversary.

The room: the hotel needs to replace the furniture in the guest rooms. It looks outdated and worn. If this is not an option financially at this time for the resort, they need to look at minimizing the amount of furniture in the room-for a room that sleeps two, furniture included the bed, two bedside tables, two other tables, three chairs, a desk, a suitcase table, three lamps, and two chairs and a table on the bacony. However, the room was clean and served its purpose.

The resort grounds: the grounds are beautiful and well-cared for. The lake as well as the various flowering bushes and trees add to the scenery. Everywhere we looked, there was an explosion of color and beauty, offset by the rock cliffs throughout the resort.

The beach: the beach is wonderful! The resort is located on Magazine Beach, one of the top rated beaches in Grenada, after Grand Anse. We love to snorkel and swim and the resort's two beaches provided exactly what we wanted. On one side of the swimming pool, the beach is soft and sandy, perfect for a swim. On the other side of the pool, the beach is more rocky, which the tropical fish seem to enjoy, therefore making it a wonderful snorkeling area. The sand isn't as white as some beaches because it has patches of natural black sand mixed in which comes from the island's volcanic origins. The water is crystal-clear and for the majority of our trip, was calm. The waves were too rough to snorkel on the last day, but we had fun playing in them instead.

The food: This is the area that the resort needs to focus on the most. Other resorts we have stayed at feature huge buffets with dozens of choices. The Grenadian, however, is quite limited in food choices. For breakfast, there are four types of cereal-muesli, frosted flakes, bran flakes, and corn flakes. Other foods they offer each day are oatmeal, white or wheat bread, watermelon, sausage, bacon, omelets, and pancakes (which you request at the omelet station). They also rotated beans, saltfish, baked bakes, plain muffins, mini-crossiants, banana bread, and either papaya or starfruit. To drink, they had coffee, tea, orange juice, and passion fruit juice. They did have pineapple and cantaloupe one day (my personal favorites!). For tea time, they offered one type of cookie, one type of dessert bread, and either cheese or tuna sandwiches. For dinner, we had two buffet nights, five menu-plated food nights, and one barbeque night. Each night, there were four salads to choose from-lettuce, tomato, and a rotation between potato, egg, and chickpea salads, either white or wheat rolls, and one type of soup, which changed each night including cream of mushroom, carrot and orange, pumpkin and ginger, minestrone, and split chickpea. On buffet nights, they offered one chicken dish and one fish dish, steamed carrots, steamed spinach, and rice. On menu-plated nights, they offered one chicken dish, one fish dish, and either one pork or beef dish, all served with steamed carrots, steamed spinach, and either rice or potatoes. Needless to say, I have had my fair share of carrots, spinach, and rice. Their food choices were also recycled. For example, we had chicken with chickpeas for dinner and the next night we had chickpea soup and chickpea salad. We had pineapple glaze for dinner and the next morning was the only time we had pineapple for breakfast. We had chicken with mushroom sauce for dinner and the next night we had cream of mushroom soup. My husband and I ended up making a game out of the meals, trying to find what we'd had for dinner the night before the next day. Although, the Grenadian has two areas where the food is wonderful-the meat and the dessert. Every night, the meat choices were tender and juicy, well seasoned, and cooked perfectly. Their desserts were sweet and moist. I have been to seven different countries and this is the first resort that has ever served their cakes with american-style sugary frosting. They also make their own ice cream, although that fact isn't openly advertised. They have chocolate, strawberry, vanilla, nutmeg, rum raisin, coconut, and power (a nutmeg/rum combination). Their homemade ice cream is the best ice cream I have ever had!

Resort atmosphere: The resort has a quiet and relaxing atmospere, which was exactly what we were looking for. The Grenadian would not be an ideal choice for people looking for a party atmosphere and/or people who cannot entertain themselves. The atmosphere might be different during peak season when additional guests are present because while we were there, the resort only had between 11-20 guests, including us. The staff were excellent. The general manager would come around during dinner to see how we were. The dinner staff went out of their way to pick flowers and decorate the table for a woman having a birthday. They also presented her with a slice of cake with a candle in it. One area the staff could improve on is efficiency. Even though there were very few guests, it still took upwards of 20 minutes to get a refill on coffee at breakfast or water at dinner.

Some suggestions for the resort include planning more variety in the food choices, renovating the guest rooms, general upkeep of the resort (the roof of spicers, where they serve lunch, leaked and dripped on guests when it rained), replacing several burnt out light bulbs, and washing the chair covers in the large sitting area with the stage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel grounds are so magnificent..very well kept. Staff are very pleasant, helpful, and courteous. Rooms were kept clean, breakfast was really very good. Lunch was simple.Excellent food.
Very nice peaceful, and relaxing atmosphere. If you need a quiet relaxing, bathing in the beach, sleep and eat type of holiday, then the Rex is the place. No need to leave the hotel. Want to say a special thank you to Shirley Anne Charles and the rest of the staff,,,you made this our first trip very enjoyable, we felt at home staying at the Rex
Yasmin Mohammed and family

Room Tip: It may seem far away from the main area, but the ocean view rooms are the best...nothing beats going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second visit to Grenada, the first was to La Source, which has since closed. The Grenadian is just around the corner, and less than 5 minutes from the airport, although you won't be disturbed by aircraft noise. We chose a beach front room, but would probably go for a sea facing room next time - the sound of the sea kept my wife awake a nights (but it didn't bother me). Hotel is a bit faded but this is Grenada and not a 5 star hotel, so don't expect 5 star accommodation. The staff make up for the dated facilities and really made our holiday special - nothing was too much trouble. Hotel sits across two beaches, so a different choice each day. The pool has a bar & outdoor restaurant and is visited by local wildlife (2 foot long lizards - fantastic). Another bar sits just along one of the beaches, so a pleasant stopping off point when walking along the beach. Food is plentiful and served buffet style, but don't let that put you off....
Really excellent value for money. Would we go back? Oh yes, just get me on a plane and I'll be back at the Grenadian in an instant.......

Room Tip: Beach front are fine but very close to the sea, so if the sound of waves keeps you awake, then go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grenadian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Also Known As:
Grenadian By Rex Hotel St. George`s
Grenadian By Rex Hotel
Grenadian By Rex Resort
Rex Grenadian
Rex Grenada
Grenadian Rex
Grenadian Rex Resorts
Rex Hotel Grenada
Grenadian By Rex
Grenadian Rex Resort
Grenadian By Rex Resorts Grenada/Grand Anse
Address: Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grenadian by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grenadian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenadian by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.