We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good week on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, Grand Anse, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Grand Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Eckington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A really good week on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have to say that The Coyaba Beach Resort, has a perfect position on the Grand Anse beach. The sand is spotless, the sea is blue and I had a great time. The resort is not huge, but the rooms are quite good, though apparently you have to be a repeat visitor to get a room nearer/overlooking the sea. But having said that, it is only a short level stroll to the sun beds both inside and outside the perimeter fence. There is always a security guard on duty by the beach, to ensure that non residents don't stray into the grounds. Speaking of the grounds, they are quite amazing and well kept. There are apparently trips around the gardens with the staff.
Everyone working there from reception to waiting staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Lunchtime and evening meals are quite good. (If you are a Virgin customer on all inclusive - ask to see both menus at evening meal, this gives a greater choice). Oh they make delicious fruit pies, but you have to ask for ice cream to go with them, so please do. Breakfast was okay, but food being kept warm on the bain marie tended to go past it's best. Oh there is a KFC across the road!. But I really liked this hotel and if I went back to Grenada I would stay here again.

Room Tip: To get a room nearer the sea, apparently you have to have been before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogey567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a fantastic resort! Having already booked our holiday to Grenada back in 2012, I popped the question on Christmas day & we decided to see if it would be possible to get married during our trip in March 2013. It was, and so a wedding was organised within 6 weeks! The staff could not do enough for us, Sandra the wedding coordinator was absolutely brilliant. She made sure that everything ran like clockwork. The Coyaba Beach resort made a perfect wedding destination, the gardens are beautifully maintained, the beach simply stunning but as there was just the 2 of us we decided to hold our ceremony in the gazebo to give us a little more privacy.The staff decorated it in colours to match our chosen theme, Sandra arranged our flowers & I have to say they were amazing! She even organised a wedding cake, which the staff froze so that we could bring it home to share with family! The food at the Coyaba is faultless & the head chef even took the trouble to meet with us prior to the day to design a special meal for the evening of our wedding. We decided to have this meal on the beach, just the 2 of us, under the stars! Desra set everything up & Rachel looked after us for the evening - we felt like royalty! The Coyaba is a fantastic resort and we would have no hesitation in recommending it, it would also be a really safe destination if you are travelling alone. The beach is beautiful, and guests can take out a kayak or a hobie cat at no extra charge.
Grenada is a truly wonderful Island and the people are the friendliest we have come across on or travels. We certainly plan to return for our wedding anniversaries in the coming years!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Coyoba over Easter with our 2 children (aged 10 and 8) . We were made to feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived and loved the stunning beach, swimming pool area and beautiful gardens. We received some of the friendliest service we have received anywhere in the Carribean and found Grenada to be a beautiful, unspoilt island which was very peaceful and untouristy.

We had a very chilled time but did enjoy a number of activities arranged by the hotel (yoga, cocktail making, garden walk) and used the shuffle board court and tennis court most days (free rackets and balls available... maybe worth taking your own balls). Entertainment was limited in the evening (steel band a couple of nights) but we were happy playing cards with the children and enjoying the delicious cocktails.

The food was variable. We did enjoy some very good meals, but some were less so. Elements of the breakfast were very good (freshly cooked eggs, variety of juice, fresh fruit) but pastries were sometimes quite dry. The drinks were always very good and my children enjoyed the Shirley Temple cocktail at the swim up bar !

We enjoyed several trips out of the hotel. It was very easy to catch the local minibuses from just outside the hotel - $1 per person . These whizzed you into St George's in 15 minutes where you could walk around the market (meant to be particularly good on a saturday), walk up to the fort and round the harbour.

other trips included
> Alan's round the island day trip (separate review) - fabulous trip covering all the highlights of the island - swimming in concord waterfall, visiting the nutmeg factory, the rum distillery (75% alcohol levels ) , some beautifu remote beaches in the north and the Grand Etang lake. I think if we had hired a car we would have got very lost going round all the small road and missed out on all the valuable information from Alan. It was really a most fabulous, family friendly tour very much tailored to us and what we wanted to do.

> Visit to Grand Etang and seven sister's waterfall. We got the bus into St George's bus station and then another one up to grand Etang. The drop off point for the waterfall is about a mile down the hill past the main entrance to the park / lake entrance. We then walked down a steep, but very manageable path to the bottom of the waterfall (could have been more tricky if wet and muddy) . It was possible to swim in the bottom 2 pools and also to clamber up the path at the side to some of the higher falls. We returned to the lake where we followed the shoreline trail round. The lake is beautiful, but the trail is essentially a walk through the rainforest with few views of the shore. It was very muddy despite the dry weather we had had.

> Visit to La Sagesse - again possible to take a bus to St George's and change to another which drops you at the end of the road leading to La sagesse. A short 15 minute walk takes to you to another beautiful, very quiet beach with a lovely protected cove to swim in. It was very peaceful.

> visit to nearby beach of morne rouge... just walked along the beach past spice Island resort, up the hill and down to a very quiet, protected beach... a lovely way to spend a morning!

> 2 site snorkely trip organised by the hotel included a visit to the underwater sculpture park (quite different) and a natural reef where we saw a reasonable number of fish.

> visit to Carriacou / Sandy Island - we braved the ferry (fortunately they took the larger ferry the day we went.... it had the potential to be rough... our journey out was 2 hours). We then took a taxi to Paradise beach where the lady at the bar arranged for us to have a boat to go to Sandy island - the stunning beach of white sand / small palm trees. The boat later returned and dropped us at the airport ready for our return 20 minute trip (fabulous) back to Grenada. We snorkelled off the beach and relaxed for 4 hours in this most beautiful setting. The journey back and forth was as much of an adventure as the time on the island itself!

Overall, we loved Grenada and particularly the location of the Coyoba beach hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The main attractions at the Coyaba are the beach - simply gorgeous - and the gardens which are stunning and with those two it would be very hard not to enjoy staying there. The hotel itself is well managed, the staff do service with a smile, the food is good, and on an all inclusive package you are getting very good value for money at a very nice Caribbean resort. The cocktails, beers and chilled white wine on offer (Chilean) are all very acceptable.

We stayed in a superior pool/garden view room which had glimpses of the sea and a view across the gardens. The bed was the most comfortable I have experienced on holiday for a while, a super king, I am very picky about beds and it was a good one. The bathroom did need updating but was perfectly serviceable, shower worked fine.

The Coyaba fills a niche for a good 4 star on the beach at an affordable price, but is not 5 star luxury and it doesn't pretend to be. Our fellow guests were mostly middle aged Brits and the evening scene was quiet apart from the excellent steel band on Saturday night (best we have heard in the Caribbean).

Low key activities available during the day were yoga, a guided tour round the lovely garden plants, and not much more - its a peaceful place.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday there, one tip - the sun is very strong so be careful, plenty of warnings in the hotel room book about this, due to Grenada's position near the equator so high factor sun cream needed.

Plenty of sun loungers on the beach and dotted around the garden, loads of space for privacy.

Good Wifi signal in the room if you need to keep in touch with home/business.

Recommended, especially on an all inclusive basis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Despite being right on the most beautiful beach the Coyaba is drab and dated. The dining room in the evening reminded me of an old people's home with no atmosphere. The food is grim and other than the meagre breakfast buffet you have to choose from a repetitive menu and everything tasted the same. Food was served by surly teenage locals some chewing gum! I asked once if there were any bananas to eat and was told very abruptly.....no! Management seem to stay in the office and are oblivious to the dissatisfaction of guests. No entertainment, no atmosphere, poor food, a long wait for drinks at the bar as only one barman. Not worth the money and I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brightonrocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Coyaba resort is perfectly located, in my opinion Grand Anse beach is the best beach on the island of Grenada and its right on the resort! The only downside is that there is a lot of traders on the beach and they are quite persistent, which isn't a major problem if you say no straight away because then they usually go, but if not they are friendly, but it can be a bit irritating. Outside the front of the hotel you have 'spiceland mall' which is a small shopping complex with duty free stores, a hardware store, clothing stores, a supermarket and a food court, it is definitely worth the visit, and if you dont fancy eating at the hotels two fantastic restaurants there is also a KFC just outside which I recommend visiting because it's so much better than back home! The gardens on the resort are well kept and beautiful, and with only 80 rooms the resort isn't busy, the 2 bars the resort has are well stocked and the bartenders and friendly but may not be the quickest workers in the world but its the carribean so its all relaxed. The rooms were cleaned well and had comfortable beds and a cleaned bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially as a romantic holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Coyaba beach resort is in a fantastic location.Step out of the resort onto Grand Anse beach,which is 3 miles long,isn't crowded & very peaceful.If you have kids be careful in the water as it has quite a steep slope & gets deep quickly although the current is not strong here.
Our room was spacious,clean & comfortable with a balcony angled towards the coast(as are all balconies here).The bathroom was a little on the small side,but adequate for one.The shower was basic,over the bath,which was small-no good for adults but perfect for small children.
Entertainment is only on twice a week but was very good-only wish it was more often.Loved New Dimensions steel band took me back to our wedding where we had a steel band playing during our vows.Ther is also a manager's cocktail party on once a week.
We were here for our anniversary & got an arrangement of flowers & sparkling wine which was a nice touch.
The pool has a swim up bar & again quiet(not many kids here) but is used daily for snorkling & scuba lessons.
There are two restaurants,one which has a dress code & the other you can turn up in shorts & t-shirts if you want.There are two menus-one changes daily & the other stays the same every day.The unusual thing about this though, was that you could order from either menu in both restaurants.The food here is good quality but usually fish,chicken or pork most of the time & they seem to put coconut in almost everything.
It was quiet here but there are only 80 rooms & it wasn't fully occupied when we were here plus lack of daily evening entertainment made it seem quiter.I would come back here again & if you want a nice hotel in a lovely location to relax in you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayaddict03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
0.6 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
#10 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
1.7 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
1.5 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel &...
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#6 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, Grand Anse, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Anse
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Anse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grand Anse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Anse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Anse
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Otel, Low Cost Holidays and Travelocity so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Grand Anse
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing