We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
216/1 Moo 2 (Soi 4), Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
+66(0)77 921 663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Rotorua
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Cosy little restaurant, tucked away down a side street. Well worth finding! Excellent, attentive service. Food delicious. We tried duck and sea bass for mains and all agreed they were yum! Variety of starters all voted great. A little bit different from all the other restaurants we have tried during our stay in Koh Samui and deserving of its high rating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    63
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As as my habit, I am evaluating this restaurant within its local context (and not, for example, to a meal in New York or London, etc.). Barracuda is a fine choice for dinner in Koh Samui. We were not staying particularly close by but it was worth the trip. The restaurant (which I understand is moving to the beach, yay!) has a pleasant and relaxed decor. Service was good, though not exceptional. The selection of wines by the glass is limited but adequate. The homemade tortellini of duck confit is ambitious and about hits its target. Firm and tasty. The fish dishes are very good. I don't eat pork and was disappointed not to be able to try the monkfish (it's pre-wrapped in prosciutto), but the sea bass was nicely done. We shared the tagliatelle with mushrooms, which was unremarkable, and the salad of asparagus, which was a good accompaniment. We aren't usually dessert-eaters, but the hot chocolate lava was excellent. In general I was disappointed by the restaurants in Samui; Barracuda was the exception.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our third visit to this wonderful restaurant. Each year we come to Samui we have to visit it and it never disappoints us.
Food is always delicious and exceptionally presented. Service is without a doubt excellent. The owner Ferdinand is hands on very friendly and professional, ensuring the whole environment works like clockwork.
Whilst these are not Thai prices more slanted towards European they are still excellent value for the quality of food.
We shared our starters of seared tuna and calamari on roasted watermelon both were delicious.
Our mains were the fillet mignon and the duck exceptional.
We then shared the chilli flavoured chocolate mouse which was to die for.
Along with the food we had two martinis a bottle of Chilean red and two after dinner cocktails and two espresso's our bill was TB4370.
In Australia and NZ we would be paying twice this price for the equivalent evening.
We were told by Ferdinand they are on the move have outgrown the site and that was obvious last night with the amount of people they had to turn away. Their new site is going to be in Boput so we can't wait to return next year and see what they have done!
A must to book if you want to experience this wonderful restaurant .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton Drakensberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great music, great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A lovely friendly environment, with foot-tapping, head-bobbing music to groove you through the meal.

As my partner pointed out: "We're on an island. There's a boat in the restaurant. It's called Barracuda. You should order fish and smile, and not moan about the duck."

The service is warm and the seafood is really a pleasant taste adventure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food was excellent, especially the fish and good value for your money, the Service was very good and more than happy to recommend dishes and advise on if hot and spicy and would accommodate to your palette. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.