We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Trendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
216/1 Moo 2 (Soi 4), Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
+66(0)77 921 663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and Trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our hotel recommended this place after we said we wanted to eat some good local seafood but not "break the bank". It was our favorite meal of the 9 days we spent in Koh Samui. We had the Tuna w/ pineapple and the Sea Bass with pesto and chorizo. yum! We are from LA and it reminded us of being home, in the sense that it looks trendy, but there was no long line and no snotting hostess! ;) The staff was very friendly and even though our food took a bit long, it was well worth the wait! Definitely go! YUM!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    64
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Took a taxi here from Chaweng just for this restaurant and it was well worth it. The owner was a nice man who reserved us a table as we walked in and nothing was available as it's a very small and quaint place. The food when we ate was delicious, some of the best lamb that we have eaten in a long, long time!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family and I visited this restaurant which I found on tripadvisor last summer. It was lovely food and the service was wonderful! We would definitely return to this restaurant in a heartbeat as we did struggle to find somewhere as nice as this on our travels.

The value for money is very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The restaurant was the best I have been to in all the years of coming to Koh Samui,
The atmosphere, staff and food all are top.
I went back three time out of my two week stay.
Its a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect!! 5*++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Positives:

Ferdinand is an absolute gentleman and a superb host to his customers. He and his staff offer the highest level of service with the addition of a subtle yet perfect amount of 'that personal touch', which I saw them deliver to each of the customers who filled the small but perfectly formed restaurant tonight.

The restaurant is immaculate, well set out and with a view into the pristine kitchen, where the Chefs take pride in delivering beautifully presented and positively delicious food.

The food was presented the same as you would find in any Michelin Star Restaurant and tasted equally as good, yet we were more than pleasantly surprised at the bill which was more than reasonable for the amount and quality of food we are tonight.

We travelled from the South side of the island to eat here and I can honestly say it was worth every minute of the nightmare journey we had to get there. So much so we have booked a further two nights reservations for while we are here ............... cant wait!!


Negatives:

Do not be confused by another restaurant of the same name on the South of the island ................. it is not the same owner and although pleasant enough, is also NOT in the same league as this Barracuda Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.