We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of By Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added By Beach Resort to your Saves list
By Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   12/2 Moo 5, Bangpor Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 59 Reviews
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights after a tour of Bangkok and the north of Thailand and it was the perfect place to disconect and just enjoy the island's laid back life. The bungalows were really clean, we just had a small problem in one of the days, we still didn't understand what really happened, we were staying on the beach and someone from the staff came and told us that there was this "big cat" that came through our roof and broke a part of the sealing. It was actually a little bit funny. They took care of everything in a few hours and our room was clean and the sealing was fixed just like nothing ever happened. Everybody was very nice and helpful, the owner gave my friend some medicine when he was feeling a little bit sick and also volunteered to take him to a doctor if needed.
I highly recommend this place if you want a quiet place to relax and enjoy the sun, and the price is just ridiculously low

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at By Beach Resort in December 2013 before the New Years period. The team are awesome there! Everything was clean, out bedrooms were serviced every second day and the food was great. Although the location is not central to the main party areas in Chaweng Beach, to get a taxi is just 15mins, and it was quite nice to be a bit away from the party madness. Will definitely recommend By Beach to others :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were looking for a quiet little place to chill and forget about our busy jobs and we found out By Beach was exactly what we were looking for. The place is quiet and relaxed, away from busy, loud Chaweng. The bungalows are clean but there is no luxury there: a mattress on the floor and a very simple bathroom. What makes this place so charming is the little bar by the beach, the cool music playing in the background, the dogs of the owner who are running around playing, the guests (equally chilled!) from every corner of the world and of all ages (backpackers as well as families of three generations were staying there). Personnally I found that the food and drinks they were serving was fantastic: fresh, tasty and not expensive at all. There is a pingpong table, you can go kayaking, there's a laundry lady living not far away who washed our clothes and you can rent scooters for very little money. Excellent place to get away from everything - wish we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with a ventilator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I spend half a week at this little piece of heaven. It is a perfect little resort if you are looking for a quite time and to spend time at the beach. I'd checked it on tripadvisor before going, and it was exactly what I expected. Food was alright, it was what i'd expect at those prices, there smoothies on the other hand were amazing. Service was very good and helpfull, and the rooms were clean. I left the place feeling very reelaxed and glad i'd gotten to spend a few quite relaxing days there.
One note, do bring something to get rid of mosquitos with, as there were some at night

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

By beach is a nice chilled out, quiet retreat, don't expect all night parties, in fact the bar closes at 9.30, the rooms are what I would call hippytastic, a mattress on the floor in a wooden hut, no fridge, no aircon, no tv, wifi is fairly quick at 10 meg, you can walk for 15 minutes on the beach and not see another soul, perfect if you just want to unwind, bar snacks are all very good too, very nice yellow curry mmm, and not forgetting the adorable pets that wander around day and night, bring some treats cus the Andrex puppy is just darling, to summarize , 9 out of 10 if you like to chill, just need a fridge in the rooms please.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of mozzie repellant, you'll need it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good location and very friendly staff.

You can't ask for a more relaxed place and rooms are quite large. The food is good and the staff will help with most things.

The only problems were very patchy wifi and a bit of a cockroach issue in the bathroom, but that's pretty standard on Samui.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Altough we disliked Koh Samui, our resort felt like home! The owner is amazingly friendly and helpful. Make sure you like dogs and cats, they have a big pack who are very friendly. Buy some milkbones or you end up sharing your breakfast, we lovingly bought 2 bags. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is wonderful. We mis the Casablanca and Summer Kisses drinks already! The cabin is very cosy, good bed and clean. Taxis are very expensive, rent a moter scooter for only 250 baht a day. The owner helped us to call Nok Air to arrange an earlier flight back to Bangkok. Without any extra charge. An example of great Thai hospitality.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to By Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By Beach Resort

Address: 12/2 Moo 5, Bangpor Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — By Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By beach resort situated from Bang Poo to Ban Tai in an area of outstanding natural buauty , By beach resort is in the perfect location for discovering all the delights of Koh Samui. You may found ,where the real samui is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your By Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.