We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papplewick Pumping Station

Papplewick Pumping Station
Rigg Lane, Ravenshead NG15 9AJ , England
0115 9632938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Ravenshead
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Nottingham, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely family day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having lived down the road for years I thought it was about time we took a visit to the pumping station while in steam.
Opened our eyes to actually how big the whole place is and what is involved. We took the tour to the underground reservoir which was interesting. My little boy enjoyed the ride on steam train.
We did feel the childrens play park needed some maintenance, very overgrown with nettles and in places was very tired. Also having to pay extra for the childrens activities bumped up our cost of a family day out, taking them to the workshop and on the train plus the underground tour....all added up to quite abit more on top of the initial entrance cost.
Definately a day my grandads would have loved, shame they are not here to see it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Go on an 'in steam' day - something for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There's something here for everyone. I went with my wife, in-laws and two year old son.

The wife and mother in law liked having a look round, the father in law and I enjoyed looking round all the steam engines and our lad loved it all - especially the miniature railway which he could ride on.

There's so much to see there and it's so impressive to see but really at its best when everything is moving on a steam day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A triumph of glorious Victorian optimism!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I went to Papplewick Pumping Station on a soggy May Saturday - and had the most enthralling time!

Like a lot of people, I imagine, I was completely unprepared for the magnificent spectacle that this inspiring place offers. A pumping station: I mean - how interesting can it be? But imagine a pounding pair of gargantuan, thrusting, oily pistons towering over your heads, decorated with drool-worthy and jaw-droppingly imaginative iconography including birds, fish, flowers and scrollwork whose purpose was to pump water to a reservoir to provide clean water to the good folks of Nottingham AND to look beautiful at the same time!! I can't count how many times I said 'WOW!'

If you love the Victorians for their ability to solve problems and never miss an opportunity to decorate everything they create, then you'll love Papplewick!

If, like us, you go on a 'Steaming Day', when the furnaces are lit and the pumps are working, be prepared for heat, noise and the hugely evocative smell of coal and oil that all contribute to a fabulously exciting experience.

We hopped on the Gold Bus [paying our £2 fair] to be taken up the road for a fascinating visit to an underground reservoir - now defunct. It was cold, wet and musty but worth the discomfort to view such a great example of 19c innovation.

There's an on-site cafe [that we didn't visit] and a very pleasant short walk around a little lake.

Papplewick Pumping Station is well worth a visit, and full marks to the enthusiastic and delightfully welcoming crew that keep this amazing example of Victorian engineering in working condition.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had visited Crossness pumping station in London, which is also beautiful, and as it is currently being restored, it's possible to see the state of some of the machines, pillars etc. before restoration.

Papplewick, however, is fully restored and we were lucky enough to visit when it was in steam - check the website for dates. I am constantly amazed at the way the Victorians made such places so beautiful, even when they were never expected to be seen by the public. It came in under budget, so it was decided to spend the surplus on decoration, and it shows.

Really helpful volunteers are happy to chat and explain everything. There is much to see beyond just the machinery working - a superb day out.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Graham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fantastic place so well looked after by dedicated volunteers well worth a visit a real gem so many things to see

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Graham, thanks for your support and kind words. We do what we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papplewick Pumping Station also viewed

Ravenshead, Nottinghamshire
Ollerton, Nottinghamshire
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Papplewick Pumping Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papplewick Pumping Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.