We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Code

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Code to your Saves list
Code
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   55/13 Moo 6 Bang Por Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Spa Treatments!!!
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Mae Nam
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Splendid hotel with excellent facilities and superb staff. We booked code because we wanted to relax in style and this was exactly what we got. Had everything on its doorstep to ensure you could enjoy the island. The spa can book up quite quickly so worth booking in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Code_and_Lanna, General Manager at Code, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Stephanie,

It was a pleasure meeting you both. Many thanks for writing a wonderful review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Code so much, and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the level of service you received while you were with us at the hotel - thank you.

We do everything we can to make sure that our guests have the very best time possible while they're with us on the island, and if there's anything at all we can for you all you need to do is ask.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    57
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
265
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel and was just what we wanted to start a very quiet and relaxing holiday. Being 'off the beaten track' was exactly what we wanted to ensure that we could chill out and relax but we did hire a car (not from the hotel) to allow us to tour the island at our leisure. The rooms (suites) are extremely well appointed with a small kitchen area (having a full size fridge was great as we could ensure that we had plenty of cold drinks on hand!) and a sitting area separate from the bed area. We were in an ocean view room and the view was absolutely stunning! The pool area is quite small but never crowded and the pool is fantastic - there is a button on each table to request pool service and we were provided with a lovely fruit smoothie every morning when we were at the pool (this is a nice touch!). We were disappointed that water was not provided free of charge at the pool and spoke to Georgina about this and she sorted the problem for us although she didn't think that this was something that many hotels worldwide provide - in our experience it is something which we have never had to pay for (including the other hotels on samui - rockies and sala). Georgina did say that they were looking into the possibility of having a fridge at the pool side.

The fittings are all good quality but the bed (for me) was too hard. We enjoyed a couple of massages (one was very kindly offered as complimentary) during our stay and thought they were very good. The breakfast offered a good selection of choices however fresh pressed fruit juice would add to the experience. We ate at the restaurant on a few nights during our two week stay and felt that it was not consistently good - our last night meal was by far the best!

Would we return - yes absolutely! This is a very good 4 star hotel but if a few more services/details were provided it would rival some of the 5 star hotels.

Thank you to all the staff who were very welcoming and friendly and thankyou Georgina for ensuring we had a great holiday. Hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room for a fantastic view but be prepared to climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Code_and_Lanna, General Manager at Code, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Code. It means a lot to us when guest leave feeling satisfied with their stay. You were with us a week and I know you had a lovely stay. I only wished you had mentioned the bed being too hard for you, we don’t get many guest that find this the case but a % do so we have bought mattress liners that cushion the mattress, my housekeeping team would have had this organized in a matter of minutes. Regarding the water around the pool, we bring daily smoothies and cold towels to the pool and leave 2 complimentary waters in the room. The two hotels you listed don’t offer complimentary water all day long just a couple of times a day. As I mentioned we are in talks to put in place a new system regarding this matter.

I am pleased to read you would return to us in the future.

I hope the rest of your stay in Koh Samui was pleasant.

Thank you for choosing Code.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had always wanted to stay in a hotel with an infinity pool and finally I got to sample one at Code. We arrived for a relaxing week to celebrate my birthday and the taxi pickup from the airport was well worth it (cold towels and water awaited us in the car), the driver friendly and welcoming.

The drive is around 25 mins from the airport depending on the time of day (it can get busy there) but we arrived quickly and Code is tucked away nicely up a hill away from all the hustle and bustle. The checkin staff were lovely and we we were away and up in our room very quickly.

There's only a handful of rooms here and each one has a gorgeous front facing view over the tree tops and over to the ocean. The pool just makes you realise how lucky you are as you paddle up to the edge and can see nothing but a vast expanse of blue sky and sea.

For me the service was spot on, the staff incredibly polite and friendly, all our questions and requests promptly dealt with. On my birthday cake and champagne had been arranged for me, and the cake was absolutely delicious.

We were able to hire a scooter from here (or we could have had bikes or a car) and we took this out for the day - I recommend this as the hotel is tucked away a bit and you don't really want to do the walk down to the front as it could either be dark or a bit of a trek in the heat (plus the neighbouring dogs might nibble you). However the hotel offers a free shuttle service throughout the day.

The room was amazing, like a mini apartment. Lovely big bed, aircon, TV with cable and fridge. The pool delightful with pool towels and bar service. Heaven really.

If you want peace and tranquility and a complete switch off..go to code. Thanks to all the staff for making this special!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Code_and_Lanna, General Manager at Code, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Claire and Nicola,

Lovely to hear from you. Many thanks for taking the time to review Code. I am so pleased that your Birthday week was a great one! You certainly packed a lot in, I know your trip to Koh Tao Scuba Diving was lots of fun. As you mentioned Code is ideally placed out of the hustle and bustle but within easy reach of all of the islands best activities and entertainments so that our guests can be sure to get the very most from their tropical island getaway - and wherever you go and whatever you do, you always have one of our gorgeous suites to come back to...!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Thank you for choosing Code

With very best wishes,

Georgina Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for a week in July. The rooms and facilities are all great - very modern an spacious. Albeit the styling of the hotel tends towards being a bit tacky.. but that is an observation that entirely depends on taste. Hotel location is remote for Samui and you will need to explore by car/moto if you want to get around. The restaurant is not up to par and compared to the pricing (like continental Europe) you´re not getting value. The Code seems to struggle with filling all the rooms and thus we regretted our early booking as pricing dropped about 50% up until our arrival.

Room Tip: High floor rooms for less noise, book late for best price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with a friend. First time traveller to Samui but have travelled to Bangkok a number of times on business staying at 5 star properties. Code really does put many of these properties to shame. "The devil is in the detail' really sums up this hotel. Firstly, the fit and finish to the rooms and the common areas is far above what you would usually encounter in Bangkok, let alone Koh Samui. The interior design awards on their website are definitely well deserved. The tranquil nature of the property is immediately evident as is the breathtaking panoramic ocean views from every villa. Room service and their in house restaurant were definitely well above average. Finally, a property in Thailand that can get western cuisine right!! Even 5 star name branded hotels in this country often struggle with this. I was extremely impressed with not only the food quality but also the presentation and variety on offer. Friendly well natured staff, beautiful ambience at the restaurant and infinity pool, well equipped thoughtfully designed rooms with stunning ocean views all make this one of the best boutique properties I have ever stayed at. It's high ranking on Tripadvisor is justified. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Code_and_Lanna, General Manager at Code, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi there,

Many thanks for your praise about Code. We try to have an eye for detail in all areas of the hotel, so I am pleased you noticed and appreciated this!
Our head Chef Joe will be delighted about your comments on Vanilla Restaurant he is very passionate about his menu, creating daily specials and sourcing local produce. I will pass on all comments to him and his team.
I am so pleased that you found us to be one of the best boutique hotels you have stayed in!

Thank you for choosing Code.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

As far as aesthetics, Code is amazing. It's about as far as you can get from the typical Thai style (which incidentally I also like). It's all about understated modern sleekness. White, natural light and a gorgeous view of Koh Phangan to the north dominate.

The suite was excellent - spacious for a family of three and everything arranged very conveniently, with the bedroom just begging for romance. I was pleased to note that the fridge was well-stocked with items at a very reasonable price... frankly unusual for such a nice hotel.

My only complaints would be that there was no nightlight for our little girl and the shower fixture situation was a bit odd (only overhead, no moveable shower-head or faucet) - but obviously those are minor issues.

The pool at Code is just lovely - especially around sunset. It's black-bottomed so pleasantly warm, and actually has something of a deep end. There's no kiddy pool, but one end is shallow enough that a toddler can stand comfortably.

The biggest complaint I heard from other travelers is that Code isn't on the beach. That said, there are free shuttles every two hours or on demand at a mere 100 baht per trip , and frankly, how much time does one really need to spend at the beach anyway? There are plenty of laid-back bars at Mae Nam that can be gotten to easily and left without regret when you head back to your comfy isolation five minutes up the hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Code_and_Lanna, General Manager at Code, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Daniel,

Great to hear from you and many thanks for reviewing Code. It was a pleasure to meet your wife and your gorgeous daughter Danielle. Your right in saying that Code certainly isn’t the ‘norm’ for Thailand and that is why I we have won many awards for our architecture and design!
I know that you loved to hang around the pool or wander down to Bangpor Beach where Danielle could run around in the sand; Bangpor is perfect for little kids as the water is very shallow. Your comment about the shower heads, you are correct we only have ‘rain shower’ heads however these can be moved slightly. The nightlight, we have dimmers on all the lights in the room and I believe my staff offered you lamp which could of been placed by Danielle cot. As you say these are minor things but most minor problems can easily be resolved if you speak to any of the Code staff.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope the rest of your stay in Koh Samui was fun.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great hotel (location, view, room, service, stylish guests, - everything great).
The remote location is really no problem because there are several options:
bicycles, bikes, cars for rent, taxi transfers (all pricing is the same as everywhwere else on the island), and a complimentary shuttle to the main road.
The manager Georgina makes the difference, - she handles everything perfectly.
Finally, we like the idea of providing the guests with mobile phones for internal and external calls.
In summary everything was great and we will come again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Code_and_Lanna, General Manager at Code, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Iris and Stephan,

Thank you for taking the time to review Code it really is appreciated by us here at Code and for future guest who want a true idea of how the hotel is run. I know that you were here for business and that Code was your haven to come back to relax each day! As you say we are on the North side of the island which is the quieter side, which is why most of our guest book. However if you want to get out and about there are ways to do so!

Looking forward to seeing you both again in October.
Kind Regards,
Georgina Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Code? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Code

Address: 55/13 Moo 6 Bang Por Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Code 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning 'Code' blends cutting edge architectural styling with exceptional levels of comfort, making 'Code' the perfect choice for discerning guests. With all the facilities one would hope to find in such a setting including a state-of-the-art gym, spectacular spa, steam room, tennis court, restaurant and bar, coupled with a magnificent infinity pool complementing an awe-inspiring panoramic ocean view across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Siam with the islands of Koh Phangan and Koh Tao framed in the distance. The interiors of the 40 suites which comprise Code are composed to provide the very highest level of uber-chic luxury and won 'Best Interior Design' at both the 2012 Asia Pacific Property Awards and the 2012 Thailand Property Awards. This stunning design hotel can be best described as flawless...' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Code reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Code Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Code, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.