We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could have been a nice resort. But it is not.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Buri Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Samui Buri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Mae Nam
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This could have been a nice resort. But it is not.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Samui Buri is on a beautiful beach and the venue in itself has the potential of being a really good property. (although constructed in a way that gives no privacy to anyone anywhere). Alas, the place seems to be suffering from grave mismanagement. The feeling you get when walking about the property is that they have not cared to clean the place in the past couple of months. The fitness centre is outright disguisting (apart from featuring non-functioning machines). It was bad to the extent that I brought it to the attention of the resort manager, who promised prompt cleaning of the place, which two days later had not yet begun. And the children's club is a sad joke, probably put on by someone who hates children, or at least have no idea of their likings and needs.

And the restaurant! Whereas the breakfast is ok (although with extremely slow and unattentive service) and features a good eggs counter, the rest of the day they serve virtually inedible food from a minimal menue. Ou are much better off walking along the beach to one of the beach chacks that at least serve fresh food!

The service staff, especially at the restaurant, seemed to dislike both each other and their jobs. You would see them argue with one another or play with their telephones, but rarely wait on guests, or clearing tables.

This said, the room we stayed in (private villa with "pool") was pretty and well-kept. Nothing special, and with an exceptionally noicy aircon, but good enough.
And the pool area is ok. A bit unkept, like everything else in the place, but not so bad that it would trigger a poor review.

Would not recommend anyone to go and would absolutely not go back. You pay for a four+ star resort and get a three star property with a two- star service. Honestly, they do their best at ruining Koh Samui as a vacation destination!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Adfresa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay. Although not the most favorable comment, we are pleased that you have taken the time nonetheless.

Your comments will be shared with the team and improvements where needed will be considered.

Thank you again,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    168
    60
    21
    11
See reviews for
108
243
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this hotel last minute and it was an amazing deal. I can not say enough about how friendly, professional and helpful the staff were. Despite constant requests from my 2 friends and I! The staff at the pool bar went above and beyond their duties to be helpful and make us feel at home. Reception staff offered to help us with every issue and were very honest and efficient. The rooms were amazing, as was the pool and the restaurant overlooking the beautiful beach!! I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The only complaint is there is no free WiFi and it's quite expensive to buy it. But if you're there to get away from it all, then it doesn't matter!! The best hotel I've ever stayed at through all my travels!

Room Tip: We stayed in a few rooms, the ones without a plunge pool seemed bigger and more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for posting a review on your stay! I will share your wonderful comments with the team!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Samui Buri for 3 days around New Years. The place is beautiful, we stayed at the villa with a private pool. The room is spacious and has lots of sun coming in. The beach is quiet and good for swimming, and the swimming pool overlooking the sea is perfect to beat the hot sun.
Breakfast was included in our stay, and the buffet breakfast did not disappoint us. The time we went was peak time, so there were lots of families with kids around. But the accomodations are placed in such a way that no noise intrudes.
Samui Buri is the perfect place for a quiet holiday and if you want to stick around at one place and enjoy the wonders of the beach. Though if you want to wander about the island, like we did, the hotel can arrange car and bikes for hire too.
For food, I would recommend the place right outside the Samui Buri (loved their Massaman beef curry) and th restaurant Mr. Poom's in the line of restaurants as you go from the hotel to the main road. hough the Thai salad I had at the hotel's restaurant was brill too.
All in all a nice place to kick back and relax in the sun.

Room Tip: Would advise to specify you don't wnat the rooms right near the pool or restaurant as it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Bushra1491,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. I really do appreciate it! I know I speak for the entire team when I say Thank You for choosing Samui Buri Beach Resort as your preferred holiday destination while on Koh Samui!

I truly hope that we will have the honor of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms, quiet location, perfect beach and a beautiful infinity swimming pool. Our only struggle was with room service where every time we called had to repeat few times and still would get something completely different from what was asked. Loved the room and ambience though. It is perfect if you are looking for some quiet down time .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear mariadxb,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay. We're very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the ambiance of the Thai style room.

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked via agoda ... Something to be said about the pictures they show ..but that can wait.

The hotel is well laid out .. The rooms are spacious .. And the pool is delicious .. Love the views ... And the drinks by the pool are great.The staff at the pool bar k.pong and his group are very good and promptly turn out a great drink.

The pool is deep ..so not the best for kids or non swimmers.

Hotel has a gym ..which could be better equipped .. Which brings me to the agoda pictures.
We booked a pool villa ..and the pictures show a big pool and very done up rooms .. In reality the pool is just a small plunge .. And not cleaned every day. The hotel is very old ..and tired they could do with a makeover for the price they charge. The floor boards need polishing, the upholstery needs to be done up...and gym equipment needs to be replaced.

The positives do outweigh all the above ... Staff is courteous, views from the pool are stunning. Breakfast is decent. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, there are some good places close by.

You will need to hire a tuk tuk to get to other parts of the islands...we hired a car and it was quite easy to get around.

If you play golf try the Santiburi golf course ... Awesome.

Room Tip: Two types of Vilas .. Though agoda shows just one .. Ask for the deluxe pool villas, make sure the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear 007travelbug,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor comment about your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

Your comments will be shared with our team for corrective action. I will also make sure that Pong receives praise for the positive comments you left regarding his service.

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri Beach Resort in the near future.

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent Christmas Eve at Samui Buri and was treated like a VIP! We stayed at a different resort but they organised a pickup service and made sure we were attended to while at Samui Buri! Food was great and the staff were very friendly and attentive!

Excellent location, shame the weather wasn't on our side but nevertheless had a fantastic time! They did a raffle and our table won a free massage at the resort! Jesse the hotel manager took incredible care of us! Making sure we always had a drink in our hand and that everything was taken care of!

Highly recommend Samui Buri!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Sykoticx,m

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're glad you enjoyed your Christmas here at Samui Buri!

All the best in 2013!

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel last minute on booking.com and were lucky enough to get a room. With there being three of us and moving around we had a number of requests but staff dealt with this including booking a flight with great efficiency. Patrick on reception is a legend. Jesse who manages the hotel is bang on with everything and was also extremely helpful. All food was fabulous. Defo for ko samui and you can even get the speedboat to ko phangan about ten mins walk on beach, although I'd defo give full moon party a miss!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hello Deana!

Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you here at Samui Buri! I know I speak for everyone when I say you three ladies were truly fun! From Full Moon parties to your quiet movie nights - I'm glad you enjoyed your trip (less the Full Moon Party).

I hope to see you again soon!
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Buri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.