We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of John's Garden

John's Garden
26/22 Moo 4, Soi Wat Napralarn | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
077 247 694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 66 Restaurants in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 stars 341 Reviews
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited tonight on trip advisor recommendations but were thoroughly disappointed. We thought the restaurant was very pretty on arrival however we were rushed our table then left for at least 15 minutes before anyone brought us a menu. This continued for the rest of the evening as we were ignored or rushed with very brusque service in equal measure. Had all the guests been treated this way, we might not have felt inclined to write a review however the French owner/manager spent a great deal of time schmoozing the numerous French guests. This was made more apparent when after ignoring our table for the entire evening, he shouted over the hedge 'everything ok?' Then didn't wait for our answer. We definitely would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsgardensamui, Propriétaire at John's Garden, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
will not thank you for your review....
funny.. because when i asked you if all was ok, first i did not shouted, and i got your answer that all was ok....
so easy to make a 2 page bad review ,then ask me to come at the table,,
yesterday as you could see we had rain in the garden and it was i bit of a rush as the garden is open air, and all the table was fully booked saying that we totally ignored you is a total lie sir, we do not ignore our guest, just completely opposite as you can read all are reviews, we do our work with love and passion, but yes some night stress and bad weather take over, and saying that all our guest have been treated this way... pur lie also.... glad you did not complain about the food, maybe that means that it was not to bad....
with love from our garden from the swiss owner... john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    86
    19
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

John the owner is so hospitable and runs a great restaurant. The garden is great, we had our own hut tucked away in a corner, it was like an oasis. The massaman curry is fantastic and we all loved our meals. They did forget one of the meals but once they realised they were so apologetic and quick to bring it and gave us a discount. We did drive there and it is easy to find however there isn’t a lot of parking available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good option for a change from fisherman's village in Bophut. The owner had invested in a good ambience with good food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The garden is amazing I must say. Unfortunately the food was a bit disappointing. Don't understand me wrong, it was not bad but it wasn't good either. The homemade ice cream was a definite treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Didn't feel the joy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After many positive reviews on TripAdvisor 6 of us went to dinner at Joan's Garden recently. Sadly , our experience was not nearly as positive as others. We arrived around 9pm without a booking so maybe a bit late for them however, the greeting was less than welcoming somewhat tersely being told to wait at the bar and that some dishes would not be available. We happily waited at the bar but strangely were not offered at drink. It was probably a sign because when some of our group ordered cocktails when we were shown to our table we were greatly disappointed- watery and not the usual recipe for the cocktails we ordered. Most significantly, we found the food a bit ordinary, having had much better Thai food in other restaurants (had lunch the previous day at Zenzibar which serves infinitely better food with much friendlier service). The garden setting of the restaurant is lovely but for us the food didnt meet the setting. The local staff were friendly and professional, the owner/manager (John, I presume?) less so. Perhaps we him on a bad night but wouldnt rush back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsgardensamui, Propriétaire at John's Garden, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
hello, i remember you coming in the restaurant this night, i received you, it was late like u say and we had a lot of customer that night. restaurant was fully booked, and the free tables was net set up yet, and yes i also said that some dishes where not available on the menu, because of the busy night and we don't use any frozen products..
the reason we left u at the bar without offering a drink is that the staff rushed to set up you table...
i am sorry that u did not enjoy our food, but glad that u still find a bit of happiness in our garden setting...
and i was not on a bad night... i tried my best for you as i do for all my guest... and with love and passion... best regards... john ( the owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Garden also viewed

 

Been to John's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.