We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Grenadian by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Currently staying at this hotel, been here just over a week. These are the facts; the hotel is very quiet, during the past week not 20 people have been resident. Benefit is the pool is quiet as is the beach. However the food leaves a lot to be desired. Rooms are ok - if you can, book the Royal Suites - higher standard of furnishings and better location. Do not book the "Executive" rooms which are advertised as "with carpet"- they are old and dirty. Opt for the cheaper Ocean front rooms with tiled floors and good views.
Pool bar is good, don't opt for the wine, keep to the soft drinks or local spirits. Any problems, speak to Samantha who will do her best to eliminate your problems. All in all, good value for money, not The Spice Island, but you are not paying Spice Island money!

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room - tell them!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    514
    153
    63
    34
See reviews for
305
604
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just had a wonderful relaxing holiday in The Grenadian and would love to go back.The hotel is unbelievably close to the airport but you are not aware of it as there is no noise or disruption. It was very quiet when we were there but it was not a problem for us as we were happy to relax in the sunshine and got to know some of the staff very well.We were upgraded to a beachfront room which was a bonus.The rooms are possibly a bit tired and in need of updating but it was not an issue for us as everything else was excellent. Due to low numbers we ate our main meal in the a la carte restaaurant every night and the food was excellent and beautifully presented. We also chose to pay a liitle extra on some nights and have the thai menu.They have a thai chef and his food was amazing. The staff are unbelievably friendly and I have to give special mention to the bar staff in particular who were great fun.The pool bar has the most beautiful view of the bay and it was heaven to sit there with a cocktail in hand and watch the beautiful sunsets.There was no real entertainment as it was too quiet but Leslie tried hard in the day to drum up interest in pool volleyball etc. Just along the beach is The Aquarium restaurant and this is well worth a avisit on Sunday afternoon as they do great steaks and fish dishes and you have a live band playing.It is very popular with both tourists and locals so it sometimes pays to book! We also hired the hotel taxi driver called Moody for the day and did a round the island tour with him.He was fantastic and took us to all the island highlights and was very informative and interesting. Also the sunset catamaran trip is well worth doing as you go into st.Georges harbour and then along the coast in front of the rex hotel . You have drinks and then champagne at sunset but the views are brilliant. All in all it was a brilliant holiday and we would love to go back.Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

It was the most beautiful place Everyone was lovely and helpful.. the food and hospitality was brilliant the scenery itself is amazing I will definitely be returning there.. I would recommend everyone and anyone to go there!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport and will cost US$10 for a taxi. You're greeted with a cold towel and fruit punch while your bags are taken to your room for you and the air-con will have already been set to work on your room. We were right on the beach-front, the sea lapping 5m away. The reef is worth a snorkel with a variety of fish, mostly juveniles, but walk out in the sandy channels as if you walk on top of the reef then you might get stung with a small sea urchin - not deadly but will hurt for a few hours. The hotel is spacious with a variety of sitting areas and bars although only half the restaraunts were open due to the low number of clients but this did not spoil the quality of the meals. The staff were excellent and were very attentive, usually getting what we asked for, even opening the shop well after sunset when I needed some after-sun lotion. The bird life is great around the three lakes so take your camera and binoculars. There are usually four Iguanas near the swimming pool in the morning. Sunsets are wonderful at the pool bar. The weather was 30C day or night and the sea water is the same too.
We went on the 4-hour island cruise which ended-up being six hours. We had a great driver from Sunsation tours. We plunged into Concord Waterfalls (changing room available), visited a Plantation House, toured around a Nutmeg factory, fed the fish at Grand Etang Crater Lake (take some bread from breakfast bar) and fed the Mona Monkies (take a banana from breakfast too). A great tour.
We would also strongly recommend the Devotion 2 Ocean Water Sports Centre on the beach. These guys were very professional, polite, humorous and enthusiastic. We tried the kayaks, hobby-cat sailing catamarans, and went scuba diving with them. Most of the activities are free if you're all-inclusive although this is not well advertised. There is a wide selection of dive sites to choose from depending upon your certification level and experience. Our best dive was on the 'Hema 1' wreck at 30m deep were we saw Nurse Sharks, Barracuda and a squadron of Eagle Rays - awesome! Throughout the week we saw turtles, Stingrays, massive Lobsters and a whole range of Gorgonians, Sponges and Corals...the list is endless.

The only downside (yes, there is one) was the sand flies on the beach at around sunset. You don't see them but they see you. So, take your insect repellant for your ankles and apply it before sunset if you're on the beach.

There is a small security team patrolling the beach 24/7 although we didn't experience any trouble from the four beach vendors that seemed to visit once a week. They were just making a living selling necklaces and bracelets.

We met some great friends which put the icing on the holiday that we thought couldn't get any better.

So, to recap...food, staff, hotel grounds, wildlife and the water sports is excellent and we'll definitely be going back there soon!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in block F seemed to be getting a face-lift but the block is the furthest from the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is very close to the airport, no more than 5 minutes or so away by taxi. On arrival, we were greeted with an ice cold towel and a cooling fruit punch. We were shown to our room on the second floor, overlooking the beach. The room was clean and comfortable, but was showing some signs of wear which need to be addressed. The hotel was very quiet, with no more than 20 guests, so the restaurants were amalgamated into one for the week, with one meal being held in the pool bar restaurant (the Manager's cocktail party, a great experience with BBQ and steel drum band). The beaches are wonderful, as is the location of the hotel, with a beautiful lake and surrounding gardens and wildlife. The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, especially Leslie and Gerard in the pool bar, and also the restaurant staff. The weather was wonderful, extremely hot with just a few showers. However, beware if you suffer from insect bites, they were a real problem for a lot of guests. One final thing, please see Janice on the beach, she does the most wonderful manicure!

Room Tip: A seaview room has the most wonderful outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived in Grenada after a 10.5 hour trip from London Gatwick airport on BA, lovely. The hotel is just a few minutes by taxi which cost us 25 XCD. Check-in was fast and efficient and the cold towels and welcome cocktails were nice. The luggage was taken to our room straight away. The room was adequate and didn't feel that small considering we were a party of three adults. The room could do with a little updating but i,m sure this will happen sooner or later. Hotel grounds were kept very nice there is lots of wildlife around the lakes. But beware, lots of biting insects so bring some insect repellent !. Occupancy was a little low, so breakfast and lunch were taken at the Spicers Bistro, this caused a problem as the birds flying around would try to eat your food. Not very hygienic as birds would hop in and around the food area also. I would like to see mesh put over the opening to prevent this. All the staff were friendly and eager to help. Around the pool could do with just a tad of maintenance and tidying up. I still think its a good value hotel for the price we paid, and with just a little tidy up in certain areas my rating would have gone from average to very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Grenadian by Rex Resorts for 2 weeks in August 2012.
Overall we had a great holiday. The weather was hot, the sky was blue for most of the 2 weeks and we have some great memories of other guests we enjoyed the company of. Our highlight was sitting at the pool bar around 5-7pm drinking various cocktails, chatting with other guests and enjoying the wonderful views of the beach, sea and coastline when the sunsets were to die for. Our room was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated in blue with a modern bathroom. Thanks to all the helpful staff, who went out of their way to give good service with a smile.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem mention that when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grenadian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenadian by Rex Resorts

Address: Tamarind Bay, Grand Anse, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grenadian by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grenadian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenadian By Rex Hotel St. George`s
Grenadian By Rex Resorts Grenada/Grand Anse
Rex Grenadian
Rex Grenada
Grenadian Rex Resorts
Rex Hotel Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenadian by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.