We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential, but not quite there yet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui to your Saves list
Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Moo 6, Bangpor Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate - 50% OFF
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Mae Nam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good potential, but not quite there yet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent three nights at Infinity Residences. Though the rooms are as beautiful as on the picture and the staff was very friendly, we left fairly disappointed.
Everything seems great when we first arrived. We were very warmly greeted when we reached the resort and were offered two glasses of Champagne - very nice touch. There was an electricity shortage but it did not bother us that much as the staff took good care of us while we were waiting to be able to go to our room. The one-bedroom villa with lap pool was very spacious with gorgeous view of the ocean. We also really appreciated the numerous complimentary soft drinks. However:
1. The resort really really far away bars and restaurants and markets. Transportation is offered at THB1,000 per way - not cheap;
2. Given that, we would have expected a very wide choice of food, but there was none. The food menu fits on two pages only and though it was quite decent, it was definitely sub-standard for a presumably luxury resort. I ordered the cheese and cold cut platter for breakfast and was served four slices of kraft singles, two blocks of blue cheese, a couple of slices of cured ham and salami, along with some olives. No sight of the camembert, cheddar and mortadelle mentioned on the menu. We were charged an extra THB100 for bread that was supposed to come with it. The next morning, the same thing happened again. The Thai breakfast that was supposed to come with fruit juice, tea or coffee was just a bowl of fried rice with fried egg, until we insisted for the drinks to come;
3. We wanted to enjoy dinner in our room, especially since the table was so beautifully set, but were told there is no room service;
4. There was some work done in the room next to ours. Being woken up at 8.30am on a Sunday morning is not our ideal picture of holiday. This was all the more annoying as we were told by the staff that there were only 9 rooms occupied in the resort. In that case, why specifically pick to put us in the room next to the renovation work?!
We understood that the resort is still opening and fairly new. Hopefully those are only teething problems. It has a great potential, but for now, not a place we would return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfinitySamui, Director of Sales at Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Greetings from Infinity and Sunny Samui.

Thank you kindly for your review, your comments are constructive and very helpful. Soft opening is coming to an end next month and your wishes turning Infinity’s possibilities into reality will take place. Our additional facilities (infinity Luxury Spa and Gym with Squash court) will be focus on next month news letter. In room dining and other pampering details creating the true Infinity experience are also put place.
I will personally see to that you get all our news letters and updates. Its never nice to hear when a guest isnte 100% satisfied but I garantee you will be next time. Every hotel goes thru the soft opening which is a major challange. Although it is our pleaseur to announce that our full operation is up and running from end of next month.

Regarding the small details, actions has been taken. Thank you for bringing it up.

We love to see you again soon,

Kind Regards
Infinity Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    55
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
102
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

from the moment we arrived at Infinity we were treated like a movie star,
Aum greeted us and presented some lovely fruit cocktails while our paper work was being done for check in, we where offer an upgrade and got to view our room and the other before deciding. we choose our room as the other was 2bedroom and was massive, once in our room Aum explained everything about it and the resort and even gave us a massage each in there spa.
the staff at the resturant where just as nice as Aum they truly made our stay even more enjoyable.
our room was a 1 bedroom with lap pool it was beautiful clean and spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean an phangan island
the hight light was we ask about going to one of Samui best resturant Namu in the W hotel Aum arrange our transfers a great table for dinner and even gave us a mobile phone to call the resort when we had finsih to be pick up
again to Aum and her team we truly thankyou and cant wait to see you next year

Room Tip: we hada tour of the resort as we are going back next year honestly all room are clean and have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently returned back from what I can in all honesty describe as paradise on earth. The photos, as good as they are on the Infinity website, simply don’t do it justice! We felt like we were in the Great Gatsby. While we originally intending on staying a couple of nights, we ended up staying 5 nights!

The Arrival:

We requested that the hotel pick us up from the airport, and the manager of the hotel came personally to pick us up. Finally, a driver in Thailand who speaks perfect English. Well, in fairness, he was from Wales and the GM of the resort, but had been living there for nearly 20 years so he was an encyclopaedia of knowledge. He gave us the run down on everything Samui. Although we had been to Samui many times, and are pretty familiar with all of the high end places like The Banyan Tree etc was still helpful to hear about the latest developments and importantly, which restaurants to go to.

After a reasonable drive, and a 4 or 5 minute climb up a hill, we arrived at the palatial resort grounds, where we were greeted by some cute Thai staff. We waited on the lobby couch, with a welcome drink whilst looking out at the ocean view beyond.

It was all pretty seamless as you would expect and then we were led to our pool villa.

The Villa

Simply mindblowing. We have stayed in luxury before, but never anything like this. We got upgraded to a Two Bedroom apartment replete with white leather couches, the softest floor rug we have ever felt, and an already set dining table for 10! (Totally unnecessary but still looks impressive). The view out on to the private infinity pool and the ocean beyond is something we woke up every day admiring, and looking at eachother in disbelief.

We spent all day soaking up the sun, reading magazines, and ordering room service. Pretty much missed the whole Olympic games in pursuit of our leisure activities. From our particular villa, we could see the main restaurant, and the staff often came up to ask us if we wanted any food or drinks. We felt like royalty.

In all honesty, the interior of the villa is more modern and luxurious than anything we have ever seen or experienced. It was like a glossy magazine cover, with top notch furnishings and bedrooms to match. No complaints there.

The Restaurant

The restaurant had an insane view of the ocean beyond on one side, and the Spa / Villa complex on the other. Spacious, and plenty of fresh air, it was the perfect place to wake up to breakfast. The breakfast is Ale cart … We usually like Buffet style, but would not have been appropriate in this place. There is a certain degree of relaxed elegance here, and given their focus is on quality, not packing in the numbers, it was entirely suitable.

I am a big eater, and the menu is actually quite reasonably priced for a luxury hotel. Some of the set course lunch menus were excellent – and could tell that only fresh produce was used. The steamed fish with chillie and lime was excellent.

What we liked about this resort too was that they don’t force anything on you – well, they did not force eating at their restaurant. In fact, the in-room guide actually listed the top 20 restaurants on the island and the General Manager even offered to take us down to Fisherman’s Village, which is a delightful walking street, and away from the seediness of some other parts of Koh Samui, We settled on a beautiful Italian restaurant, although honestly, would need a month to try everything we wanted to.

The Resort gave us a mobile phone so when we wanted to come back, we just had to call up the taxi, and it was taken care of.

The Negatives

Well, not a negative as such, but if you are looking for party central – then I would not recommend this resort to get to the ‘party’ zones, is around 40 minutes by cab, which is fine to do once or twice, but if you wanted to make a nightly thing of it, there are probably more suitable places closer to Chaweng. We travelled for 7 days – spending two nights in Bangkok (where we went crazy with the shopping and all the hectic stuff you do there) and then spent 5 days, pretty much doing absolutely nothing at the resort, which was what the doctor ordered.

On one occasion, the staff didn’t replace our beach towels overnight, so we complained to the manager and they apologised profusely and it did not happen again.

The Positives

The ultimate relaxation destination. It is private and perfect for anyone who wants a true break, and a true sense of the lifestyle of the rich and famous. The staff are helpful, and provided you are not rushing around to a strict timeline, then it makes for an incredibly relaxed holiday. The food is excellent at the resort, but equally, the food outside the resort (particularly the places they recommend) is worth trying as well. For fussy eaters, you can always stock up food in the fridge as there is a full kitchen there too. I only eat brown rice, so the Chef from the restaurant was also nice enough to cook it for me.

Recommendation

Without a doubt - go to this place as a couple or for a young family to just relax in luxury. Head out to some of the restaurants in Fisherman’s village once or twice while you are there, but otherwise, enjoy the space, tranquillity and privacy of the resort and save doing touristy things for another time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Infinity Residences is full of infinite possibilities but not quite that there yet – Nearly!

We stayed at the Infinity Residences because a friend highly recommended it.
We are not beach people so the prospect of ocean views high up on a steep hill sounded super alluring.

The property looks exactly as the pictures. Gorgeous absolutely.
I would have to say that this would have been a perfect stay if not for the fact that the hotel is not fully operational yet. Apparently John, the GM, has mentioned that this is still in the soft launch phase.

I love the Infinity but we definitely know there’s room for improvement.

The Pros.

- Service staff here are very eager to please. Kun Aum (from the front desk) is a delight and extremely helpful. We got most of our information from her and every request is taken super seriously.
- Our room is gorgeous and overall clean. The bedroom and the living room face the ocean and looks extremely surreal. I feel like this is some private hidey hole with my partner just to get away from stresses at work, etc. It is so peaceful and relaxing. It does seem like something out of the movies.
- We advised the staff that this was a pre-honeymoon trip but they extended all the courtesies to us the same, the lovely decorated bed with 2 swans and petals, the red wine, white wine, airport transfers, cake (!) free dinner and free massage for 2 (The funny thing is the swans keep shifting positions, it’s adorable, their housekeeping is cute on this one!)
- I was rather stressed earlier because they didn’t have a Blu Ray DVD player and they actually PURCHASED one for our room to be installed. Now if that’s isn’t service I don’t know what is.
- Was very apprehensive about the spa (It’s make shift and not fully operational yet) but the massages were honestly very good. Very happy about that.
- The free dinner that was part of the package was pretty good value and even with 2 glasses of Chardonnay, it was a nice touch!

Now the cons,
- Something minor but I guess the room is too huge, with too many bins. One of the trash bins wasn’t cleared when we checked in. That freaked me out a little but that was a genuine oversight.
- One of the tree sculptures in our room has dead bugs! This sounds grosser than it is but basically for some weird reason, these bugs bore into the wood (only that sculpture thing) and they just die below after that. It is weird and I don’t like the wood mess it makes. Housekeeping was super great and cleaned it up when I called but still I think this was a bit uncalled for.
- The gym is not ready. I do wish they would state what is open and what is not so we do not get misled. We would have loved to use the gym but there is none. Same goes for the spa (I enjoy massages and facials immensely and whilst the massages were thankfully actually good, there is no facial facilities.)
- No room service. I really do not understand why that is not allowed. Especially when there is one particular hotel room on the same level as the restaurant which enjoyed that privilege but the other guests apparently couldn’t. The room is beautiful, I would really have loved to dine in-room.
- The restaurant staff are super helpful but they are poor in English and always got the orders wrong to some extent. That is pretty trying. We usually have to repeat our orders or requests twice or thrice. Sometimes we just give up. For eg, serving fried rice without a spoon twice is not acceptable. Forgetting orange juice for my partner twice is also not acceptable. The food choices are also limited. So items on the menu do not seem to be available. It is rather stressful at breakfast getting basic information across.
- The units beside us seem to be unoccupied and whilst overall work which is being done is generally unobtrusive, it gets loud sometimes. Plus we had one of the construction guys from the neighbouring units walk suddenly in front of our unit! I think it was something he shouldn’t have done because he looked shocked and scuttled back to where he was from. That was a bit freaky for me because I honestly thought that our suite was private.
- The pool water is clear, and no chlorine. I can’t tell if that is good or bad. Chlorine is bad for overall health but I am unsure on how they do clean the pool water.
- We did not know that there were happy hours at the restaurant until the last day of our 4 night stay and when the happy hours was over. How come that sort of information is not given?
- Not sure why the hotel does to provide soap? I mean there is no bar of soap to wash your hands at the bathroom or sink? I was using bath gel to wash dishes. I was that desperate.

Which is why the Infinity is full of possibilities to be something great. Just not right now but I think it would get there hopefully. I hope to see it rival the likes of your Ws and Sala hotels. It is always the small details that count, I do hope that the hotel does take notice of this for future references.

Tips: For members who are slightly older, please do note that the hotel is built on a super steep hill. Climbing up and down to and fro from your rooms is challenging. The staff do send little golf buggies to pick you up but that also is something that they may not feel comfortable with as the very brief journey is also quite a taste to be acquired. Note as well Infinity is not close at all to Bo Phut or Chaweng, it’s about 40 minutes from either of these 2 areas. And if you are the sort that likes touristy stuff and going out with hip bars and restaurants, this hotel may not be the place for you. (You could get a driver from the hotel which we did to take you on a tour across the island for half a day. It would cost you 700THB per hour but we felt that this was worth it and the guide that we had was pretty good and accommodating.) This property is solely for relaxation.

Room Tip: We were in 15L which had that tree sculpture that had bugs. Not so good, I think they should treat t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfinitySamui, Director of Sales at Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Greetings from Infinity and Sunny Samui.

Thank you kindly for your review, your comments are constructive and very helpful. Soft opening is coming to an end next month and your wishes turning Infinity’s possibilities into reality will take place. Our additional facilities (infinity Luxury Spa and Gym with Squash court) will be focus on next month news letter. In room dining and other pampering details creating the true Infinity experience are also put place.

Regarding the small details, actions has been taken. Thank you for bringing it up.

We love to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Infinity Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I stayed at INFINITY Resort for summer vacation. Our main was to relax and enjoy the peaceful environment. INFINITY provided all we need from services that could we ask for.
It was a great trip with a fantastic view and with a very helpful crew, I might add.


Thank a lot Aum for all your support and all staff at INFINITY.

Fuad

Room Tip: IF anyone is seeking privacy, i recommend villa R11
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2012 and wanted a relaxing, chilled out holiday. Infinity ticked all the boxes. Our room was comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was larger than the one bed we had booked but weren't disappointed. It has lovely views towards the ocean. The journey to the hotel was well - up a very steep hill. In fact the taxis won't take you to the hotel as the hill is so steep and your approximately 2 km from the main road. Since we just wanted to relax this wasn't a problem for us. The food was great the alcohol was vey reasonably priced. The pool provided with the room however didn't offer much privacy but since the hotel was quiet at this time it didn't pose a problem. The bedrooms have TV's but are not wired to the satellite. The hotel do provide films to watch. All in all a very relaxing holiday if that's what you want and it satisfied us. Also to be noted that the resort is still a work in progress but there was absolutely no noise from construction whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Infinity was the second resort we stayed in on Samui…We saved the best till last for sure!
Before we actually arrived the service we received from Infinity was outstanding. Every question was responded to promptly with a really friendly and warm manner. We opted for the Imperial Penthouse suite which is 3 bedrooms despite it being just the 2 of us but worth the extra money as it was just so amazing! It is beautifully decorated but it’s the view that took our breath away! It was like something out of a film! We felt like movie stars in our penthouse suite. It has every amenity you could possibly want and more. The staff were every bit as good in person as they had been on email and nothing was too much trouble, I have to specifically mention how great Aum and Laderat were.
I do advise that you hire a car to explore the rest of Samui as you are out of the main areas but this is so cheap to do. We cannot wait to return and soak up the sunshine on top of our private sun deck with a complementary bottle of Sauvignon Blanc!
Keep up the fab work Infinity!

Room Tip: Go for the imperial pent house suite if you can as the views are amazing! Jungle to your left and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui

Address: Moo 6, Bangpor Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best luxury resorts on Koh Samui, Infinity Residences and Resort is trendsetting in its style, combining outstanding service culture, unique dining concepts, ultimate spa pampering and breathtaking views of the Gulf of Thailand. Guaranteeing the utmost level of privacy and security, the property is conceived as an enclosed and private domain with permanent surveillance.Our 28 elegant, contemporary suites and penthouses provide stylish and luxurious air-conditioned accommodation, all with spectacular sea views.Our free shuttles whisk you down to Bang Po beach whenever required, a short 3 minute drive. Samui International Airport is just 20 minutes away.Free WI-Fi means you can stay connected when necessary, while our shared and private pools, bar and restaurant mean you can also disconnect whenever you wish.Infinity Residences and Resort - your Luxury Resort Koh Samui ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Residences & Resort Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.