We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the beautiful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Code

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Code to your Saves list
Code
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   55/13 Moo 6 Bang Por Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Spa Treatments...!!!
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Mae Nam
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the beautiful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked 3 nights in Code as part of a week spent in Koh Samui for a friends wedding. (The first 4 nights we spent in Bophut)
The decision to stay at Code was made based on the Trip Advisor rating and the beautiful pictures online.
We did want a place that was somewhat removed - with the idea being that after the wedding we could splurge on a few romantic days in a more luxurious hotel. But we did still want to have options and experiences whilst there.
If you have been to Koh Samui and have seen it all before and are keen to 'escape' the busy areas then this could be the place for you. My thinking though is that if one commits to 'escaping' to a resort then all facilities on site should be amazing and give you that sense of "why would I need to go anywhere else?" Code didn't quote do that for us.

If we hadn't hired a scooter for 2 days to get around (300 Baht per day) we would have had to move to a new resort - the Taxi fee to anywhere was not only steep but marked up from standard Taxi fees to give the feeling that Code were profiting off the fact that you are stuck for choices. (Charging 1600 Baht return to Chaweng is an added expense you dont factor in when making a booking)

So if you are trying to really experience Koh Samui and also feel pampered as well I would think staying in BoPhut would still be enough removed from the craziness of Chaweng and yet offers a lot more options for transport, restaurants, bars etc.

I think feedback is only useful if it is accurate and non-emotive so I will give some dot point facts.
- The rooms are visually beautiful as are the views from the balcony - stunning
- The rooms are very clean and well appointed, air con, fresh water daily, big beds (beds are very firm).
- The stairs are extremely steep and there are a lot of them. Between the rooms, pool, restaurant and reception all on different floors, no lifts, and no at pool service
- The Wifi access is excellent and consistent
- The restaurant is small and menu is very limited (no buffet breakfast), given that there are no walking distance options for meals this is a serious flaw
- There is a need for a bar area or lounge for atmosphere and social point for guests
- The day spa is a very nice retreat, and the ladies in there were just lovely, prices Ok for resort pricing
- Most staff were friendly enough but, a little too casual and did not 'go the extra mile' to provide the level of service we have become accustomed to at other resorts.
- The shower gel is toxic to your eyes, like 3 days later still stinging kind of toxic.
- I feel Code could at least try to take the sting out of the 1600 Baht return fee to Chaweng with a simply daily transfer to Chaweng rd each morning

In summary, we were disappointed but this can mainly be attributed to the fact that the distance away from everything is not well compensated for in services or facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

The quiet private location Code enjoys is one of the key features which encourages people to choose Code to escape the hustle and bustle of other areas on the island - if you found Code's location not to your liking this would suggest that maybe you should have chosen somewhere closer to wherever it was you wanted to go...

We provide exceptional accommodation at a very reasonable price which is a breath of fresh air when compared to what is available elsewhere...

We do not put an additional charge on any taxis called for our guests - quite the contrary, we make sure that our guests pay the very best rates possible as a result of their taxis being booked by local staff rather than out guests being subjected to the higher rates which taxi drivers often charge to tourists...

Our shuttle bus hold up to nine people and we charge very competitive rates which become even better value when catering to larger groups...

Great that you enjoyed our multi-award winning interior designed suites and enjoyed the spectacular views...

I would say that the disappointment you felt was as a result of you choosing a location which didn't suit you - Code is not closer to Chaweng nor do we provide complimentary shuttle to Cheweng because Code provides an escape from the whole 'Chaweng experience' which our guests have made an effort to distance themselves from...

The herbal shower-gels provided at Code are made with all natural ingredients and are very popular with our guests - they are in no way 'toxic' but as with most other shower-gels if they are put in your eye some stinging will occur as is the norm...

The team at Code do all that we can to make our guests' time with us the very best they can be - if you need any help or advice all you need to do is ask...

With many thanks and very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team

With many thanks and very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    70
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
330
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

There is very little praise I can heap on Code that hasn't been said already, so forgive the repetition: the staff are wonderful, greeting you on arrival with warm wonderful smiles, providing you with a mobile for any event you need, even when you're off the site of the hotel, they said they will always assist. The drive to the hill top overlooking the sea is simply stunning. We needed an extra night when we first arrived early, and we were given a beautiful top floor suite, then moved to the ground floor, still with wonderful views, for the rest of our stay (it was me plus my son who is 4).

The food in the restaurant was a little on the weak side for breakfast: no decaf coffee, the eggs were rubbery and cold, although they happily made me fresh ones (fried or poached) and the range was a bit limited to toast, pastries, Thai noodles and aforementioned eggs. There were sausages and bacon, but they didn't look appetising. The lunch and dinner menus were great through, even if service was a little slow in a not so busy restaurant, but you kind of get used to that in Thailand and it really didn't matter. I was served wonderful cocktails outside my room where I would sit of an evening with my son asleep in the room, and me looking at the stars - it was fabulous. They also arranged babysitting for me at a really reasonable price.

There is a shuttle bus to take you to one of two gorgeous quiet beaches - or you can request to be taken to any local beach, busy or quiet, and they will also recommend you somewhere. I had a bad experience with a cafe owner on Buddha Beach so I really don't recommend that cafe - tried to rip me off money, her daughter hit my son and the owner accused me of being a 'white liar', which was nice. So don't go there for food or drink when you're on the Buddha beach!

Otherwise, relaxing around the pool was fantastic - although the sun doesn't hit the whole pool area so I recommend getting up early and bagsying the four poster sunbed to the left hand side of the pool, as that's where gets the most sun. Code is a serene and delightful hotel and with a great relaxed vibe and lovely smiley staff... my only want as a single traveller, was a bar, hotel or public, where you could hang out and meet others, or just have something of an atmosphere. As the hotel is fairly new, it still has a 'just built and decorated' sort of feel to it, which I would imagine in a year or two, will have mellowed into a groovier feel, but for now, with no bar and no central place to congregate, it does lack that certain X factor, that would have made it a 5/5 rather than the 4/5 I have given it.

That said, I was a single mum travelling - if you are in a couple I doubt you'd want to make use of a public/hotel bar... so for you guys, it's perfect... :-)

Room Tip: top for the views, ground floor for the pool - all good and all with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Wonderful to hear that you had such a good time while you were with us.

We are currently in the process of upgrading the breakfast options and are encouraging guests to enjoy 'Rise and Shine! Breakfast in Bed' through room service to get the day off to an ultimately luxurious start...!

We're also introducing cocktail hours at the bar to set the scene to enjoy the perfect sundowners - the ideal way relax at the end of a great day...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon...

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We selected Code because we wanted somewhere to chill out for a few days and did not want the chaos and partying of Chaweng beach. The rooms are great, view wonderful, service and food very good and pool lovely. If you do not have a car, be aware this is not within easy walking distance to much. It is really is a place to go and "be". There is a shuttle to the beach, however likely best to ask if they can drop you at Maenam beach rather than the current drop off, which is on a small beach without much to do or much beach for that matter!! We ate all our dinners onsite at the hotel and were very happy with that. We would definitely go back. As with many a Thai hotels the beds are pretty firm! A note to the hotel - put more shelving or hooks in the bathroom. We tried the spa, and I would say it was ok but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Great that you enjoyed your time at Code so much - enjoying the perfect blend of both comfort and relaxation...

Thanks for your advice and recommendations..!

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Code for 3 nights and would have happily stayed longer. The price is amazing value compared to other resorts of the same standard. On the plus side the pool area is lovely, the rooms modern and fresh, and the views from the balcony (we stayed on the top floor) are stunning. It’s worth paying the extra to have breakfast included as the offering is good (freshly cooked eggs) and there is no where else nearby. If you are considering Code you MUST note that it’s in Bang Por at least 15 minutes away by taxi from the nearest busy area of Bophut (and a taxi each way would be around $15 US). Also do note that it’s a 10-15 minute walk downhill on the way there and uphill on the way back to the beach (but the resort does offer a shuttle twice each day) – on the beach you’ll find a selection of relatively basic bars and restaurants. Overall a great hotel if you are keen to see a quieter side to Koh Samui and the staff are very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - as long as you don't mind the stairs (as no lifts) - the views are even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Code so much - our quiet private location makes Code the ideal base to get the very most from the island...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon...

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Currently enjoying the sunset in the balcony on night three of our four night stay, looking over the turquoise waters to Koh Pangan while my fiancé is making the most of Code's spa service.

From the moment we arrived we have been all smiles, Chris and the team and Code have done an amazing job to provide an of providing more than the typical resort service, but the type of experience that makes you feel as though you are staying at your own apartment in Thailand.

Nestled on the hillside among countless palm trees, Code offers the ideal location to abscond from the more "in your face" parts of the island and relax in the clean, modern and well appointed facility. The attention to detail and taste present in the design of the rooms and throughout the hotel come through quite strongly.

We have been able to traverse the island with ease using the motorbikes available for hire, and other vehicles are also available for hire.

The air conditioning in the rooms has also ensured we slept soundly.

I definitely recommend making Code part of any Samui experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Wonderful to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us so much...

Guest satisfaction means everything to us - the team at Code do everything we can to make our guests' stays the very best they can be...

We look forward to welcoming you back to Code sometime soon.

With very best wishes,

Sara and The Code Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are newlyweds and vistited Code on our honeymoon.

We first came across Code on the Tripadvisor website, and was astounded at the rates charged for such a neat hotel, according to the photographs.

Well, what can I say, the stay was absolutely out of this world!
From the first moment arriving at Code, till 8 days later when we checked out, we loved every second spent there!

The rooms are very neat and classy and we especially loved the lemon grass smell of the room.
The cell phone given to us on arrival also gave the extra sign of security on the island and confidence in the hotel itself.

The restaurant was an absolute treat, as every dish we were served was absolutely delicious!

A special mention need to be made to the staff, as each and every one of them went out of their way to assist with our demands and arrangements.
Joe also needs to be mentioned as he is the "gem" at Code.

We would recommend Code to everyone visiting the island of Koh Samui!

Once again thank you to Barny, Joe and the rest of the Code staff, we will most definitely be visiting your wonderful hotel in future!

Kind regards
Bertus and Charlene Malherbe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!

It really means the world to us that you chose Code as your honeymoon location, and we're so glad to hear that you had such a great time while you were with us.

We provide the setting but it's wonderful guests such as yourselves who really make the place magical - Thank you!!!

We can't wait to welcome you back sometime soon!

(Email Barney and remind him that you're returning honeymooners - he'll look after you...;)

Loads and loads of love and very very best wishes for the future,

from Sara and the Code Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from our stay at code hotel.
After long nights researching the best place to stay on the island, we were delighted with our choice...from the moment we got picked up at the airport to the moment we left the service was fantasic.
I am very surprised at the recent couple of poor reviews on this hotel, as with a little bit of research you would clearly see that this is not located in the centre of the main resort, but it is a traquil hideaway that enables you to get away from it all.
The complimentary shuttle to and from the beach is a massive plus, and helps you get to the local beach in minutes, and clearly states in the reception area what time is drop off and pick up.
Joe was brilliant and was always on hand to help and assist.
We are looking to stay in samui again next year and definately would stay at the code again!!

Thanks you code
Tim and Liz Richards

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

Wonderful to hear that you had such a good time while you were with us!

We do all we can to make our guests' stays the very best they can be..!

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Code? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Code

Address: 55/13 Moo 6 Bang Por Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Code 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning 'Code' blends cutting edge architectural styling with exceptional levels of comfort, making 'Code' the perfect choice for discerning guests. With all the facilities one would hope to find in such a setting including a state-of-the-art gym, spectacular spa, steam room, tennis court, restaurant and bar, coupled with a magnificent infinity pool complementing an awe-inspiring panoramic ocean view across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Siam with the islands of Koh Phangan and Koh Tao framed in the distance. The interiors of the 40 suites which comprise Code are composed to provide the very highest level of uber-chic luxury and won 'Best Interior Design' at both the 2012 Asia Pacific Property Awards and the 2012 Thailand Property Awards. This stunning design hotel can be best described as flawless...' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Code reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Code Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Code, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.