We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phalarn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phalarn Inn to your Saves list
Phalarn Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28/1 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Mae Nam B&B and Inns
colorado usa
1 review
“bad customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Many travelers rated is resort high but our experiences told otherwise. We stayed there for a total of 4 nights with 3nights in a row and a night few days later. The room condition for the 3 nights is considered okay but for the one night we stayed few days later in order to catch the ferry back to mainland was unacceptable where bathroom was filthy and one of the mattresses was not considered a mattress at all, it is more like something that found in the Thai massage shops. I guess she was not happy that we did not book our excursions with her at all when she advertised them to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalarn-Inn-Resort, Owner at Phalarn Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Hoykoh,

We are very sorry about the room, however there are not much different between the first and the second one. In addition, many thanks for your opinion, that we can improve for new mattress. If we know it during your stay we can change it.

About the tour and ticketing:
We always treat every customers as family so it is not effect to any services

Best Regards,
Sugar, Owner and resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Koh Phangan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Overall this place is great, nice food, nice people, has a lovely pool with jacuzzi and literally 1min from the beach. The beach is great and secluded also has a pier which travels to a from the island. Great for us as we were heading to ko phangan :). The rooms were a bit basic but we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time in there. Overall a great visit :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Phalarn Inn may not be one of the luxurious 5 star spa resorts that line the beaches of Samui, but, in our opinion (my girlfriend and I), it had so much more.

On arrival, we were greeted by a warm smile and open arms and made to feel instantly welcome. We hadn't booked ahead, but were given an adorable bungalow right next to the pool, and were reassured that if we wanted to stay any longer, that bungalow would be available for a while.

The bungalow we stayed in had air-con that worked like a dream. It was a total god-send to escape the heat of a long day and sleep comfortably in our king-size bed. The building was clean and bright. A word to those expecting hotel-like service - your room is left the way you leave it. This was not a problem in the slightest, but some 'snootier' guests may find this a turn off. As i said, this is not a 5 star resort.

Our first night was spent getting to know the place and surrounding area. It is a 2 minute walk from the Lomprayah pier and a beautiful quiet beach (there are only 2 boats a day so it isn't overrun with people getting on and off the boats). The food in the restaurant is brilliant. The staff are attentive and super friendly, and the atmosphere is wonderful.

We felt so relaxed and welcome that we extended our stay to 4 nights. A HUGE thanks to Sugar (the owner) and the staff here for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalarn-Inn-Resort, Owner at Phalarn Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Adam,

You are our family here :)) glad you enjoy staying with us. Hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Sugar, Owner n resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a stopover in Samui, the hotel was actually quite nice with a pool and restaurant. But we opted for the deal on the Internet (said it was half price, but it was just the same price) walking to the room we were excited as they all looked great! When we got to ours we were disappointed, it looked liked an old shed with ants and brown splatters in the bathroom. Our fan didnt work so we were given a dusty floor one, our light didn't even work so we had the handyman standing all over our bed fixing it. Not great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pissouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and were very impressed by the staff and the bungalow. The food was nice, the surroundings are delightful and we felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Top bombing!

Room Tip: Watch out for falling coconuts... Maybe that is just an irrational fear of mine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalarn-Inn-Resort, Owner at Phalarn Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sam,

Thank you for staying with us. Hope you come to visit us again next holiday.

Kob Khun Ka,
Best regards,
Sugar, owner n resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We are just back from 13 nights at the Phalarn Inn and we had an amazing time.
When we arrived our room wasn't available as someone had stayed on a few more nights so we were upgraded to an a/c family room for one night.
Our room was available later the next day but we stayed in the family room another night and moved the next day as Sugar said there was no rush.
I did prefer the garden bungalow with ceiling fan rather than the family room, we found it more comfortable and the ceiling fan was enough in January temperatures.

I have read a few reviews that said the rooms were dirty! We did not find this to be the case. The family room A4 had a bit of dust between the bed and the wall but that was all.
The garden bungalow room 18 had a small amount of dust on the headboard but from the other reviews we were expecting a lot worse. This is a clean and family run resort.
Any issues, Sugar will help, just politely mention it with a smile and it will be sorted out.
The beds in both rooms were firm, big and the way we liked them.
In the family room the second bed is a mattress on the floor, the mattress is situated on a rug which itself is on a clean tiled floor and is larger than a single bed and we debated sleeping on it for the first night as it was closer to the air conditioner. It was nicely made up and perfectly fine.
The bathrooms were basic in both rooms, A4 had a loose tile that clinked as you walked on it and a mark on the wall where the shower unit had been moved. Room 18 had a wonky tap over a blue glass wash basin which we found amusing.
I also read on a review site that someone said that it was terrible that you can't flush toilet paper, I have to say that is 99% of the island.
The rooms are serviced twice a week and if you miss it for whatever reason just speak with Sugar, just remember to be polite and smile (the Thai way)

The location is about 10 minutes walk from the ring road. There are several restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Peace kitchen, smile Gourmet, Johns garden, Luna hut and Harry's.
I am sure everyone has a favourite but ours was Harry's. Maybe not the cheapest but very comparable. The food in the hotel is also very tasty and freshly made and recommended but they need to get fresh coffee rather than instant, this was my only gripe.
The only bad meal we had was at Coco palm hotel with the restaurant on the beach, chaotic, expensive, bad service, poor sea food!

The Phalarn is in a quiet location and it is true that there is not much night life but again it depends on what you are looking for. Sugar can arrange a taxi, you can catch a songtheows from the ring road or there is a lovely man in a little hut just down from the hotel who is always smiling and offer you a price before you leave.
Sugar will rent you a moped for 200Bht a day and a full tank of petrol was 100Bht. We were out and about on the island every day but we didn't ride at night. A taxi to chewang was 400Bht and we got a songtheows back 400Bht (private hire as it was late and probably should have haggled)
Food night market nightly in Nathon, perfect for sunset (near the pier on the one way section) general night market in Mae Name on a Wednesday and Fisherman's village on a Friday, Chaweng Sunday (I think) They are referred to as the walking street and don't eat before you go.. wonderful tasty food at cheap prices...

The beach is 2 mins walk through the rear gate. The pool is beautiful and is always clean. The staff were very friendly and they try hard to please but try to catch Sugar for any arrangements.
Sugar can also arrange excursions, ferries, cooking classes and will even sort out your laundry for 35Bht a kilo.
There were mosquito's about but we used an insect repellent and bought some coils from the supermarket opposite (35Bht) I think I got about 6-8 bites over a 2 week period but we saw other people in Chewang and the big buddha that were just covered in bites and wondered what they had been up to!

The only thing that spoilt the pool on the last day was 2 German women playing very bad music out of there mobile phones without consideration. We moved over to the Jacuzzi section and put the bubbles on to try and mask the noise but I think if we were staying longer and it continued I would have politely spoken to them about it.

We had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave. The place was perfect for us and really made it a memorable holiday.
We would definitely return and we already miss the place.
If you are looking for a 5 star holiday, then go to a 5 star resort. If you are looking for a friendly, family run, quiet Thai resort then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Phalarn for two nights. Sugar was amazingly helpful and friendly and the whole resort was very clean and calm. We stayed in a Garden Bungalow, which did not look like the photos but was very spacious. The only negative point i have about the room was that the bed was quite possibly the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in - the springs had gone on one side! If we had been staying for more than 2 nights, I would have had to ask to be moved... I think we got what we paid for though, the resort is in a good location, the staff are all happy to help and seem genuinely interested in making sure you have a good stay. I also enjoyed coming back to the little dog who seemed to live on our balcony - he was always excited to see us!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phalarn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phalarn Inn

Address: 28/1 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phalarn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phalarn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phalarn Hotel Koh Samui
Phalarn Inn Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phalarn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.