We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
216/1 Moo 2 (Soi 4), Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
+66(0)77 921 663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family and I visited this restaurant which I found on tripadvisor last summer. It was lovely food and the service was wonderful! We would definitely return to this restaurant in a heartbeat as we did struggle to find somewhere as nice as this on our travels.

The value for money is very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    63
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The restaurant was the best I have been to in all the years of coming to Koh Samui,
The atmosphere, staff and food all are top.
I went back three time out of my two week stay.
Its a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect!! 5*++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Positives:

Ferdinand is an absolute gentleman and a superb host to his customers. He and his staff offer the highest level of service with the addition of a subtle yet perfect amount of 'that personal touch', which I saw them deliver to each of the customers who filled the small but perfectly formed restaurant tonight.

The restaurant is immaculate, well set out and with a view into the pristine kitchen, where the Chefs take pride in delivering beautifully presented and positively delicious food.

The food was presented the same as you would find in any Michelin Star Restaurant and tasted equally as good, yet we were more than pleasantly surprised at the bill which was more than reasonable for the amount and quality of food we are tonight.

We travelled from the South side of the island to eat here and I can honestly say it was worth every minute of the nightmare journey we had to get there. So much so we have booked a further two nights reservations for while we are here ............... cant wait!!


Negatives:

Do not be confused by another restaurant of the same name on the South of the island ................. it is not the same owner and although pleasant enough, is also NOT in the same league as this Barracuda Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Cosy little restaurant, tucked away down a side street. Well worth finding! Excellent, attentive service. Food delicious. We tried duck and sea bass for mains and all agreed they were yum! Variety of starters all voted great. A little bit different from all the other restaurants we have tried during our stay in Koh Samui and deserving of its high rating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As as my habit, I am evaluating this restaurant within its local context (and not, for example, to a meal in New York or London, etc.). Barracuda is a fine choice for dinner in Koh Samui. We were not staying particularly close by but it was worth the trip. The restaurant (which I understand is moving to the beach, yay!) has a pleasant and relaxed decor. Service was good, though not exceptional. The selection of wines by the glass is limited but adequate. The homemade tortellini of duck confit is ambitious and about hits its target. Firm and tasty. The fish dishes are very good. I don't eat pork and was disappointed not to be able to try the monkfish (it's pre-wrapped in prosciutto), but the sea bass was nicely done. We shared the tagliatelle with mushrooms, which was unremarkable, and the salad of asparagus, which was a good accompaniment. We aren't usually dessert-eaters, but the hot chocolate lava was excellent. In general I was disappointed by the restaurants in Samui; Barracuda was the exception.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.