We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant nestled amongst rice fields” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmer Restaurant and Bar

The Farmer Restaurant and Bar
1/26 Moo 4, Tambon Mae Nam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui, Thailand
+(66)077 447222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 78 Restaurants in Mae Nam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant nestled amongst rice fields”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A fantastic gems off a main road nestled amongst rice fields. It's a large restaurant able to cater for large groups. It's very clean and is decked out with lovely decking overlooking a dam and large wicker chairs.

My partner and I were the only people dining in the restaurant, which lead to a little self-doubt and questioning as to whether the place was any good. I'm happy to report the food was fantastic and service was outstanding.

The staff served up a range of fantastic authentic Thai dishes and one hell of a chilli cocktail which was hot and refreshing at the same time.

The waiter also recommended a few dishes, which we found very helpful.

The restaurant was expensive for Thailand but the food was delicious. I do think the lamb shank is well over-priced though.

We had a great time taking photos of the scenery while waiting for our food.

One negative was how hot the restaurant was. There was only one fan near us, no air-conditioning and no win that day which made it very uncomfortable. I also didn't like seeing the staff smoking as we walked in (to their credit they stopped straight away to serve us) but then proceeded to touch the menus etc without washing their hands.

Overall I would recommend trying this place - be sure to write down the location first - we went on a wild goose chase trying to find it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    68
    35
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bowral NSW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Farmer has lost some of its "mojo" however the food is good but expect to pay as you are in a main stream restaurant. Whilst we were the only diners for lunch on this occasion the staff were attentive and professional. Whilst the restaurant is only a few years old some maintenance works needs to be actioned however the inside is spotless.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, quiet atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a fab meal at farmers the only down fall was the atmosphere, we were the only people in the restaurant in a Friday night. Having said this the food was just amazing the service was spot on and the views were stunning, I would recommend people to go there maybe when high season kicks in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcheta, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sleepy Hallow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arrive just around lunchtime, a couple of staff sat waiting for customers outside. Took a look at the menu and decide that it really was not the right place for lunch given the prices. Decide just to have a drink, ordered one fresh coconut and a local soda water. Ok cannot forget that it is actually a Restaurant so it was ++ but still very steep at 280 Thb for the two drinks. We came out back onto the main road to see fresh coconuts at 30 Thb. I think they will have trouble surviving being where they are and what they charge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality food in a unique setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Read about here in a restaurant review book in my bungalow and thought it sounded really interesting and different. Unique setting tucked away, offering a great range of food that was excellent quality

Prices are reasonable in the scheme of things, and whilst it may be 'past its hey day' as someone stated I for one had a good overall experience and would likely revisit when I am next on Samui

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmer Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Farmer Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmer Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.