We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant

ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant
18/33 Moo 1,Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
+66 86 268 8178
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overrated ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Nice beach - the best part of this restaurant.
Foot is absolutely average for such cheap Thai place.
There are a lot of small Thai restaurants on Samui which offer the same or even better menu, but not so high ranking.
Something wrong about it's rating on Tripadviser.


Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    67
    13
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A small slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The food here is AMAZING, the service and hospitality have far exceeded our expectations! Everyone is so nice and accommodating and we have no reason to eat or drink anywhere else. I swear you will not be disappointed. If you get the chance to meet the owner he will leave you feeling welcomed. No words can sum Zenzibar up, go and heck it out for yourself, you will not leave dissapointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing on every level!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Do not miss eating at Zenzibar! We arrived just at sunset and the sky was phenomenal! The tables are on the beach and we watched the sun go down as we supped cocktails and our kids had fruit shakes. The food was excellent, ask the owner for a recommendation. We had a de-boned whole fish (I forget what type) which was absolutely delicious! Service was fabulous with the owner's son looking after us and he was ever so polite and eager to practice his english on us. When I rang to reserve a table, the owner offered to pick us up from our hotel and he even took us back again after our meal...what a geezer! He even stopped at the 7eleven for us! Overall an utterly lovely evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had dinner right on the beach. Location was excellent and we enjoyed the sunset right at our table. We liked the food and the service was good. We even went back a few days later for lunch. Good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zenzibar is a little gem on the beaches of Mae Nam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

You cannot come to Mae Nam without dropping into this fabulous family owned and run restaurant. My husband and I have been eating our way through Koh Samui on this trip and Zenzibar was the place who’s name is still on our mind. If an intimate meal with beautiful surroundings, impeccable service and perfectly cooked seafood is what you are after then search no more. The snapper (red or white) deep fried and served whole, deboned with perfectly crispy skin and a sauce of your choice is a must. Our favourite was the red curry sauce which packed a punch but was just delicious. We also had the lobster in curry powder, prawns with salt and pepper and Penang chicken curry and all were flawless. Together with cocktails, beers and my favourite coconut shake the two nights we came here did not disappoint. Yuth and his family go out of their way to ensure everyone is comfortable and relaxed. Yuth’s son Koh Koh is a delight and although no older than 10 is a well-mannered exceptional waiter who will no doubt be running his dad’s restaurant in no time. To top off our positive experience Yuth drove us back to our hotel on both nights so we did not have to get a taxi. Zenzibar is truly a diamond in the rough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.