We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on Samui!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Native Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Native Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Samui Native Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   13/3 Moo 2 | Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Oasis on Samui!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
•Excellent/friendly service-, Poh and Andy are amazing hosts
•Delicious food, for a very reasonable price
•Spacious rooms
•Good vibe, especially at the bar

Cons:
•Lots of ants in our room (but they did die from some insecticide)
•They forgot to clean our room after our first night


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Simply because its a real life out there, exelent staff, great rooms, at a very low cost, the food sucks but the beer is cold, and what more can you wish for. This place reminded me of being in the australian outback, laid back and a sence of family relation, i have never felt more welcome, in any hotel i ever stayed , over the past 40 years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

felt welcome as soon as we arrived all the staff were amazing couldnt do enough to help us with our holiday
and helped with places to go and places to see and cheap scooters for hire
hoping to go back again when i can

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Samui Native Resort a few times now and cannot fault it. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful and the rooms are very clean and huge! The whole resort is very clean and has a nice tranquil atmosphere since it is up a quiet soi away from the main road. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With a warm welcome upon arrival we sat down to find out that there was a barbecue ongoing, just what we needed after hours and hours of travelling.
Then we were shown to our room and kindly helped with our luggage.
We knew from the pictures that the rooms are lovely but when we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised. Very specious, with a massive bed, modern and fresh decor, big TV, little kettle, cups, sugar and coffee, fridge with cold, refreshing water and powerful A/C. The lighting at night was just perfect, making the room so cosy and warm. While during the day five large windows were bringing a huge amount of day light. If you worry about your privacy, there is nothing to worry about. Every room has lovely turquoise curtains that cover all windows but still bring loads of day light. Great service has been done every other day and if you are friendly and nice enough to the staff they might do something extra special for you like they did for us. Every time they were cleaning our room, they were creating amazing swans, elephants, etc. with fresh towels.

We arrived on the night of the so called "Walking Street" which is on a Thursday in Mae Nam (on the resort the kitchen is closed on Thursdays after 7pm so everyone can attend this happening), cheap food and drinks, live band, shopping). After we made ourselves comfortable we decided to have a look what it was all about. Unfortunately we took longer than expected and "Walking Street" was pretty much finished, but we were still able to find some people in the bars around and had a wonderful evening.

When we woke up in the morning we went to the bar area to get some breakfast, Andy (owner/bartender) asked us what we would like and Oh his wife (owner/chef) made us tasty breakfast. We probably asked Andy hundreds of questions what to do around and what not as it was our first time to the island and he was quite eager to get into the conservation.

In Chawaeng there is a popular place called the Reggae Pub where we have been several nights and ran into Meow and Kai (two sisters that work at the resort) and ended up tagging along with them, learning a bit of Thai and having great fun.

Just to add a few words about the perfect location of this resort which will match everyone's interests and moods.
Samui Native is placed in the middle of the jungle/forest which is ideal for those who would like to rest from busy, big cities and stay close to nature.
All night you can listen calming sounds of crickets, frogs, birds and if you are lucky from time to time you can hear the presence of wild monkeys from the hills far inside the island.
If you are thinking beach, sand and ocean, it is literally 10 minutes of interesting walk through the neighbourhood with typical Thai households, passing also a beautiful Chinese style temple, worth to see.
If you decided to go wild, you can rent a scooter/moped which the resort is provides for a very low price and drive to a pumping night life Chawaeng. Mainly Green Mango Street with colourful clubs is great fun. Just a 20 minute drive.

We had the most relaxing holiday of all time apart from all the drinking and waking up early to see other bits of the island :). The room, swimming pool and surroundings are all very clean. The staff has been more than staff to us and turned into very special friends.
In fact we enjoyed everything so much that we are planning to take a sabbatical and live there for a year to see how that pans out.

Many thanks!!

Mark & Justyna

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

There were good points and bad points to our stay here.

GOOD POINTS
The staff were very welcoming, the woman who ran it was especially so.
Some good services provided; room cleaned (most) days, scooters easily rented and cheap too!
AIR CONDITIONED ROOM - A MUST!
Local (10 minute walk) beach was nice, and not very touristy.
Very cheap, good value for the price paid.
Good sized rooms (superior room on expedia) for the price
BAD POINTS
One of the managers (the one that never wears his top) forgot to send our post cards, which he promised he'd do... (STILL WAITING?!)
Although rooms were cleaned, it wasn't every day and some parts weren't cleaned as well as others.
Nothing seemed to match in the entire room.
Bathroom drain was missing, and there was scum here and there.
The door, once locked could be unlocked by twisting the handle from the outside, but we found this quite helpful because we didn't have to remember the key.
Bathroom door didn't lock from the inside.
Didn't use the restaurant as it looked a bit iffy, but there were always at least 2 (including the manager) drunks at the bar.
Could be a little bit more professional (staff wearing shirts, and not drinking whilst at work), but I can see how some people might like that.

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again, but far better than you'd get in Europe for the price it was. We did have a great time, Koh Samui was great, and as long as you rent a car or bike staying here wouldn't be too bad :)

PS: If you were planning to go and see the monkey and elephant show (including elephant rides) then we'd advise not to do it. Was the low point of the holiday, as for us it seemed cruel and very unnatural to make a monkey ride a bike. If you like seeing animals chained up and treated poorly then this would probably be the thing to do.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the superior room, because AC is a must and it was only £9 a night more when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. We had quite a cheap room (by far the only reason to stay here). The room had a open window(covered by a curtain)...moquitos. Dirty swimming pool.
Great food, bad service (English owner forgot a lot :-), was funny anyway).
I would not recommend it.
At the end, they mispriced (doubled) the bill, so the 3 star review was converted into a 2star review.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Native Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Native Resort and Spa

Address: 13/3 Moo 2 | Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Native Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samui Native Resort - An idyllic Resort in SamuiThe Samui Native Resort draws inspiration from Family “to find inner peace,” and the resort in Samui is dedicated to guiding its guests on a journey of calm, pleasure and the satisfaction of reconnection to the self.The history of this charming Samui resort is one of family, friendship and care, creating a resort, of unique design and close personal intimacy. At The Samui Native Resort Ko Samui, a guest’s preconceptions of a Samui hotel and a Thailand holiday are transformed into an experience of union, sociability, and unimagined pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Samui Native Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Native Hotel Mae Nam
Samui Native Resort And Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Native Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.