We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, sporadic service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allamanda Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Allamanda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Allamanda Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Morne Rouge Grand Anse | P.O.Box 27, Grand Anse 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Grand Anse
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely location, sporadic service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic location on Grand Anse Beach. The hotel is older, and does not have all the modern conveniences (like elevators), but clean I stayed 2 nights each on either end of a Windjammer Cruise on Mandalay, and had a beach front room. The pool is lovely, the restaurant great, but service was spotty. When we checked in the first night after a marathon flight from Miami, there was no one at the front desk. The next day, service was friendly, and Rocky, the general yard man, greeter, and beach facotum, is delightful! Check out was fine. On the way back, check in was all right, although the couple in front of me had a problem with their room assignment. It was difficult to get a lock for the room safe (I had to leave my valuables in the hotel safe while I took a walk on the beach). The rating would have been better if they had followed through with my request to have someone bring my luggage down from my second floor room in time for my 6:30 am shuttle. I had made my request the day before, and had been told that someone would be at my room at 6:15. When 6:20 came and went, I tried to call the front desk--no reponse, so had to haul my suitcases downstairs myself. No one at checkout, so we just left our keys at the front desk. I hope I don't get any unpleasant surprises on my credit card bill next month!

Room Tip: Second floor noisy--third mught be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    33
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
42
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights each at front and back end of a Windjammer cruise. The hotel is basic, no frills and clean. Staff were kind and helpful. Just 6 minutes to walk to full grocery store (beer, wine and liquor), same to Carib Sushi- great fresh sushi, Umbrellas- great beach bar with terrific food, and bakery- La Boujanerie(sp?) for breakfast which also does pizza for lunch and dinner. Hotel is right in the center of Grand Anse Beach- wide white sand beach, clear turquoise water. Hotel has a nice large pool and tidy basic landscaping. The restaurant on the property, Ali Baba, apparently is not connected to the hotel, is an oddity. The 2 meals ( strong middle eastern focus) we had were well prepared and tasty, but service was well beyond "island time". For a tasty and fast breakfast head to the bakery (La Boujanierie) directly across the grassy field from the hotel entrance. Allamanda is a basic hotel, so don't expect the amenities and services of a full medium-priced resort. Take the local bus at the round-about into St. Georges for 2.50EC- a panel van that stops at marked bus stops and anywhere in between- a private taxi will run about 35EC and you'll miss the real Grenada. We recommend the Allamanda for a 1-2 night stay, but probably would do a smaller guest house off the beach for a longer stay. But if you're a real die hard beach sun bather this might work for you!

Room Tip: Definitely select ocean view and 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

if the restaurant you have just visited is the same as the immediately previous review. No mosquitos, great simple grilled king fish (no fancy sauces) well presented by efficient and friendly staff. The Hommus, as a started tasted just like the Lebanese Hommus. The restaurant also had a wide range of drinks although we did not look at the wine list.
And to finish the Arabic coffee was the real stuff.
Expensive - no not for an up-market restaurant in high season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is a basic, no frills hotel. Rooms are clean, not fancy. Beds comfortable. TV does have limited channels. But it has a great location - near to supermarket to buy snacks, several restaurants in walking distance by road or beach. We were able to catch St. George Univ bus as we are parents. Never used pool but it looked clean and inviting. Beach is wonderful. Beach towels provided. Front desk staff helpful. We were surprised there was a charge for phone calls. Had to request replacement toiletries and towels one day, housekeeping so so. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place. If you want a clean, basic place to stay between hanging on the beach and sightseeing, this is great.

Room Tip: No elevator, so request 1st floor if mobility problems. You do have to carry your luggage to 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything about this hotel is OK. The reception area was a bit grubby. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room we were in was a decent size, clean, but in need of an upgrade. The grounds of the hotel are also OK, could maybe use a bit more love and attention. Basically the hotel was fine, nothing special though nothing really wrong with it either. Though if you're on a budget and want to be on the beautiful grand anse beach then this is the hotel for you. A very good price compared to the likes of the Coyaba next door. I would stay here again for a few days if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother paying more for a seaview room. The hotel is set back from the beach and I dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Everything else was sold out for NYE, and we needed a place to stay last minute. The owner was very nice and very helpful. The rooms are decent, beds ok. AC worked great in my room, but my companion's room never cooled down. The tv had only about 3 stations. The beach was right out our back door- beautiful! The pool was ok. The restaurant was middle-eastern, not too bad. It was closed on New Year's day, but we walked next door to another resort and it was great (Cayuba). The beach bar "Umbrellas" was also outstanding- only a few steps from our hotel.
Overall the hotel is a little run down with few ammenities, but if you need a cheap place to stay on Grenada with a great beach and plenty of great food/drink options within walking distance, it isn't too bad.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at this property for 1 night before a cruise that I was taking the following day. Rooms are clean and food is good at the restaurant. Property can use some TLC. Good location overall. Would stay again. A thing to remember is this property is 2 floors but does not have an elevator-so you will have to carry your luggage to the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
3.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
2.1 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#10 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#6 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Beach Resort

Address: Morne Rouge Grand Anse | P.O.Box 27, Grand Anse 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Grand Anse
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Anse
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Allamanda Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Allamanda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Allamanda Beach
Allamanda Beach Resort Grenada/Grand Anse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allamanda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.