We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3RD VISIT FANTASTIC HOLIDAY YET AGAIN!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Grenadian by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
LINCOLNSHIRE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“3RD VISIT FANTASTIC HOLIDAY YET AGAIN!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sorry review rather late. Visited the Rex in January 2013 and had a lovely time, no complaints and was our 3rd visit. This is a 3.5 star hotel so please remember this when booking. Can truly say love the island and the people so friendly.
Hotel very good and standard of food local which we like. Rooms as a 3.5 star, entertainment in evening very good, not always needed in my option as do like quiet nights also.
Beaches good as usual, pool bar excellent and views wonderful.
Only problem was the sunbeds, people up at 6:30am or earlier saving beds and in the end we had to join them to get a bed which I really would rather have not done!!!!!

Overall great holiday and returning again in January 2014

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    512
    153
    63
    34
See reviews for
304
603
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Even though we arrived at the Grenadian around nine in the evening, we were still greeted with cold towels and glasses of rum punch, which were wonderful! Check in was simple and they had a golf cart waiting to take us to our room. The check in clerk even called the room to see if everything was ok with our 1st floor beach front room. We ended up changing to the 2nd floor (personal preference) and the clerk called that room to see if everything was ok with it as well. One downside to arriving late in the evening is that dinner was already finished and the only solution the staff had was that we could pick through what hadn't been taken off the buffet already, which was slightly disappointing as we arrived on our actual wedding anniversary.

The room: the hotel needs to replace the furniture in the guest rooms. It looks outdated and worn. If this is not an option financially at this time for the resort, they need to look at minimizing the amount of furniture in the room-for a room that sleeps two, furniture included the bed, two bedside tables, two other tables, three chairs, a desk, a suitcase table, three lamps, and two chairs and a table on the bacony. However, the room was clean and served its purpose.

The resort grounds: the grounds are beautiful and well-cared for. The lake as well as the various flowering bushes and trees add to the scenery. Everywhere we looked, there was an explosion of color and beauty, offset by the rock cliffs throughout the resort.

The beach: the beach is wonderful! The resort is located on Magazine Beach, one of the top rated beaches in Grenada, after Grand Anse. We love to snorkel and swim and the resort's two beaches provided exactly what we wanted. On one side of the swimming pool, the beach is soft and sandy, perfect for a swim. On the other side of the pool, the beach is more rocky, which the tropical fish seem to enjoy, therefore making it a wonderful snorkeling area. The sand isn't as white as some beaches because it has patches of natural black sand mixed in which comes from the island's volcanic origins. The water is crystal-clear and for the majority of our trip, was calm. The waves were too rough to snorkel on the last day, but we had fun playing in them instead.

The food: This is the area that the resort needs to focus on the most. Other resorts we have stayed at feature huge buffets with dozens of choices. The Grenadian, however, is quite limited in food choices. For breakfast, there are four types of cereal-muesli, frosted flakes, bran flakes, and corn flakes. Other foods they offer each day are oatmeal, white or wheat bread, watermelon, sausage, bacon, omelets, and pancakes (which you request at the omelet station). They also rotated beans, saltfish, baked bakes, plain muffins, mini-crossiants, banana bread, and either papaya or starfruit. To drink, they had coffee, tea, orange juice, and passion fruit juice. They did have pineapple and cantaloupe one day (my personal favorites!). For tea time, they offered one type of cookie, one type of dessert bread, and either cheese or tuna sandwiches. For dinner, we had two buffet nights, five menu-plated food nights, and one barbeque night. Each night, there were four salads to choose from-lettuce, tomato, and a rotation between potato, egg, and chickpea salads, either white or wheat rolls, and one type of soup, which changed each night including cream of mushroom, carrot and orange, pumpkin and ginger, minestrone, and split chickpea. On buffet nights, they offered one chicken dish and one fish dish, steamed carrots, steamed spinach, and rice. On menu-plated nights, they offered one chicken dish, one fish dish, and either one pork or beef dish, all served with steamed carrots, steamed spinach, and either rice or potatoes. Needless to say, I have had my fair share of carrots, spinach, and rice. Their food choices were also recycled. For example, we had chicken with chickpeas for dinner and the next night we had chickpea soup and chickpea salad. We had pineapple glaze for dinner and the next morning was the only time we had pineapple for breakfast. We had chicken with mushroom sauce for dinner and the next night we had cream of mushroom soup. My husband and I ended up making a game out of the meals, trying to find what we'd had for dinner the night before the next day. Although, the Grenadian has two areas where the food is wonderful-the meat and the dessert. Every night, the meat choices were tender and juicy, well seasoned, and cooked perfectly. Their desserts were sweet and moist. I have been to seven different countries and this is the first resort that has ever served their cakes with american-style sugary frosting. They also make their own ice cream, although that fact isn't openly advertised. They have chocolate, strawberry, vanilla, nutmeg, rum raisin, coconut, and power (a nutmeg/rum combination). Their homemade ice cream is the best ice cream I have ever had!

Resort atmosphere: The resort has a quiet and relaxing atmospere, which was exactly what we were looking for. The Grenadian would not be an ideal choice for people looking for a party atmosphere and/or people who cannot entertain themselves. The atmosphere might be different during peak season when additional guests are present because while we were there, the resort only had between 11-20 guests, including us. The staff were excellent. The general manager would come around during dinner to see how we were. The dinner staff went out of their way to pick flowers and decorate the table for a woman having a birthday. They also presented her with a slice of cake with a candle in it. One area the staff could improve on is efficiency. Even though there were very few guests, it still took upwards of 20 minutes to get a refill on coffee at breakfast or water at dinner.

Some suggestions for the resort include planning more variety in the food choices, renovating the guest rooms, general upkeep of the resort (the roof of spicers, where they serve lunch, leaked and dripped on guests when it rained), replacing several burnt out light bulbs, and washing the chair covers in the large sitting area with the stage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel grounds are so magnificent..very well kept. Staff are very pleasant, helpful, and courteous. Rooms were kept clean, breakfast was really very good. Lunch was simple.Excellent food.
Very nice peaceful, and relaxing atmosphere. If you need a quiet relaxing, bathing in the beach, sleep and eat type of holiday, then the Rex is the place. No need to leave the hotel. Want to say a special thank you to Shirley Anne Charles and the rest of the staff,,,you made this our first trip very enjoyable, we felt at home staying at the Rex
Yasmin Mohammed and family

Room Tip: It may seem far away from the main area, but the ocean view rooms are the best...nothing beats going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second visit to Grenada, the first was to La Source, which has since closed. The Grenadian is just around the corner, and less than 5 minutes from the airport, although you won't be disturbed by aircraft noise. We chose a beach front room, but would probably go for a sea facing room next time - the sound of the sea kept my wife awake a nights (but it didn't bother me). Hotel is a bit faded but this is Grenada and not a 5 star hotel, so don't expect 5 star accommodation. The staff make up for the dated facilities and really made our holiday special - nothing was too much trouble. Hotel sits across two beaches, so a different choice each day. The pool has a bar & outdoor restaurant and is visited by local wildlife (2 foot long lizards - fantastic). Another bar sits just along one of the beaches, so a pleasant stopping off point when walking along the beach. Food is plentiful and served buffet style, but don't let that put you off....
Really excellent value for money. Would we go back? Oh yes, just get me on a plane and I'll be back at the Grenadian in an instant.......

Room Tip: Beach front are fine but very close to the sea, so if the sound of waves keeps you awake, then go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Grenadian is set in it's own little park with a beautiful lake and stunning beaches, shaded by palm trees. An ideal retreat for conservationists and bird watchers with great opportunies to observe wild life like iguanas, herons and land crabs. No wonder Prince Andrew stayed there in 2004. The rooms were very comfortable with safety deposit boxes and air con as standard. There was a high security presence at all times and the whole complex felt very safe The hotel had spacious and regal lounges, a beautiful courtyard with shaded comfortable seating and elegant dining areas. The level of service was outstanding and the food was particularly good. The all inclusive pool bar and cocktail bars served a wide variety of carefully prepared, quality drinks and the house wine was very drinkable. The hotel was very quiet as we stayed there during the last two weeks of April. On the whole the weather was hot and sunny but we did sample a couple of days of the rainy season, towards the end of the holiday. Overall the holiday was great value for money. In my opininion the hotel deserves a higher star rating.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms in the two Beachside buildings open directly onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you have a young family and haven't been to Grenada your missing out, and if you want a good holiday stay at the Rex. Lush green mountains and beautiful sandy beaches, wall to wall sunshine and lazy doing nothing days, the perfect way to relax. As my best friend pointed out, you can get most of that anywhere in the world, but Grenadians make it special. However, if your the run around, can't sit down, like a full on 100 miles per hour type holiday, then The Rex Grenadian isn't for you, being honest, the West Indies isn't for you.
We are lucky enough to have stayed in quite a few hotels in Grenada, but for the last 8 years have returned to the Rex only. We have 2 children, Angel is 8 (birthday at the Rex in April) and Marley is 4. If we said we were going anywhere other than the Rex they would be in tears. Our children are probably like any other, and we never have any problem with them eating at the Rex, the complete opposite in fact. There is enough of a selection for all, and if you would like something else, they get it for you. The staff make them feel as if they are the only children in the resort, and have all the time in the world for them. From the management to the lady cleaning your room, they all have that way of making you feel special.
So when comments are made that this and that happened and the hotel wasn't this, its the person visiting that would seem to me to have the problem. The staff value work to much to want to steel a few dollars out of someones pocket (probably fell out when walking about, sounds good for the insurance though). Also the comment about being asked to turn down the headphones, they are not my mother comment, get a life your rude.
If i won the lottery tomorrow , I would hire a 747 and put on tripadvisor 'free holiday first come first served' just to let you see how good it is.
When you get there, check out the staff, from Lesley (future prime minister) to Gerard, Arlene to Coleman, Alison to Shirley Anne, Adonis to Deslin, Tessa to Lindona, to name few. By the end of your stay they will know you by first name to. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask what your preference is and they do their best. They always do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POS
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We got robbed! The one day that we left our stuff out! My boyfriend had money in his jeans and my money was in my purse we left these on a chair in the room and it was only after we returned home and checked the cash we realized that a sizable amount was missing.

The staff appears friendly but are not to be trusted!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmarsh, Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are truly sorry to learn of your lost. It is unfortunate that you choose this medium to air your complaint prior to notiying us and providing an opportunity to respond. Based on your recollection of the event it is extremely difficult to comprehend how you arrived at the conclusion that the monies went missing during your stay. As you indicated the discovery of the missing monies was made a day and a half after you travelled back to your home. Therefore it stands to reason the monies could have been lost anywhere during your travel especially if it was in your pants pockets as stated.

We sincerely thank you for the compliments given about the friendliness of our staff and based on the feedback we have recevied consistently, they are indeed honest..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grenadian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Address: Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grenadian by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grenadian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenadian By Rex Hotel St. George`s
Grenadian By Rex Resorts Grenada/Grand Anse
Rex Grenadian
Rex Grenada
Grenadian Rex Resorts
Rex Hotel Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenadian by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.