We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location - Bar service to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Paradise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 / 8 Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Mae Nam
Neuried, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very nice location - Bar service to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rooms, food and location are good. Hotel as such is a good place to be. The real drawback is all around service. The waiters at the restaurant are, except one, all bad and don't take their job seriously. The are totally uncoordinated and ineffective, they have no plan and getting what you expect is pure luck or takes ages. The absolute catastrophy is the service at the beach front bar. I would go that far pretending they are mobbing the guests. The cocktail are of poor quality and service is really below the minimum to be expected. If you dare complaining you risk to get mobbed and service in the future seems to get artificially even worth for you. I have not seen any professional bartender or waiter during the whole stay and management seem to not really care or try to remedy. Several guests we have talked to are of same opinion and even already complained formally. So do we!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    97
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
139
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

First impressions of the hotel were good but the room we were given was not even worthy of a 1 star hotel. The wardrobe had no handles just a screw sticking out of the wood, the toilet was blocked, both bedside lamps didn't work and the patio door didn't close properly allowing mosquitos to enter at night. The room safe was not attached to the wall and even a child could have picked it up and removed it from the room. Immediately requested a new room or an upgrade but after not receiving a satisfactory solution and following numerous empty promises we left after 3 days to go to another hotel.

Gardens were nice and most staff were very friendly but the standard rooms were probably the worst I have ever seen!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just returned from a relaxing week at this hotel. Our deluxe room was excellent, very clean and spacious and the friendliness and helpfulness of ALL the staff we encountered was great!! The pools were used by us daily and were clean and inviting especially the pool at the rear which seems to be used by fewer guests. The weather was a bit rough at times but we swam in the ocean several times and enjoyed taking out the kayaks for a paddle. This however, raised some issues with the staff as we weren't aware that these were charged out, we have never been charged anywhere for non-motorised sports..... later resolved and the suggestion has been made to place a large sign displaying costs etc. We also made good use of the free bicycles available for guests to use locally, ideal for a quick trip down to the wharf street and for visiting other Maenam shops and restaurants, although you would have to be a very brave person to take them any further on the busy main road!!!
The 4 of us appeared to be the only non - German speaking guests for most of our stay and this was fine, provided you weren't expecting your fellow guests to converse much and you were happy to be greeted with a grunt everytime you smiled and said "Good morning!!"
Thankyou very much again to all the lovely staff we encountered in the lobby, at the restaurant, in the bar, and through-out the marvellous tropical gardens...we had a wonderful time at the Paradise Beach Resort and would recommend it as a great place to stay for a relaxing time away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonypandy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Right where to start, after a long flight we arrived at the paradise beach resort, we were very quickly and efficiently checked in and we chose the all inclusive package through virgin holidays.
We were taken to our room which was 614 and we had a deluxe room. The room was spotless and clean and had a shower room, air con, balcony and double bed. The people who run the hotel are all very friendly and all the bar staff, Kem, Liam, Katherina and Yuri were great and the resturant staff cannot do enough for you. The cocktail list is extensive and the draft beer excellent. The hotel itself is right on the beach front and there were plenty of sunbeds available throughout our stay. There were two pool although cant really comment on them as we spent all our days on the beach. The food in the resturant was excellent although compared to our last all inclusive which was in mexico you didnt quite have the same choice. If you are going all inclusive beware it is not 24hrs. The bar is only from 11am -11pm and the mini bar in your hotel room is not included in the all inclusive so if you have any thing from there you have to pay for it. The food varied most nights and there was some entertainment.
The hotel also has free shuttle buses running to the main town of Chaweng and to fishermans village although you have to book on them in advance but well worth visiting the both places. We only did one excursion booked through the rep and that was an around the island tour. The only thing was as the hotel is moslty occupied by Germans and we later found out through one of hotel reps that the hotel is mostly advertised as a German hotel the trip we went on there were no english speaking guides so although we were being shown around the island we had no idea of what we were looking at or being informed of. So if you are booking trips ask if there are english speaking guides.
There is a spa at the hotel which was occuplied most days, I had one treatment and it was fantastic very reasonably priced compared to the UK. However the treatments are alot cheaper in Chaweng if you want to take the shuttle bus in. Also along the beach there are huts doing massage treatments cheaper that the hotel.
Whilst I was there it was my birthday and my anniversary and the hotel management arranged on both days a cake, bottle of champagne for my anniversary and unbeknown to me my husband and emailed the hotel in advance and arranged a boquet of flowers for our anniversary and they were beautiful so many thanks to the management for that.
All in all it was a good holiday very hot and humid though not great for any walking or shopping in that heat. Would I return again honestly I dont know.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was the 5th time we stayed at the Paradise and, as always, it was a real pleasure. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, with a couple of standout people; "Mai" who runs the front of house in the restaurant and "Rath" who manages reception. They have been at Paradise for many years and are always very helpful. This is my 1st review of the hotel so I'll point out the big positives as we see them. + The suite rooms are large and comfortable, ideal for families. + The 2 pools are lovely and very clean. + The location is very quiet but there are still several bars and restaurants within 5-10 mins walk. + The free shuttle bus to Bo Phut (Fishermans village) and Chawang is a really welcome service as it lets you easily reach some busier areas of Samui if you want to shop or have access to a range of bars/restaurants. + The breakfast is excellent and the service is superb. + The weekly managers cocktail evening is a very pleasant event with the chance to mingle with some of the staff more informally and also other guests. + The prices for food and drinks are quite reasonable. So overall, we are big fans of this hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Me & my husband got the deal from groupon.
1.We had to wait 1 hour & a half for them to fetch us from Koh Samui airport. That was also when we called them to remind them to fetch us.
2. Our room was to be a deluxe room but was downgraded due to full house situation. [But on e plus side, they offered complimentary dinner]
3. Toilet is really small and the water kept changing from really cold to really hot and its uncomfortable as a good shower can really make our day.
4. The bed is quite hard.
5. During dinner at the restaurant, staffs were inattentive to us and it was really difficult to get their attention.

Good things will be:
1. Our rooms are clean!
2. Their in-room menu and food quality is really yummy that we ordered several dishes for two nights.
3. Swimming pool there looks great! 2 of them.
4. Generally the staffs were friendly.

To buy groceries, go to their mall called Big C.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent 10 days here in March and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, mainly relaxing, swimming and eating. The rooms were well spaced out in attractive gardens and there was a free shuttle bus from the hotel. There was a small library in the reception area.

We had one of the suites which was excellent but, having looked at one of the other rooms, was not really necessary as the other room was a good size. Regarding the rooms the storage was good, the bed comfortable and they were kept clean (though on a couple of occasions we had to ask for more towels as our used ones were removed but not replaced). There was free wifi and a safe in the room. The air conditioning was not really adequate for the size of room. As the key, which operated the electricity, had to be removed on leaving the room it got very hot and never really got back to a reasonable temperature until the middle of the night. However, there were ceiling fans as well so it was just acceptable.

There were 2 swimming pools, each with sunbeds around them. There were several umbrellas and it was usually, but not always, possible to get sun or shade whenever you wanted despite the proclivity of the mainly German guests to book their place with towels early in the morning and well before they needed them. The rather narrow but pleasant beach also had sunbeds and the sea was peaceful though shallow for quite some distance out.

We were on an all inclusive deal (as were many of the other guests) and the food was a highlight. We ate at the buffet every evening and this was consistently good. We were doubtful about 10 days of buffets when we first arrived but the chef ensured that each evening had entirely different food – Australian barbeque with delicious steak, Italian which was cooked individually with your choice of ingredients, Asian Wok, barbeque skewers etc. Breakfast included various hot dishes as well as cold and a really excellent selection of fresh fruit.

The main disappointment was the service at the pool bar – the only one on the site. There was a good range of drinks including both alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails but, unless you were very lucky (or just wanted a beer) it usually took about 20 mins to get each drink in the evening, on a couple of occasions we gave up after waiting over 30 mins. Speaking to other people we found that they had also given up the idea of a second drink before the meal as it took so long. This was the result of a combination of often there being too few staff and those that were there were working at what could only be called a very relaxed pace – the restaurant staff were much more enthusiastic and our wine glasses were regularly filled. There should probably be another bar near reception or in the gardens.

Overall, however, an excellent hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the sea are also closer to the bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 18 / 8 Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.