We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family affair...and it feels like it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, Grand Anse 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A family affair...and it feels like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The Spice Island Resort is run by the Hopkins family and they really do put everything into making this hotel very special. We had a suite with its own pool and it really was heaven. The staff are extremely attentive and very keen to please. The food in the restaurant is excellent. I recommend the all inclusive which is very good value.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    54
    11
    16
    2
See reviews for
108
362
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milky Beans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a fantastic place, they certainly have picked up the game and run with it, staff were great, food was different but very good, the grounds people keep everything on top form and there was nothing that they couldn't do for us. We stayed in Rm 26 Almond Suite and it was just what I would return to. We were there from 15th November till the 29th November 2012.
The beach is clean and makes for a nice walk and is very safe. A polite no thank you to the beach vendors is all that is need and they leave you alone.
We met a star on the staff called Crystell, she stands out with a beautiful personality and extremely helpful.
We were fully inclusive and were upgraded as we had a Wedding Vows renewal and everything went fantastically well, we even got Delia from the Dive shop on the beach to attend and she dressed to impress... I dive with The Aquanauts and they are a the group that I have dived with every year for the last three years.
I was booked to be at La Source, it closed and did us a favour, we paid the extra and so pleased we did. Only downfall, the Mosquitos in the evening can be a nuisance and if they get in your room there was no electronic device to zap them.
Would we go back... You bet we would.

Room Tip: I can't justify the higher prices for any rooms greater than the Almond Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just back from a week in Grenada and wish I was still there! The island is lovely and not sold out to tourism like other islands. There is plenty to do, although a week on a beach is also appealing! Spice Island Resort really doesn't need another 5* review it will definitely not disappoint! It's close to the airport so no long transfer. We stayed in a Sea Grape suite which is worth the upgrade to be on the beach.The room higlight was the bed which is huge and super comfortable! The staff are very welcoming and warm and seemed to have a great rapport with guests. We really enjoyed the food - no complaints! Loved the beach, it's a public beach so lots of local people enjoying it, something new for us on previous holidays in the Caribbean as it's usually just hotel guests on the beach, I think it gave a true flavour of Grenada. I didn't use the spa so can't comment. When we stayed there were no families, it was mainly couples.

We have never been to the same place twice as the world is a big place and like to go somewhere new but I may reconsider this approach for another holiday at Spice Island!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in a Sea Grape suite, which was lovely; the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and the food was really excellent - beautifully presented food and a very good selection of wines etc on the all inclusive list. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Really not much more to add that other's haven't said already. Extremely relaxing resort. Sometimes we would even wonder if we were the only one's there. Food was absolutely exceptional at this resort. Presentation, taste and variety was beyond more than we had expected. Also, on another note, we did one tour while on the island with Mandoo (sp?). He was a great, knowledgeable, polite, curteous, etc.. tour guide. Would highly recommend him.

Room Tip: Had the Seagrape room. Was fantastic, back balcony opens up right onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here in october and had a wonderful time, the room was absolutely huge ( I was in a Sea Grape Beach Suite )and gorgeous and had a patio with a hammock and then led straight onto the beach - fabulous. All the staff were extremely helpful and I met a lot of guests who were repeat customers coming back year after year. The food was delicious and the ambiance in the restaurant was just the best, all in all an excellent hotel and fab beach and I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anybody whether couples, individuals or families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you can afford it, you won't regret staying at this resort. If you like to be treated with courtesy and respect at all times then this is the place for you. Staff are well trained to make you their number one priority. When occasionally things go wrong ( as is human) the management team go out of their way to make up for it. For example, one afternoon we were enjoying a 3 course lunch but the dessert was rather late in arriving( > 45 mins) so as it was getting late and we had sunbathing and swimming to do, we asked them to cancel it. Later that day, as an apology, we received a good bottle of champagne in an ice bucket delivered to our room ! With a compliments card:-) If you are going to stay here, the sea grape rooms are the only place to be! Right on the beach and definitely worth upgrading to if you can. It's a family run hotel and you get a weekly invite from Sir Royston Hopkin ( owner) to a cocktail party either at his phenomenal home or the hotel itself. He really cares that you have a great experience. Nice guy :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, Grand Anse 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Anse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grand Anse
#1 Spa Hotel in Grand Anse
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Anse
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Anse
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada's breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover's dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown(R) amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring soaker tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Grand Anse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.