We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui to your Saves list
Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Moo 6, Bangpor Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Mae Nam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

An amazing place to stay with a hospitable and courteous staff. If you are looking for some quiet time and away from the hustle bustle of the city this is the place to be. Although its located at a steep mountain, travelling to and fro is not an issue as the hotel provides a car drop everytime you need to go down to the city
What really impressed us that they also provide an individual mobile to call them free of charge. That's such great hospitality. The views are breathtaking and the personal pools are divine. The only issue one may face is the food if you are a vegetarian but the chef was kind enough to prepare something for us. Overall a beautiful place to stay! Totally impressive.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    62
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
69
116
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our stay at this resort was outstanding. The staff and management were very helpful and nothing was any trouble and their advice and knowledge was greatly appreciated. The resort itself is up in the hills approx. 2kms but access is not a problem with their own courtesy pick up and drop off and the use of a complementary mobile during your stay . Our accommodation was outstanding as it was furnished beautifully and very clean and the private plunge pool was fantastic. Food in the restaurant was wonderful and what ever you do enjoy the yummy cocktails, we certainly did. We also took a tour of the island from the resort which was fantastic and we had Sak as our guide he was great.
Overall if you want a relaxing stay away from it all this is the place.....Beautiful

Room Tip: We had room 20C it did have a great view from the top balcony. If you want good coffee out of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My partner and I scored a great deal on Deals.com and stayed at this hotel on the back of 2 nights stay in Bangkok. We had a great time! Standouts of the hotel are it's amazing views and service. The hotel's general manager Stefan was so lovely and he gave us lots of ideas of what to do on the island during our stay. He definitely went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. A lot of people have mentioned the big hill that you have to go up to get to the hotel. This is honestly not a big deal at all. The hotel takes you up and down this hill in their car upon request which is a 3-4min drive and you're on the main road. There's no way in hell you would walk up and down - just not an option. They give you a phone to use to call them when you're ready to be picked up from the same spot so call them when you're around 5mins away and you wont be waiting long for them at all. This is a 24hr service too which is great. They even offer to pick you up from wherever you are and depending on your location this doesn't cost much. This hotel is definitely for those who want to get away from the chaos, so if you want to be in the heart of Koh Samui don't stay here, stay in chewang. You can still easily get to chewang by cab for 400 baht ($13AUD) but it's 25mins away so keep that in mind. The hotel can also pick you up from wherever you are if you don't want to take cabs, hotel to chewang is around 900 baht each way.
The hotel food was great and although some people have said they didn't enjoy their western food menu I really liked it. The food at the hotel however is pricey compared to restaurants on the main road so if you're looking for a cheap holiday you'll get more bang for your buck if you eat in chewang or mae nam. It's still cheaper than prices in Australia but to give you an idea their cocktails are around $10, whereas a cocktail from 4Monkeys (a bar directly in front of where they drop you off on the main road) is around $3.50. We ate at the hotel a few times and enjoyed every meal, and the views from the restaurant are breathtaking. You must try their deep fried banana - it's unreal!
The hotel rooms themselves are very worn out compared to the images on the website but it was still comfortable none the less with all the amenities you need. The private pool was clean and great to swim in. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I recently returned back from what I can in all honesty describe as paradise on earth. The photos, as good as they are on the Infinity website, simply don’t do it justice!

The Arrival:

We requested that the hotel pick us up from the airport, the thai driver came to pick us up with fresh water . Finally, a driver in Thailand who speaks perfect English. He was really friendly and know perfectly Koh samui . He gave us the run down on everything Samui. Although we had been to Samui and Infinity many times, and are pretty familiar with all of the high end places like The Banyan Tree etc was still helpful to hear about the latest developments and importantly, which restaurants to go to.

After a reasonable drive, and a 4 or 5 minute climb up a hill, we arrived at the palatial resort grounds, where we were greeted by some cute Thai staff. We waited on the lobby , with a welcome drink, Fresh towel and some chocolate whilst looking out at the ocean view beyond.


The Villa

Simply mindblowing. We have stayed in luxury before, but never anything like this. We got upgraded to a Two Bedroom apartment replete with white leather couches, the softest floor rug we have ever felt. The view out on to the private infinity pool and the ocean beyond is something we woke up every day admiring, From the sunrise to the sunset the view was amazing.

We spent all day soaking up the sun, reading magazines, and ordering room service. From our particular villa, we could see the main restaurant, and the staff often came up to ask us if we wanted any food or drinks. We felt like royalty.

In all honesty, the interior of the villa is more modern and luxurious than anything we have ever seen or experienced. It was like a glossy magazine cover, with top notch furnishings and bedrooms to match. No complaints there.

The Restaurant

The restaurant had an insane view of the ocean beyond on one side, and the Spa / Villa complex on the other. Spacious, and plenty of fresh air, it was the perfect place to wake up to breakfast. The buffet had everything necessary like the last time .

I was happy to discover the new menu a lot of choice and the thai food always amazing.
Eating sme ice cream near the pool was really relaxing.

The Resort gave us a mobile phone so when we wanted to come back, we just had to call up the taxi, and it was taken care of.

The Positives

The ultimate relaxation destination. It is private and perfect for anyone who wants a true break, and a true sense of the lifestyle of the rich and famous. The staff are helpful, and provided you are not rushing around to a strict timeline, then it makes for an incredibly relaxed holiday.

Recommendation

Without a doubt - go to this place as a couple or for a young family to just relax in luxury. Head out to some of the restaurants in Fisherman’s village once or twice while you are there, but otherwise, enjoy the space, tranquillity and privacy of the resort and save doing touristy things for another time!

PS: Don't forget to try the massage they ave some discount on it and the girls are really nice

I was really happy to came back and i will come back again for relaxing vacation

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was our second visit to Infinity in as many years but sadly it may be our last. in the 12 months since our last visit a few things have changed and none of them for the better.

The views are simply stunning but views are not everything. We love the remote and peaceful location; the stunning design and modern decor. We love feeling like rock stars and pretending - at least for 7 days - that we live in a spacious apartment with million dollar views. It is unfortunate that Infinity struggles to achieve 5 star on many levels. We did get to sit down with the GM and raise our many concerns. He listened to our feedback and has taken this on board so one can only hope things will improve. This review is an honest account of the issues we raised with him....

Before booking here do ask yourself what type of holiday you want. It is fine for older couples (without mobility issues), honeymooners and those who don't want to party. If you have young kids it could be a death trap unless you watch them every second. If you have older kids they would soon get bored and if you are going out every day keep in mind that taxis on Samui are not cheap. We were at the end of a 4 week Thailand holiday so we were happy to spend most of our time at the resort and relax.

We had the same apartment as last year - 12L, on the same level as the restaurant. The terrace is very private although it doesn't get any shade until late in the day. The long infinity pool is shared with the adjacent apartment and is good for doing laps.

The wonderful Aum (front office manager) is absolutely delightful. She absolutely embodies everything that is wonderful about the Thai spirit and she's one of the resorts best assets. While all the service staff we encountered were friendly and pleasant, most are lacking in basic English, training and confidence. (Which is no fault of theirs.)

On checking in to our apartment it was pointed out there was a 30 baht charge for drinking water. In 6 trips to Thailand staying at hotels from 3 to 5 star we have never encountered a resort or hotel that does not provide complimentary bottled water. It's not a lot of money but given Infinity's remote location with no shops in walking distance, free water should be a given. In a further insult to paying guests, the 7/11 at the bottom of the hill is being rebuilt so Infinity now charge 100 baht to drive you to the nearest family mart so you can buy yourself water to brush your teeth! 5 star, really? The GM told us the no-free-water policy is made by the owner...for the sake of saving a few bucks it's a massive PR fail.

Since our last visit the resort is starting to show the effects of extreme weather. Once pristine white-rendered walls are now stained and weathered. The grass is mowed around the sun loungers so the grass underneath is a foot high. When low season occupancy is at 35% this simply shouldn't happen. The wooden floor in our apartment was split and splintered - a hazard for bare feet. The black tiles in the shower were covered in white scale. A pillow slip had 3 holes in it. Another was stained. Towels have seen better days. The mesh on our sun lounge was torn. A good thing we had two bathrooms as the water from the shower didn't drain and flooded the bathroom. I'm posting photos of these things because every other review posts images of the stunning views but as the title suggests views are not everything.

As we found last time there is a major problem with ants. It is one thing to have ants and bullants on your terrace, but quite another to find a bullant crawling cross your sofa. Or bed.

The open-air restaurant has been improved following the installation of blinds but the ugly white wooden furniture with peeling paint and dirty stained cushions needs to be thrown on a bonfire. If this were a local restaurant on the beach it wouldn't matter but when Infinity bills itself as 5 star and uses phrases like "redefining global standards" on its webpage, and charges 1500 baht for 200g of Aussie beef on BBQ night - they need to do better.

Restaurant staff are pleasant and try very hard to please but are obviously lacking in hospitality training. Their minimal English is a real problem, even the simplest request can be a challenge and conversations are awkward as they lack confidence. We travel to Thailand often and we get the whole TIT (This is Thailand) vibe and we certainly don't expect everything to be the same as back home. We are also very considerate that not all locals have the opportunity to learn English in school....but when you have staff working in a 5 star resort clearly management need to provide training and support to them, not leave them to flounder on their own as we witnessed so many times.

If you are swimming or sunbaking by the pool (note there is not a single umbrella here) the restaurant staff will be standing around with nothing to do. A refreshing glass of iced water delivered to your sun lounge? Not a chance - no free water in this paradise.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Some days the omelets were really nice. Other days they were minuscule. It depended on who was cooking. Some days the hot food was warm and tasty, some days cold, sometimes bland. I don't think that leaving the lids off the bain marie is wise = cold, fly-blown food. The croissants were stale, the smoked salmon fresh.

Dinner was a Fawlty Towers-style comedy of errors, except it's not funny when you are paying 5 star prices. We had some free dinners as part of our package but that is no reason for it to be so bad. I had a salmon fillet, nice if somewhat overcooked, while hubby's meal of fried pork with garlic and pepper looked disgusting and was almost inedible....no real pieces of meat just dry, hard, deep fried gristle. We suspected it may have been remnants of the pork dish at breakfast two days before. Steamed broccoli and cauliflower with my main were cooked nicely, but the carrot was so raw it flew across the plate when I tried to stick my fork in it. I ordered a papaya salad for entree one night. It came out with a chicken kebab on top. Having been vegetarian for 25 years I sent it back, somewhat annoyed. Nowhere on the menu did it mention chicken. When I raised this with the restaurant manager he was very apologetic but a lesson for this young man....far better to say sorry then fix the problem than apologize 20 times. Admit it's a mistake and for goodness sake update the menu descriptions (as I suggested last year in fact!) He's a very nice guy but has a bit to learn about managing people and issues. He certainly has his work cut out for him to turn that restaurant around and he needs to be present more often to deal with the issues and support the staff. And when he is present, he needs to lead and manage and not just stand behind the bain marie at breakfast waiting for a guest to come along so he can lift the lids off for them!

For a wonderful meal and stunning views do visit Kitchen Pha at Bang Por, about 100m from the 7/11. Khun Pha speaks excellent English and will have no problem understanding any food allergies you may have.

We had two massages as part of our deal and they were quite nice. Much better than last year when it felt like a 5 year old giving you a back rub. But would I pay the going rate of 1600 baht per hour? No way, not when the massage therapist leaves the room mid-massage to answer the house phone (and not a quick call!) - answering machine perhaps?

This year we stayed on a Luxury Escapes deal, last time it was deals.com.au. The deal promised access to Infinity's 'Beach Club' however we learned only on check-in that it is yet to be built. Not a big issue for us but if this was important to you, you might be really annoyed. What is offered in these deals needs to be delivered for this type of marketing strategy to work. We spoke to other Aussie couples who were feeling very let down and indicated they would not be back. Can you imagine how annoyed our neighbours were, being charged an extra $70 a night to 'upgrade' to an apartment the same as ours, after finding the 2 storey duplex they were in at first was too dangerous for their young daughter? We didn't have to pay any extra.

It's a shame as we really had hoped that on our second visit things would be much improved. We understand, after speaking with the GM, that some things are outside his control, such as the labour strike on the beach club and ongoing dispute with the builders over the quality of paint used. Let's hope he takes steps to improve the other issues and turns this place into the gem it could be. We'll skip Koh Samui next year and maybe things will be better in 2016.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were at Infinity for 7 nights from 6th May, on the Deals.com.au package. Overall the value was good we think. Staff were as friendly as you could get, especially Aye- although the standard of English was sometimes a challenge- but get used to TIT (This Is Thailand). This resort is WAY up a steep hill and access to the ring road around the island (below) is by car only- however the resort has no issue (or delay) in delivering you down or picking you up, for the 5 minute ride. The loan of their resort mobile 'phone was a great idea. Note: the location in the north west corner of the Island is somewhat remote and you need to travel each day to other parts of the island. We were in the 4th block down the hill in a line of 16 townhouse 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom units, with plunge pool- as were a lot of other aussies (note- only the centre 3 units have views from the lower level). This was below the restaurant level and very quiet and clean although the noise from the airflow to the A/C in the unit was high- but we would not have been without it. The unit is modern and well appointed but there are 16 granite stairs going down to the bedroom level so this would be a challenge to the young and not-so-sure-a-foot. There were a couple of niggling omissions- on arrival we got the tour of the unit with intructions on the coffee machine but were not told we had to buy milk from the restaurant! Also, no trash can on the upper level. The long range water views are equal to the best on the island (even better are from the Intercontinental and Conrad, but they are much more expensive). To get around we thought the hire car from the resort at 1500 baht per day was great value and equal to what you could get in town (however there is a $AUS600 excess- the local scooter riders are OK but some of the tourists on these things have no idea- the risk is YOU getting hit). The food at the resort was OK but expensive- the seafood on BBQ night (each Monday) with lobster at 500 baht per 100 gms compared to great beachfront restaurants at Fishermans Village in Bo Phut at 200 baht (but this is 20 minutes drive away). Overall if you are looking for a 'lay around the pool in the sun' holiday- this resort is not for you- as the pool areas are more ornamental than practical. The sun lounges have no umbrellas and the grass beneath the lounges, up to 8 inches thick, was cut on the last day of our week. The resort would be more a 'base camp' from which to investigate the island. BTW whilst the Spa is not luxurious inside (it is a converted unit), the massages we had were equal to the best we have had anywhere. Hint: spend Sunday arvo at the Beach Republic buffett (in Lanai)- best food we have had in Asia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the restaurant level are mostly single level but not so private- we would choose this level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Like others the first impression was amazing, lovely veiw check in staff were very friendly, i can not complain about the staff what so ever, they do go out of their way to give you what ever you need, the room was nice, could have been abit tider as in needs a coat of fresh paint, the beds were ok abit hard, sheets werent changed the entire 5 days we were there.
the plunge pool was great, nice touch to the room.
There is a room for a washer and dryer however this space was empty i think they could include this service to each room. The food was nice however we didnt enjoy BBQ night at all, the breakfast is nice but the same every day, and that hill!! What a killer when youve spent all day walking around various activites the last thing you want to do is walk either up or down that hill, thankfully if you call reception they will send a buggy to take you to where ever you need to go within the resort.
The spa facility is amazing the ladies are so friendly as are all of the staff.
We hired a car from the resort as the only negative is that the resort is so far away from anything interesting at least 30 min drive, we hire the car for 1,500 BHT per day (which wasnt to bad). (taxis in Koh samui are exspensive compaired to Bangkok)
Even though the resort was nice - would I go back? sadly no i wouldnt i feel for the money spent youd be better to find some where closer to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui

Address: Moo 6, Bangpor Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best luxury resorts on Koh Samui, Infinity Residences and Resort is trendsetting in its style, combining outstanding service culture, unique dining concepts, ultimate spa pampering and breathtaking views of the Gulf of Thailand. Guaranteeing the utmost level of privacy and security, the property is conceived as an enclosed and private domain with permanent surveillance.Our 28 elegant, contemporary suites and penthouses provide stylish and luxurious air-conditioned accommodation, all with spectacular sea views.Our free shuttles whisk you down to Bang Po beach whenever required, a short 3 minute drive. Samui International Airport is just 20 minutes away.Free WI-Fi means you can stay connected when necessary, while our shared and private pools, bar and restaurant mean you can also disconnect whenever you wish.Infinity Residences and Resort - your Luxury Resort Koh Samui ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.