We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Villa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Napasai to your Saves list
Belmond Napasai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   65 / 10 Baan Tai | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Garden Villa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Reserved via AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts program.
Spent 3 nights at this beautiful resort near Mae Nam area of Koh Samuil.
Somewhat remote from the major attractions, but you're on a vacation so you need tranquility. And that's exactly what the resort offers for you. If you know how to drive a bike, just go ahead and rent a bike - hotel staff will be more than happy to arrange it for you and it's dirt cheap!!

Hotel staff is extremely knowledgeable and attentive when it comes to explaining its own facility. As we checked in, we were also greeted by the resort manager, which made it more of a personal experience!

Lovely room with a view overlooking the infinity pool as well as the private beach. One thing I personally didn't like so much was the squeaking noise coming from the wooden floor, however it's the villa cottage so can't help it.

The package included 50 min. free Thai massage. What a relaxing experience. Both my wife and I pretty felt asleep throughout the whole spa course. It was so good, we had to reserve for another longer spa course on the 3rd day of our stay. My wife ended up purchasing some cosmetics used for the body scrubbing course.

Having meals at Napasai is another treat; however, overall it's a bit overpriced. Dinner place was not even half full when we had our last night dinner before coming back home. Thai cuisines were pretty good, but could have been better. If you have the transportation available or okay to hire a taxi, I would recommend to visit the town in Mae Name or the main city area.

Given the hotel surrounded by the nature itself, we have acquainted with many kinds of animal species including a green tree snake that greeted us in the morning, many small/big geckos and a toad at night... On average, only 1~2% of foreign travelers run into a snake in their trip. I guess we got lucky. It was beautiful green tree snake with black markings from the head to the tail. As it disappeared the moment we laid our eyes on the thing, I assume it didn't carry any venom at all. I also remember seeing the head straight, not triangle shaped. Anyway, always watch out for reptiles wherever you go... you may get scared running into one or looking at one, but they're all part of the family!!

Room Tip: If you can afford a pool villa, go for it! Garden villas are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Napasai. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and much look forward to your hopefully next visit.

Best
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    110
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
130
378
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa,ont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the best staff we have ever encountered while travelling not only did they respond to every request they anticipated your needs, from ice cream serviced at the pool to moving the umbrellas so the pale Canadians wouldn't get sun burned :).The rooms are beautiful.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read such comment and on behalf of the entire team let me sincerely thank you.

We hope to be able to welcome you soon at Napasai in the near future.

Best
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is one resort we could never forget! We spent our 4th year anniversary in Napasai and we were blown away at how perfect everything feels -- the clean, oriental room, the cottages that overlooked the infinity pool and the white sand beach, the lush shrubs around the villa, the exquisite massage, and the sumptuous dinner on the shore -- we really couldn't ask for anything more. There's also a hammock by the pool at night where we watched stars from a cloudless night. The resort also offers water sports, but we really went there to relax so we didn't get to try it. It didn't matter; we had pocketfuls of sand and memories to bring home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that we could make a difference and create a memorable stay for you.

Looking forward to hopefully welcome you soon at Napasai

Best
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where to start? This place was absolutely wonderful! We were 2 couples staying in a 2 bedroom pool villa. I have worked in travel for a number of years, and it is very uncommon to have 2 completely separate buildings for the 2 bedrooms, and even more uncommon to find a completely different building again for TWO living rooms (and outdoor and indoor) with TWO kitchens, as well as an outdoor dining area, private pool and private beach...

When we arrived, flowers had been arranged on our bed to spell out "Welcome to Napasai" which was a lovely touch. In fact, there were fresh flowers sprinkled everywhere, which was a lovely touch!

The staff were all extremely polite and attentive, our room was spotlessly clean each day. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, and there were wonderful black out curtains so you weren't woken up with the sunrise each morning. The huge bath could easily have fit 4 people in there comfortably; it was like a small swimming pool! The shower water pressure was fantastic, which is unusual for Asia.

When we wanted to hire motorbikes to see more of the island, the reception staff organised this for us quickly and efficiently with great bikes and no passport or deposit needed.

The food and drink was surprisingly reasonably priced for a 5* hotel, and delicious too.

The only negatives:
- although the pool villa had its own private wifi connection, the wifi speed wasn't great
- the resort is a little out of the way for those wanting to go out and see the town
- the atmosphere was a little dead as there didn't seem to be many people staying in the resort and the on-site restaurants were not busy in the evenings
- breakfast buffet choice was disappointing

Room Tip: Stunning beach front pool villa - absolutely huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your very lovely comments and thank you for having chosen Napasai.

Kindly let me allow to share with you that our breakfast buffet has been further amplified in choice in order to have the Napasai experience enhanced.

We would be delighted to showcase you the updates upon your next visit.

Best
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent 7 night in Napasai hotel. The resort is breathtaking and green. The beach is nice but with stones and you cant easily walk on the sand. Be aware of far location from the main crowded area with all the restaurants..This is the hotel for people who are looking for the quite place to clean the soul and mind. We met their an amazing worker Chai that really helped us in everything. We paid 1200 Bat for the transfer from/to the airport (hotel service) but be aware that regular taxi costs 500Bhat. The restaurant in the hotel is very expensive in comparison to what you get. The breakfast is good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Napasai is a really lovely resort in Ko Samui. We had booked a Sea View Hill Villa with Breakfast included.

When we arrived at the Napasai we were welcomed by the very nice receptionist lady, were taken to a couch near the bar with a stunning view making an incredible first impression. The check in was handled smoothly with a very nice welcome drink and cold towels.

Then we were taken to our room 143 which is actually a very specious villa. Please expect that a hill villa is on a hill, we knew that so no problem for us, but for people with disabilities it can be bothersome, although they take you up and down with a golf cart if you want. The design and location of the villa as well as the view was stunning. Very quiet, very private atmosphere.

In general the staff of the hotel is exceptionally friendly, helpful and there is always someone if you need somebody. Doesn't matter if at the reception, the beach, the pool or even somewhere else in the resort. The managers also take care of every guest. We were asked at least every second day if everything is fine, if we need something etc. THIS IS SERVICE!

The restaurant La Thai has very good french and thai food done by a french chef. We had a few exceptional evenings there. The price for food is between 4-10 Euro for an appetizer, 8-16 Euro for the main course and 6-13 Euro for a dessert. Sure it is a high price compared to restaurants outside the resort, but you get good value for money and I don't think it is overpriced for what you get, a european orientated cuisine with thai style and high quality products. We had a wine and dine dinner once, very nice evening guest were sitting together at one table we had possibility to get a little contact to the other guest, had an exceptional dinner, good wine and a fantastic atmosphere.

What we cannot recommend is the beach restaurant. Prices are nearly the same as in La Thai but quality is lower and the food choices are not so good.

Cocktails at the poolbar are in a average price range of 4-8 Euro. Which is ok, although the lack of little bit of alcohol sometimes, but this maybe good because of the heat.

We always stayed at the beach, is really nice and quite there.. the beach is private which is extremely nice.. although the entry to the sea is a little bit difficult sometime due to stones, but this is nature..

All in all I can recommend every couple that wants to have a stunning experience and a wonderful (quiet) vacation to choose the Napasai!

Thank you to all the staff that made our Vacation so wonderful especially thx to Juan and Jolanta for always being so attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the service and that you had some exceptional evenings at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Thank you for sharing your comments.

As to our Seaside Grill restaurant we have now updated our offer highlighting the Mookata (Thai BBQ) but also offering an array of grilled a la carte dishes.

Thank you for having stayed at Napasai. We much appreciate it.

Best
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our honeymoon at Napasai was heavenly perfect. Very friendly check-in with welcome gifts and in-room amenities made us smile after a long flight. I was very pleased to be able to check-in early in the morning, though the hotel occupancy was high, the room was ready for us. However we booked the Standard villa, it was nicely furnished and was clean and spacious.
Lots of activities offered by the hotel kept as amused, my husband tried different water sports and I went on a small tour around the hotel property, which was interesting and informative.
The staff was lovely and helpful. I had some issues with understanding the Thai English, but my husband was a good interpreter. Breakfast was served very professionally, and of course, it was abundant with all those fruit, cereals, cheese, etc. Don't miss the green tea, I fell in love with it! Funny little birds who are trying to steal your food were a nice peace of authenticity. We tasted all the dishes from both restaurants (try out a barbecue at the beach) - fed up with Thai food for the whole life, too spicy!
Spa is very good, though a bit pricy. The pool is amazing (if not many kids around) and romantic during the sunset, but the beach didn't impress me a lot - the sea is very shallow and rocky-bottomed. It was a pity to have a sunbed at the beach with all the beds near the pool occupied since early morning.
The hotel is definitely recommended, a greater place to relax and enjoy Thailand in all its beauty!

Room Tip: Try the villas not shielded by other villas in order not to lose the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Napasai for your honeymoon. We know how important and meaningful such trip is.

Moreover we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our new array of activities and be rest assured that we are continuing to improve the choice.

Wish we can welcome you back on your first anniversary.

Yours
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai Beach Resort & Villas in Koh Samui, Thailand is a secluded luxury beach resort in Maenam Beach, on the fashionable north coast of Koh Samui. Accommodation comprises a selection of beautiful Koh Samui-style private cottages, some with private pools, and two and three bedroom private pool luxury villas for rental and sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Belmond, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Napasai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.