We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump with poor internet and tries to nickle and dime despite "inclusive".” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Grenadian by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dump with poor internet and tries to nickle and dime despite "inclusive".”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I arrived and typically stay at LaSource, however they have closed for a few months after selling to Sandals. I decided to stay here and the rates at check in were higher than previously agreed upon over the phone in addition to it now being "room only" and not "all inclusive". After I got to the room carrying my bag up four flights of stairs it was stuffed so full with furniture you could barely get around. All of the furniture was dated and the bed was two twins pushed together but not even made to look like one bed, it had two comforters covering it. The restaurant was closed withing 1 hour of arriving, they close 5 minutes before 10 so I unfortunately can't say how it is but I can tell you there is nowhere else to get food anywhere near. I tried to get a drink at the bar but apparently after the argument at the front desk my "inclusive package" doesn't include anything on the bar, the lady actually reached under the bar to get the "montezuma's scotch" which was included for my rate. I'll be changing hotels tomorrow and dissuading any friends from wasting a night on this beautiful island at Rex.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    480
    149
    62
    34
See reviews for
290
565
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Just back from my 4th stay at The Rex. If I was only rating the staff, it would be 5 Star all the way, from the ground staff who always had a positive greeting as they toiled in the heat to the bar and restaurant staff who went out of their way to meet the needs of the guests, but a great vacation experience needs more! The facilities are looking tired and in need of an upgrade. The bedrooms and bathrooms whilst clean look shabby by today's standards and I totally agree itch previous comments about the TV and Wi-Fi. My TV hardly worked, which in itself was not a major issue when you have a great beach on your doorstep, but it's still annoying when you can't get the news as you get ready in the morning. As for Wi-Fi? The system was awful, with the connection being lost every minute or so, and the whole thing going own for 2 days! Totally unacceptable in 2012! Having said all of that, I still love The Rex. Its colonial grandeur, expansive grounds and sprawling layout are from a bygone age, with a character and charm that the new hotels on the island just don't have!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown,Guyana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business event so my rating is basically confined to that issue. I have a big problem when a hotel - which also caters to business guests - cannot bother to provide decent Internet service. Even when I am on vacation I need to Internet and feel totally frustrated without it. The service didnt work at all in the meeting room and in my room, I had to go out on the balcony to get even a weak signal. My ipad didn't connect at all. The electrical outlets were inconveniently placed - another big turnoff for me - and the outlets were all of the clunky English type so you better carry your adapter with you. The TV was total rubbish, a tiny set that buzzed all the time and only a few channels. There was really no writing desk, only a small wicker table with a large lamp on it. The food was so so. The staff were friendly though. Great that the rooms are all along the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a long but enjoyable flight with virgin atlantic it was great to know that the hotel was only five minutes away from the airport.

Check in went smoothly,was welcomed with a cold flannel and a fruit punch.

Booked a seaview room but on request was upgraded to a beachfront room.
Room was nice with a big comfortable bed,a nice bathroom with a shower with good pressure and a nice balcony with a lovely view of the sea.

Food was good,a bit limited on choices but i ate well and i am very fussy,

I liked the the way the pool,bar,and pool restaurant was in a elevated position overlooking the two sandy beaches.
Why someone should nitpick about not having a swim up bar is beyond me.

Entertainment at night was low key but that didn't bother me as due to the hot weather i was ready to call it a day well before midnight.

The people in grenada are so friendly and it is must is to get out and about and explore the island.
We hired "moody" who works out of the hotel on a half day tour round the island and he very interesting and informative.

The only minus points i can think about was the lack of sun loungers on the beaches but when i spoke to the manager she assured me this would be taken care of.

Staff at the hotel were all great but special mention to leslie and at the pool bar gerrard.

Overall a very enjoyable stay at the rex and i am look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Try and get a beachview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a beautiful location and a very nice facility. We have stayed here for long weekends 3 times. The staff have always been pleasant. However, the service is disappointing, especially on our most recent stay. Upon arrival we found that we could not connect to the Internet using the free wi-fi. I am fairly experienced at this and I explained to the front desk that I could "see" the router but it would never allow me to go to the password step. They promised continually to fix this, but never did. The next morning I reported that our sliding balcony door was extremely hard to open and asked them to spray it with WD40. An hour later the maintenance man came, but without any lubricant. He said he'd be right back, and he was, 24 hours later. On that same day Housekeeping never came to our room and we had to call the front desk at 9:00 PM to get clean towels. I have written a few reviews and I prefer to only write when I can say something nice, but the problems at this hotel can be easily fixed if only the management will take them to heart.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the resort for 5 days with my fiance, after La Source resort was closed. We got a pretty good deal on Orbitz, so the price was definitely reasonable. A few thoughts about the resort:
- Close to the airport. It is worth the $10 cab ride to get you to the hotel in one minute. From landing to being at the hotel was under 30 min for us, it was fabulous after taking an overnight flight (and a long layover in Trinadad)
- Check in was pretty slow. After a long night of traveling, having to sit in a non air conditioned lobby while we just waited without being told much of anything was not idea. Especially when she told us our room wasn't ready. We did get upgraded to a beach front room, which was nice, but there were probably only 20 other people at the resort when we got there and we walked by TONS of empty rooms (with doors open), on the way to our room.
- Room was fine. We had a nice view of the ocean and were on the 2nd floor. The waves crashing can be a little loud though, and did wake me up at night (although hard to complain when the only noise is the ocean when you are on vacation!)
- Food was ok. We arrived on the first day around 1:30 pm, and they would not give us wristbands (to show we had the all inclusive deal), until 3pm, which was official check in time. I was a little annoyed by that, because lunch ended at 2:30 and there was nothing (except what tasted like butter sandwichs at afternoon tea) until dinner. We were spending 5 nights at the hotel, they could have given us the courtsey of letting us have lunch after travelling 12 hours to get there. Otherwise breakfast was the best meal of the day. Freshly made eggs/omlettes were awesome. The other meals were fine. Basically chicken/fish/sometimes beef with salad and side dishes. The resort was very empty when we were there, so there was only the one main buffet resturant for breakfast and dinner and by the pool for lunch. My major complaint was the "dress code" for the buffet. We say people in tshirts and shorts eating dinner there, and the one night my fiance wore a tshirt (a nice tshirt that was tucked into long khaki pants, with a belt on), he was told after our meal, that he has to dress with a collared shirt to eat there next time. Considering we are eating at a BUFFET with no AC and no other options, this was ridiculous, and insulting. The men in the resturant should not be sweating and uncomfortable on their vacation. Espeically since the buffet resturant was not particularily nice.
- Otherwise everything was average. No swim up bar, bartenders were slow, very limited options on drinks. It was a pretty location and good vacation, but for the money, I would go to an all inclusive in Mexico or other Caribbean location.
-Also, they had "activities" listed on a chalkboard everyday (water aerobics, games, etc), which never actually happened. On one day some guys came around to see if people wanted to play a beach game, and one of the guests pointed out that they were asking 45 min after the time of the "scheduled" activity and the employee replied "well, we're on island time". Maybe true, but we are paying to be here. A little customer service would be appreciated.
-Also, either book things ahead of time or plan to stay at the resort. When were were there, not one was there offering tours (just because it is off season doesn't mean you shouldn't try to give your guests options), and the resort is not close to anything except the airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Probably the best beach in the area, and with great gardens and staff, the Rex should be rated much higher. Granted because there were only a dozen couples when we stayed, they had upgraded everyone to the Beachfront rooms, which will always colour your judgement.

The pool complex and bar are in a great location and the staff were wonderfully attentive.

Biggest problem was there were not enough beds of a serviceable condition on the beach for the 20 of us, which is something that must be taken care of by the management before much longer ( we counted only 6 on the beach that could be used !!)

Another point raised in these entries is the quality of food, but we got round that by eating out in the evening at some great local restaurants for not much more than the AI supplement.

One issue that the management must resolve is that there are Lionfish under the reef 10 feet from the shore. They are highly poisonous, and would be very dangerous to any children swimming in the location. They are not-indigenous to the Caribbean, and should be removed.

So I suppose it can be seen why not higher in the TA listings, but it seems such a shame as the Rex and the staff deserve much better recognition for their wonderful attributes, and the management could achieve so much more with a little focus on the issues raised in these postings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grenadian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Also Known As:
Grenadian By Rex Hotel St. George`s
Grenadian By Rex Hotel
Grenadian By Rex Resort
Rex Grenadian
Rex Grenada
Grenadian Rex
Grenadian Rex Resorts
Rex Hotel Grenada
Grenadian By Rex
Grenadian Rex Resort
Grenadian By Rex Resorts Grenada/Grand Anse
Address: Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grenadian by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grenadian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenadian by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.