We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Garden Restaurant

Swiss Garden Restaurant
73/2 Moo 6 Bang Por, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
+66 (0)83 634 0807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 77 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Koh Samui
2 reviews
“Awful!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were in this restaurant twice, at the end of 2012. The dinner was ok but nothing special, we ordered Thai food.
A big disappointment was a try to have an European breakfast there. First of all, the waiter does not know the word ‘porridge’ at all. We travel with a baby, there was nothing we could feed her with. They could offer us only an omelet with beacon. No bakery, no pancakes. I ordered walnuts with honey for a dessert. What we got was a thai-style omelet with slim slices of beacon, and a spoon of honey with five pieces of walnuts. But the main disappointment was the coffee. Before ordering we asked the waiter if they have coffee machine and make coffee from beans. They assured us that they did. Apparently, they have a coffee machine, but they do not use it at all, the man who makes the coffee just sits in front of that machine and pours a ‘3 in one’ instant coffee! When we asked again, the waiter swore that it was a real coffee made of coffee beans! Then the staff including the owner quickly disappeared, leaving only a young Thai waitress who did not understand what was happening at all and just brought us a bill that was very high for such an awful breakfast (For example, ‘3 in 1’ coffee was 80 baht).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swissgarden, Inhaber at Swiss Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear GuestThank you for your criticism, which we take very seriously. You criticizewith us the breakfast. Basically, we make really no breakfast and havealso not on our menu. We make exceptions in the high season, becausemany lute from the Panalee resort and the footprint resort come to us, becauseYou are not satisfied with the da offered breakfast. Since we are exceptionally prepared, a European breakfast with omelet or mirror with ham and Specki, toast, to prepare butter and jam, or a typical Swiss breakfast of hash browns, and mirror to our guests.We offer neither cereals, Porritsch, yoghurt and bread because we want to make really no breakfast. There are many restaurants that may meet your needs and where you will get the desired breakfast for you and your child in the district.And as for the coffee: we have a very expensive de Longhi coffee maker, with which we make all conventional coffee such as Cafe au lait, cappuccino, latte Maciata espresso or regular coffee and are valued by many, very loyal guests, because our prices are between 40-60 BHT and not 150 BHT as in the surrounding departments.So as I suspect you are confusing our restaurant with one another, or were never in our food and drink.I but very happy to invite you to come eat with us in the spicy on the beach Swissgrdenrestaurant and you will see, that your criticism is not appropriate.With kind regardsHansruedi SchmidGeneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Asian Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Despite the name, stick to the Asian fare which is very good as in most places along the Bang Por strip.
Service was very friendly with the waiter speaking better than passable english.
Views are excellent from the waterfront tables and it's a great place for a long shared lunch or for dinner. Plenty of parking outside and the beer is cold!!
There are many restaurants along this strip so give this one a try but don't expect great European stuff - stick to the local variety

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Just ok... Beautiful view though...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We were passing by when we spotted this place and went in for a quick bite..
The food was just ok and very basic but deffy very cheap..
There are not many restaurant options on that part so may be this ones good because it beautiful views.. We were lucky to see all the way to Koh Phangnan..
Look for free WiFi..

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, warm athmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Excellent food, and wonderfull set up. Small private tables in garden full of lights. Very helfull waiters

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great local spot, with spicy thai classics!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

we went to this spot for a last meal after a 2 week trip in thailand, after considering an overpriced meal at the nearby "farmer" we opted for an authentic but nice meal at the swiss garden for our last night and we were not disappointed. it's run by a swiss man but the kitchen staff is 100% thai. our food was authentic and spicy! the owner picked us up from our hotel for a small charge and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the swiss garden - a kitschy spot right on the beach. they had all our thai favourites - grilled fish, coconut soups, pad thai, and curries - cooked to thai spicy perfection. it was a perfect last meal! not as cheap as some other places around, but very reasonable and great food/atmosphere. it's a must have for mae nam.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Swiss Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.