We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music, great fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
216/1 Moo 2 (Soi 4), Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
+66(0)77 921 663
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Winterton Drakensberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great music, great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

A lovely friendly environment, with foot-tapping, head-bobbing music to groove you through the meal.

As my partner pointed out: "We're on an island. There's a boat in the restaurant. It's called Barracuda. You should order fish and smile, and not moan about the duck."

The service is warm and the seafood is really a pleasant taste adventure.

Helpful?
Thank Wellhellodarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food was excellent, especially the fish and good value for your money, the Service was very good and more than happy to recommend dishes and advise on if hot and spicy and would accommodate to your palette. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nannette89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feel good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am sure you will find fancier food and service in Thailand but it won't make you feel as good about stuffing yourself with great food as Barracuda. The staff are lovely and smiley. The food is delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lory m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hat Yai, Thailand
2 reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great food, the owner and his staff are so kind and so careful in everything. A good mix between Asian and Western. Absolutely do not miss it if you are in Ko Samui.

On top of that, if you are Italian and you don't want to make any effort to speak other languages, the owner speaks as well a good Italian!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Barracuda really is a gem of a restaurant. My husband and I went there twice on our recent holiday and every dish was fantastic. I was keen to go after reading the reviews but knowing that the majority of food in Thailand is fantastic and so cheap I was wondering if I would be worth it. It really is worth it though and still such good value compared to what you would pay in the UK. Service is excellent, attentive but unobtrusive. The food is superb, everything is cooked perfectly and has so much flavour. The highlight dish for us was the sea bass with lentils and chorizo and the lobster veloute to start was also a real treat. Would probably have gone more than twice if we were staying in Mae Nam or somewhere slightly nearer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Chaweng, Bophut
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing