We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Buri Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Samui Buri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Mae Nam
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Chill out paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Samui Buri is situated right on the beach, away from the main road so it is extremely quiet and therefore an excellent place to chill out, if this is what you are looking for.
This hotel is in need of updating and repair in some areas but all the staff are very helpful and friendly. On arrival we recieved a free upgrade to a room with a plunge pool. The room itself was large and comfortable but the bathroom, although also large was a little shabby in some areas. The restaurant was situated almost on the beach and breakfast by the sea was a wonderful way to start the day. The choice of food at breakfast wasn't huge but it was freshly prepared and adequate. The menu during the day was more like bar food so it was fine for a snack but at night not normally what we wanted. However we arrived at Chinese New Year so there was buffet on the first evening that we went to, it was expensive but very good. The rest of the time we ate at Harry's restaurant which was only a couple of minutes walk away. - Genuine Thai food, very reasonably priced and tasty.
All in all this hotel provided our needs at a price we could afford.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear David N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Samui Buri. Your comments allow us to know where we exceeded or where improvements are needed. I will share your comments with my team in tomorrow morning brief.

We hope to welcome you to Samui Buri again in the future.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    158
    56
    20
    11
See reviews for
104
229
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights. Was first in a deluxe pool villa which was very run down. Had uneven floor boards, rotten timber interior, mouldy bathroom, patched spa. Was clean but needed a face lift. We then asked for an upgrade or was willing to go to another room. The staff gave us a free upgrade to the grande pool villa which was much better. The grounds and gardens are beautiful.

All rooms have a very noisy air conditioner and the beds need some better pillows.

Apart from that the breakfast was great and had the best view from the restaurant. Staff were friendly however not always on the ball. Considering some of the great value restaurants not far away, the cost to eat dinner in the restaurant is extremely high. We therefore never ate dinner there.

Happy hour was great and had nice cocktails, but again the price was ridiculously high considering we could walk 5mins down the beach and get them cheaper.

On all its a great location far away from busy areas and has lots of potential. We were lucky to get a deal that meant we paid half price. If we paid full price we would have been very unimpressed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Alison N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are currently in the process of renovating some of our Deluxe Pool Villas; I'm sorry the Villa that was allocated to you upon arrival was not to your liking.

I will share all of your comments with the Department Managers for improvements.

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri in the near future!

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in this resort in Jan 2013 and our overall experience was good.

Location- The resort is a bit secluded and away from the hustle bustle of Chaweng. However, the hotel provides free shuttle to Chaweng twice daily and there is also a 7-11 store nearby to get necessary items. it was quite peaceful.

Beach- The beach is clean, sunbeds are nice. because of the location, only a few people are there on the beach so you can have the beach practically for yourself.

Staff- Very courteous and ready to help.

Restaurant- We being vegetarians did not have much choice in terms of food. Also the staff did not understand properly. Everything from ham to bacon to steak were veg and they kept nodding and smiling in agreement.

Room and cleanliness - We stayed in a pool villa thinking it will be quite private but sadly it is not private at all. Anyone from the adjacent villas to people passing by can have a look at you in the pool. So the whole purpose of privacy is lost. I think the pool access villas were better off.
The room was nice with traditional thai decor with heavy wooden panellings. The bathroom was large, jacuzzi was nice and big enough for two people. However, i think the overall room has become outdated and requires renovation. the wooden polish has faded at many places.
The housekeeping was not that great. When we arrived the room was done up beautifully and later on it was never cleaned so well. also, the turndown service was average. Toiletries can be improved upon.

Infinity Swimming pool was very very nice. Had a great time there.

Room Tip: no point paying extra for pool villas. pool access rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear preeti365,

Thank you for the comments. I have addressed your vegetarian concerns with both the Chef and Food & Beverage Manager for immediate clarification. The Housekeeping Manager has also been briefed on the up keeping of the room - I will personally do spot checks to ensure the rooms are cleaned to standard.

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I are travellers and stayed here when my family came out to visit us in Thailand for 9 days.

The resort is really nice with pool and on the beach with breakfast buffet by the beach on a morning. The room is really big, 3 of us stayed in one room and had no troubles, but the room is a little out dated. You get free towels from the bar by the pool and the room is cleaned everyday with 4 bottles of complimentary water per room. The breakfast was nice, good variety of food, from Thai to western. We ate at the restaurant one evening but decided to eat out after this - we found it much better value for money around the resort for example, Poom's, Luna Hut and Harry's.

Our room was in the block of rooms and from what we saw we would not pay the extra price to have the private pools because the pool is one big length along all the rooms, so not really private. Plus you spend more time by the beach anyway.

There is a free shuttle to Fisherman's village/Bhoput and Chaweng at 10am and 4pm but only one way, would have to get a taxi back. Can get an airport transfer from here too, they are about 100B more expensive than from the other places around the resort. We rented a car for 1500B p/day but you can get a deal for 3+ days.

The gym was handy to have and all 5 of us used it. It was, however, not what we expected. The display on the treadmill did not work, so you could not see what level you were using etc and there was only one treadmill. It did have weights and an area to stretch. Water and paper towels in there too and good aircon.

When we left we got a free lift to the end of the street to continue our travelling! We enjoyed staying here as the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel does need the odd touch ups though; it is not a modern place but still very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mark A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Your comments will be shared with the team for improvements where needed.

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 6 days at this resort as the 3rd leg of our honeymoon. Koh Samui was planned to be the 'relaxing' phase of our honeymoon.

Our room was a pool villa - which is nothing like the picture on the website. The pool is actually more like a large puddle; to be honest, we didn't use it even once because we just didn't trust it. So that was the first 'tsk'.

The second 'tsk' was when we entered the room. We had requested a double bed but apparently they did not have this request in the system, even though we sent them an email from 2 days before in order to confirm, so when we asked that we wanted a double bed; their reply was that all rooms were fully booked but they would let us know the next day (this never happened).

Badly for the hotel; in the six days that we were staying in Koh Samui, the 4 of them were really bad in terms of weather - so we stayed in the room; which makes one pick on little details
- the a/c was very loud
- the room in general needed a paint over, the bathroom walls had cracks
- the jacuzzi was old, and was 'plastered' together in some places
- towels in the room - very old and used
- room service was slow

On NYE, due to bad weather we were stuck in the room again - there was an event going on but at 125E per person, we found this too expensive, especially seeing that it was raining so the entertainment not as planned, and the seating arrangements were inside instead of the planned outside.
We requested room service (cheese, cold meats platter) and a bottle of wine. Despite the fact that we had to call room service a total of 5 times before someone gave us the time of day, their response was 'the kitchen is closed for room service' - excuse me, but we didn't ask for gourmet meal - a cheese platter only...
Anyway, our 'cheese platter' and wine finally arrived - our cheese platter consisting on a small plate with 10 slices of breakfast cheese! We were too hungry and tired to do anything about it - so we just ignored it... Next day when they came to clean the room however, I placed the cheese plate on the table on the patio with other items so they can take them away - it was there for over 10h... I found that quite off.

I can say more things about what this resort needs in order to better itself, but I don't want to get too boring - better staff (especially for breakfast shift, where you are ignored for the most part, until a waitress yells at 10.15 that breakfast will be over in 15mins so grab whatever you can now)

Reception staff on the other had - a very kind lady and gentleman (forgotten their names) were always very helpful with whatever we asked.

We wish that we had better weather - and perhaps our disposition to the hotel would have been better - but I doubt it.

Room Tip: if you want a pool room - don't book the pool villas - book the pool access rooms - probably new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Alocin83,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review at length. Unfortunately the weather around New Year's Eve was not on our side. The resort had a fabulous night planned, but due to the rain, the plans were slightly changed. I trust you understand that the resort did it's best to ensure a fun-filled evening.

Comments regarding the room amenities will be shared with our team so that they can look into and fix any problems they find.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Samui in the future.

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for one week in a pool villa at Samui Buri Hotel. The hotel area was very beatiful, and it has a nice beach at the hotel. Breakfast was good, and the food in the restaurant was excellent (rather expensive, but way worth the money). I had the best massage in this hotel of all my 4 weeks stay in Thailand. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The only disadvantage is, that AC is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear AndrewJoana,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I will share your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon at this resort. We had a ground floor room with pool access and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room was huge and beautifully appointed. The linen, towels & bathroom supplies were first class & so were the furnishings & fittings. We particularly liked our patio area which had a massage table as well as outdoor furniture where we could relax beside the pool. The staff were ever attentive to our needs & offered a bed turn down service every night including fresh orchids. The resort is very quiet & secluded from the main road, only a very short distance to the beach & many places close by to enjoy delicious cheap Thai & Western food. We will definitely be going back, it's the loveliest island resort we've ever discovered.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor room with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Snagpie,

Thank you for fantastic review! Glad you enjoyed our Deluxe Pool Access room with patio. I will share your comments with the entire team; it will serve as great motivation!

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Buri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.