We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Napasai to your Saves list
Belmond Napasai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   65 / 10 Baan Tai | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bc canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Perfect day visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This property offers a 'day pass', with access to facilities, beach towels, and a divine lunch.

Set by itself on a serviceable but not great beach, the attraction is the amazing infinity pool, plus the safe, cocooned atmosphere of a luxe resort.

Lunch included a starter plus a fish dish wrapped in leaves, beautifully flavoured and presented.

Even if you are staying elsewhere, this is worth a bit of a splurge just to sample its delights.

If you do want to stay, its individual cabana type accoms. are impeccable, as is the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    110
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
130
378
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took our kids for a two week holiday to Thailand, and spent the first week at Napasai, Koh Samui. The resort was branded Orient Express then, but I don't think the standards will have changed much.

The Napasai welcome was just what we needed after a long trip to Koh Samui. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings sympathetic, and staff are Thai-style welcoming and attentive. We had booked a Garden Villa, and were expecting a smallish villa with the kids in our room - but lo! a four room villa, surrounded by its own private garden and covered platform for lazing about. Very impressed.

The breakfast is still talked about at ours as one of the best ever. Try the coconut jam if you can - AHMAZING. We got to know some of the staff by name, and the place really became a second home for the week.

On the downside - yes there is one, even in paradise - the beach is a corally minefield, barely walkable without reef shoes. Much better to stick by the pool. And the luncheon options in-house weren't great, unless you wanted a formal sit-up lunch. Which we didn't, every day. So in this regard, I'd recommend a trip out for a meal every now and again.

I would also note it was off-season when we were there, but we do still talk about going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just got back from spending 5 days at Napasai and it was awesome. The location, the suites and the service is excellent. The private beach BAR B Q that they set up for us was extra ordinaire. Stephan and Sascha run an exceptional place. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Friendly and attentive staff and a perfect location. The ideal getaway from the bustle of the city and take some days to relax.
The activities proposed are great, with cooking classes, btt trials and massage training.
Great memories. Definitely coming back one day!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The perfect hotel for everyone that wants a peaceful and luxury vacation. We stayed here for 7 nights in New Year's Eve. A great place that we hardly forget. :)
Staff very - very friendly, and perfect trained - they are there when you need them. :)
Rooms are big and confortable, clean, and you have all you need. The Wi-Fi is working everywhere in the hotel and the quality is good. I highly recommend this hotel resort for someone who wants to relax, a quiet place away from the bustle of the city. It is not cheap but it is worth every penny you spend here.

Room Tip: Worth trying all kinds of massage at the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Having previously visited Napasai and had such a wonderful time we decided to return with our family to celebrate a family birthday. We stayed in a luxurious three bedroomed beach residence with private pool which was wonderful.

Wow, how things have just got better and better. Firstly the beach area is superb - wonderful relaxing loungers, super beach and new non motorised watersports equipment.

The beach bar and restaurant is just an amazing experience to chill out in the early evening, watch the glorious sunsets and as the sun disappears having a wonderful, informal dinner right on the beach.

Some of my family and I went to Pilates and Yoga which is held each morning on the sky deck overlooking the bay with incredible views and so peaceful. Special thanks go to Sadka who was a brilliant and encouraging instructor and made each session varied and challenging.

On visiting the gym area what a transformation - everything has been replaced with state of the art new equipment and the building completely renovated.

We had a special dinner cooked and prepared at our beach residence villa and the evening was just incredible. The new head chef Sebastian who has recently joined Napasai created one of the best meals we had ever had in our lives. The food was equally complimented by Sasha the FB Manager who provided impeccable service and oversaw all the proceedings during the evening. Having Sebastian as the new head chef will definitely put Napasai into one of the top 5 restaurants on the island and rightly so.

On a final note the entire staff at Napasai starting with the General Manager, the reception through to the housekeeping are as friendly as ever and provide an absolutely memorable vacation from beginning to end in what we believe is the best 5* hotel on the island.

We look forward to returning again very soon.

Room Tip: Recommend one of the Beach front residences for an amazing experience with wonderful views that can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is paradise! No pictures or words can describe Napasai, but I am sure that this is a perfect hotel for everyone that wants a peaceful and full of luxury vacation. We stayed in the 2-bedroom residence and it was amazing: 2 separate rooms (with total privacy), one living room with kitchen, a pool sitting room (with another kitchen and another toilet), a gorgeous pool and a mini private beach! We did not want to leave the room. But it was worth leaving some times: the pool is great, the beach is calm and quiet, the bars and restaurant are good and the spa is amazing. Also, the staff is very friendly and perfectly trained. It is certainly not cheap, but it is worth every cent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai Beach Resort & Villas in Koh Samui, Thailand is a secluded luxury beach resort in Maenam Beach, on the fashionable north coast of Koh Samui. Accommodation comprises a selection of beautiful Koh Samui-style private cottages, some with private pools, and two and three bedroom private pool luxury villas for rental and sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Belmond, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Napasai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.