We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Loch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Insh Watersports

Loch Insh Watersports
Kincraig, Kincraig PH21 - 1N, Scotland
+44 (0) 1540 651 272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Kincraig
Type: Other
Attraction details
Central Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Loch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Only stopped here for a coffee and a 'look-see' seems like it would be a wonderful place for the outdoors family. Several log holiday cabins and an excellent restaurant 'et al'.
Delightful group of friendly white Campbell's ducks head your way across the loch when they think they've spotted a meal ticket!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    9
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THE BAR/RESTAURANT IS THE VIEW”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This review is purely for the bar and restaurant at the centre. I cannot comment on the rest of the facilities. We visited the Boasthouse twice and have to say neither the service nor the quality improved on the second visit. The first visit we ordered food. A bowl of mussels and chips and a bowl of soup. The mussels were generous in proportion but served in completely the wrong type of bowl. It was so shallow the mussel liquor was inaccessible until virtually the end of the mussels, which left most of the mussels very dry and by the time you almost reached the bottom the liquor was cold. The chips were very incipid and bland they had no colour to them which left them looking very unapealling. The Soup was good. Homemade and a full flavour. What I cannot understand is how three chefs (all standing around) cannot provide a decent serving of chips - surely one of the first things you learn in basic training? The barmaid was clueless had only been there three weeks and not even sure if she had ever seen a bar pump prior to landing the role of barmaid. Drinks were expensive as was the bar food. On our second visit we decided to just have a drink. My husband ordered a pint of the local beer Tradewinds which smelled and tasted like stagmnent water - this was the girls fourth attempt at bringing it up out of the pump. I didn't fair any better with Tennants lager which was flat and tasteless also after several attempts at providing a proper glass. I can only assume because of its setting - which is absolutely awesome - that the owners/management think the setting sells the place. How very wrong can they be? Such a dangerous route in the current climate. Employ better staff and provide better food and then they may just about be able to measure up to the location. It could be an absolute gold mine. So short sighted.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive93, Owner at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Alex D,

Well, we are sorry your food and drink was so poorly served but were fascinated by the "third" chef standing around since we only have two and as most regulars to the Resstaurant/Bar know, training is ongoing at Loch Insh.

We obviously failed you, but why did you not raise these matters at the time? I happened to be in the Bar on your second visit.

The main problem was that there was no request to speak to the Manager who was on the floor. We encourage the public to give us comments at the time either verbally or in the comment slips available around the Restaurant.

I witnessed the problem with the beer on your second visit. For a young trainee, I thought she handled the matter well - pleasant, unflustered and worked out the problem, but it was not "stagnant water". She was aware of the problem with a pint of local Tradewinds caused by the gas running out. Probably an actionable remark to describe as "smelling and tasting like stagnant water," there was no problem with the rest of the 75 pints. As for pouring one pint into another glass to create a head, slick practice I would discourage. The problem was at the time there was too much head on air lines caused by over gassing.

Clive Freshwater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The stay me and my friend was good, there was so much to do there! With the basic learning sailing was good, We would like to highly thank our sailing instructor Andy for his amazing job in the basic sailing for us

Thank you very much Andy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE ONLOOKER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well worth a look .no participation but enjoyed watching.Parking fine.You could spend an afternoon here on the ri8ght day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our best holiday to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As soon as we got into our chalet we knew it was going to be one of our best holidays ever. The chalet was really modern and well maintained and beautiful and large and the views were to die for. I had been worried that they might be in a busy area, but the whole place was really quiet with an exclusive feel so we felt like millionaires who owned the whole place with lots of really friendly, helpful staff looking out for us all the time.

We try to organise holidays that will be exciting for our student children and we are so pleased that they still come away with us even now that they are young adults: they and their friends enjoyed the Kayaking, rowing and Pico sailing and we went on biking expeditions and spent a day climbing Cairn Gorm too. Everyone was completely blown away by how beautiful the area was. We saw red squirrels on four occassions; one was on the lawn by the rubbish bins, and an osprey came and dived for fish in the Loch right next to the restaurant every morning.

Our elderly parents shared our chalet too and we were delighted to find that there were two loos, one with grab rails and a stool which was just perfect for them. They enjoyed riding on the steam train and paid for us all to go on a guided boat trip around the loch, where we learned a lot about the geology and community around the lake.

I had warned everyone that it might be cold and rainy but in fact it was gently sunny most of the time and everyone said it was so beautiful that they didn't care if it rained all week. We didn't see any midges or birch flies.

Everyone thought it was an excellent holiday and the thought that we will probably come back in a year or two made the parting bearable. Thank you so much, everyone at Loch Insh!.

I have written some more about our holiday in my blog http://euphoniumeuphoria.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/watersports-on-lochinsh-with-euphonium.html

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Insh Watersports also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kincraig, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch Insh Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Insh Watersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.