We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Spend the afternoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant

ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant
18/33 Moo 1,Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
+66 86 268 8178
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 stars 347 Reviews
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to Spend the afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had wonderful lunch at Zenzibar. I was craving Laab Moo but didn't find it on the menu, all we had to do was ask and a large plate of spicy laab was made for us, along with various other yummy dishes. Our host went out of his way to find beach paddles for us to play after lunch. The setting is lovely, nice beach and deep sea in front of the restaurant. Highly recommend spending the afternoon lounging on the chaise with a nice cold drink and awesome food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    58
    8
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zenzinbar - the place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the best thai meals i've had in over 20 days in the country! The service is very friendly and the food is amazingly good! Sure recommend it, especially the garlic chicken! If you are going to be in it's neighborhood, don't miss it! Regards from Lisbon, Portugal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value Staff made huge effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a great value meal for 8 people with happy hour mojitos all night 89 tb
No C/card available so manager or owner said ok to come back tommorow to pay
We had cash :)
NIce beach bar

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were staying at New Lapaz Villas, further down Mar Nam beach, for 2 weeks. We found this gem at the end of our first week and, ended up eating there every night for the remainder, except or the Thursday because of the night market. The owner has put his heart and soul into the place and tries his best to make you feel at home! The seafood was fresh, the chef was excellent. A wonderfully romantic setting! I highly recommend you to try it! Look for the tacky white sign, with green lettering right on the beach!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked Zenzibar after the family (5) asked to have seafood on the beach for dinner. After researching Tripadvisor, we were not disappointed with our choice. Finding the restaurant is a real challenge and some people would give up. If you find yourself in this position don’t. Enter via the road to Moonhut, walk through it, onto the beach and head right. We arrived 15 minutes late and another large group of fellow dinners 30 minutes late. Zenzibar is the ultimate in waterfront dinning. You cannot get any closer to the beach/water. Not five star, slanting tables, basic bathrooms and sand for floors but very special food. Fresh seafood is its specialty, cooked beautifully with the best flavors. For five, we chose the seafood platter, entree calamari, mussaman curry and some deep fried chicken. Absolutely, no complaints. The kids loved the chicken so much we ordered another serving. The lobster with yellow curry powder and the calamari were my/wife favorites. Service was very homely. Unlike many other reviewers, we not offered a pick up from our hotel (at least 20 minutes away) but at the end of the evening we were offered and accepted a lift home. We had to wait a little but were given a complimentary glass of wine each. This is what great service is all about. The owner worked for one of the best resorts and the food and service show. This is our first visit to Koh Samui after living in Asia (Singapore) for five years. We will be back as the food in general has been excellent and nothing more special than Zenzibar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.