We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
216/1 Moo 2 (Soi 4), Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
+66(0)77 921 663
Website
Improve this listing
5.0 of 5 stars 604 Reviews
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Took a taxi here from Chaweng just for this restaurant and it was well worth it. The owner was a nice man who reserved us a table as we walked in and nothing was available as it's a very small and quaint place. The food when we ate was delicious, some of the best lamb that we have eaten in a long, long time!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    62
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family and I visited this restaurant which I found on tripadvisor last summer. It was lovely food and the service was wonderful! We would definitely return to this restaurant in a heartbeat as we did struggle to find somewhere as nice as this on our travels.

The value for money is very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The restaurant was the best I have been to in all the years of coming to Koh Samui,
The atmosphere, staff and food all are top.
I went back three time out of my two week stay.
Its a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect!! 5*++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Positives:

Ferdinand is an absolute gentleman and a superb host to his customers. He and his staff offer the highest level of service with the addition of a subtle yet perfect amount of 'that personal touch', which I saw them deliver to each of the customers who filled the small but perfectly formed restaurant tonight.

The restaurant is immaculate, well set out and with a view into the pristine kitchen, where the Chefs take pride in delivering beautifully presented and positively delicious food.

The food was presented the same as you would find in any Michelin Star Restaurant and tasted equally as good, yet we were more than pleasantly surprised at the bill which was more than reasonable for the amount and quality of food we are tonight.

We travelled from the South side of the island to eat here and I can honestly say it was worth every minute of the nightmare journey we had to get there. So much so we have booked a further two nights reservations for while we are here ............... cant wait!!


Negatives:

Do not be confused by another restaurant of the same name on the South of the island ................. it is not the same owner and although pleasant enough, is also NOT in the same league as this Barracuda Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Cosy little restaurant, tucked away down a side street. Well worth finding! Excellent, attentive service. Food delicious. We tried duck and sea bass for mains and all agreed they were yum! Variety of starters all voted great. A little bit different from all the other restaurants we have tried during our stay in Koh Samui and deserving of its high rating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.