We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated but still very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Buri Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Samui Buri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Samui Buri Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Mae Nam
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little dated but still very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I are travellers and stayed here when my family came out to visit us in Thailand for 9 days.

The resort is really nice with pool and on the beach with breakfast buffet by the beach on a morning. The room is really big, 3 of us stayed in one room and had no troubles, but the room is a little out dated. You get free towels from the bar by the pool and the room is cleaned everyday with 4 bottles of complimentary water per room. The breakfast was nice, good variety of food, from Thai to western. We ate at the restaurant one evening but decided to eat out after this - we found it much better value for money around the resort for example, Poom's, Luna Hut and Harry's.

Our room was in the block of rooms and from what we saw we would not pay the extra price to have the private pools because the pool is one big length along all the rooms, so not really private. Plus you spend more time by the beach anyway.

There is a free shuttle to Fisherman's village/Bhoput and Chaweng at 10am and 4pm but only one way, would have to get a taxi back. Can get an airport transfer from here too, they are about 100B more expensive than from the other places around the resort. We rented a car for 1500B p/day but you can get a deal for 3+ days.

The gym was handy to have and all 5 of us used it. It was, however, not what we expected. The display on the treadmill did not work, so you could not see what level you were using etc and there was only one treadmill. It did have weights and an area to stretch. Water and paper towels in there too and good aircon.

When we left we got a free lift to the end of the street to continue our travelling! We enjoyed staying here as the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel does need the odd touch ups though; it is not a modern place but still very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mark A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Your comments will be shared with the team for improvements where needed.

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    146
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
95
212
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 6 days at this resort as the 3rd leg of our honeymoon. Koh Samui was planned to be the 'relaxing' phase of our honeymoon.

Our room was a pool villa - which is nothing like the picture on the website. The pool is actually more like a large puddle; to be honest, we didn't use it even once because we just didn't trust it. So that was the first 'tsk'.

The second 'tsk' was when we entered the room. We had requested a double bed but apparently they did not have this request in the system, even though we sent them an email from 2 days before in order to confirm, so when we asked that we wanted a double bed; their reply was that all rooms were fully booked but they would let us know the next day (this never happened).

Badly for the hotel; in the six days that we were staying in Koh Samui, the 4 of them were really bad in terms of weather - so we stayed in the room; which makes one pick on little details
- the a/c was very loud
- the room in general needed a paint over, the bathroom walls had cracks
- the jacuzzi was old, and was 'plastered' together in some places
- towels in the room - very old and used
- room service was slow

On NYE, due to bad weather we were stuck in the room again - there was an event going on but at 125E per person, we found this too expensive, especially seeing that it was raining so the entertainment not as planned, and the seating arrangements were inside instead of the planned outside.
We requested room service (cheese, cold meats platter) and a bottle of wine. Despite the fact that we had to call room service a total of 5 times before someone gave us the time of day, their response was 'the kitchen is closed for room service' - excuse me, but we didn't ask for gourmet meal - a cheese platter only...
Anyway, our 'cheese platter' and wine finally arrived - our cheese platter consisting on a small plate with 10 slices of breakfast cheese! We were too hungry and tired to do anything about it - so we just ignored it... Next day when they came to clean the room however, I placed the cheese plate on the table on the patio with other items so they can take them away - it was there for over 10h... I found that quite off.

I can say more things about what this resort needs in order to better itself, but I don't want to get too boring - better staff (especially for breakfast shift, where you are ignored for the most part, until a waitress yells at 10.15 that breakfast will be over in 15mins so grab whatever you can now)

Reception staff on the other had - a very kind lady and gentleman (forgotten their names) were always very helpful with whatever we asked.

We wish that we had better weather - and perhaps our disposition to the hotel would have been better - but I doubt it.

Room Tip: if you want a pool room - don't book the pool villas - book the pool access rooms - probably new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Alocin83,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review at length. Unfortunately the weather around New Year's Eve was not on our side. The resort had a fabulous night planned, but due to the rain, the plans were slightly changed. I trust you understand that the resort did it's best to ensure a fun-filled evening.

Comments regarding the room amenities will be shared with our team so that they can look into and fix any problems they find.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Samui in the future.

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for one week in a pool villa at Samui Buri Hotel. The hotel area was very beatiful, and it has a nice beach at the hotel. Breakfast was good, and the food in the restaurant was excellent (rather expensive, but way worth the money). I had the best massage in this hotel of all my 4 weeks stay in Thailand. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The only disadvantage is, that AC is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear AndrewJoana,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I will share your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon at this resort. We had a ground floor room with pool access and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room was huge and beautifully appointed. The linen, towels & bathroom supplies were first class & so were the furnishings & fittings. We particularly liked our patio area which had a massage table as well as outdoor furniture where we could relax beside the pool. The staff were ever attentive to our needs & offered a bed turn down service every night including fresh orchids. The resort is very quiet & secluded from the main road, only a very short distance to the beach & many places close by to enjoy delicious cheap Thai & Western food. We will definitely be going back, it's the loveliest island resort we've ever discovered.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor room with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Snagpie,

Thank you for fantastic review! Glad you enjoyed our Deluxe Pool Access room with patio. I will share your comments with the entire team; it will serve as great motivation!

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Samui Buri is on a beautiful beach and the venue in itself has the potential of being a really good property. (although constructed in a way that gives no privacy to anyone anywhere). Alas, the place seems to be suffering from grave mismanagement. The feeling you get when walking about the property is that they have not cared to clean the place in the past couple of months. The fitness centre is outright disguisting (apart from featuring non-functioning machines). It was bad to the extent that I brought it to the attention of the resort manager, who promised prompt cleaning of the place, which two days later had not yet begun. And the children's club is a sad joke, probably put on by someone who hates children, or at least have no idea of their likings and needs.

And the restaurant! Whereas the breakfast is ok (although with extremely slow and unattentive service) and features a good eggs counter, the rest of the day they serve virtually inedible food from a minimal menue. Ou are much better off walking along the beach to one of the beach chacks that at least serve fresh food!

The service staff, especially at the restaurant, seemed to dislike both each other and their jobs. You would see them argue with one another or play with their telephones, but rarely wait on guests, or clearing tables.

This said, the room we stayed in (private villa with "pool") was pretty and well-kept. Nothing special, and with an exceptionally noicy aircon, but good enough.
And the pool area is ok. A bit unkept, like everything else in the place, but not so bad that it would trigger a poor review.

Would not recommend anyone to go and would absolutely not go back. You pay for a four+ star resort and get a three star property with a two- star service. Honestly, they do their best at ruining Koh Samui as a vacation destination!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Adfresa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay. Although not the most favorable comment, we are pleased that you have taken the time nonetheless.

Your comments will be shared with the team and improvements where needed will be considered.

Thank you again,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this hotel last minute and it was an amazing deal. I can not say enough about how friendly, professional and helpful the staff were. Despite constant requests from my 2 friends and I! The staff at the pool bar went above and beyond their duties to be helpful and make us feel at home. Reception staff offered to help us with every issue and were very honest and efficient. The rooms were amazing, as was the pool and the restaurant overlooking the beautiful beach!! I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The only complaint is there is no free WiFi and it's quite expensive to buy it. But if you're there to get away from it all, then it doesn't matter!! The best hotel I've ever stayed at through all my travels!

Room Tip: We stayed in a few rooms, the ones without a plunge pool seemed bigger and more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for posting a review on your stay! I will share your wonderful comments with the team!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Samui Buri for 3 days around New Years. The place is beautiful, we stayed at the villa with a private pool. The room is spacious and has lots of sun coming in. The beach is quiet and good for swimming, and the swimming pool overlooking the sea is perfect to beat the hot sun.
Breakfast was included in our stay, and the buffet breakfast did not disappoint us. The time we went was peak time, so there were lots of families with kids around. But the accomodations are placed in such a way that no noise intrudes.
Samui Buri is the perfect place for a quiet holiday and if you want to stick around at one place and enjoy the wonders of the beach. Though if you want to wander about the island, like we did, the hotel can arrange car and bikes for hire too.
For food, I would recommend the place right outside the Samui Buri (loved their Massaman beef curry) and th restaurant Mr. Poom's in the line of restaurants as you go from the hotel to the main road. hough the Thai salad I had at the hotel's restaurant was brill too.
All in all a nice place to kick back and relax in the sun.

Room Tip: Would advise to specify you don't wnat the rooms right near the pool or restaurant as it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Bushra1491,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. I really do appreciate it! I know I speak for the entire team when I say Thank You for choosing Samui Buri Beach Resort as your preferred holiday destination while on Koh Samui!

I truly hope that we will have the honor of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand
Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Buri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.